Ratings based on 6,846 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Fantastic hotel 10 minutes from Gamla Stan

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Room was fantastic and hotel was very clean in a great location.
Cons: Nothing off the top of my head. All good in my books.
Location: There are many great restaurants and bars nearby. No need to trek into town at the end of a busy day, plenty of great places to check out and explore.
Very friendly staff and a lovely hotel in a great part of Stockholm. 10 minutes from the centre of town. Many fantastic bars and restaurants nearby. Room was spacious and clean with fantastic facilities. Would recommend to friends and family. As a solo traveler I found it great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Nice and Clean hotel !! It has all you need 😉

Posted Jul 24, 2017
We spent two nights at the hotel and it was a good experience. Staff was friendly and it is not far from the action.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Terrible hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Photos look interesting and progressive but the reality is that it is a very badly designed hotel with terrible bathrooms and just depressing small windows and no real amenities. Breakfast is substandard. Very dissapointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stockholm hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Very nice location, clean and secure rooms fantastic breakfast. Walkable to city center, beautiful neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Carolina

Nice hotel, walkable to area attractions

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Staff
Nice place to rest before flying home. The staff were awesome, room clean and comfortable. MAKE SURE YOU have a power conversion plug as the hotel has only a couple to lend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riyadh

nice hotel mid city

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: room, staff, and location
Cons: increase food menu to include more varieties
Location: walking distance 2*5 min. to buses, restaurants, movie theaters, 10 min to Gamla Stan entrance boat rides and all that tourists and visitors care for
very nice stay at this hotel, where every thing was just perfect, friendly staff, excellent location close to restaurants, shopping malls, stores, theaters and famous attraction sites
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Rebecca, Reservations, Hotel Management
Dear Kalitoro, Thank you for taking time writing about Hotel Birger Jarl! We are glad to hear that you have had a god stay with us. We hope to see you soon again at the hotel! Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire UK

Lovely hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
The Birger Jarl is a well located very impressive hotel. Room was small but well set out and comfortable with everything to hand. Staff were brilliant - especially Per & Karin who helped me get the most out my stay. Breakfast buffet has to be mentioned - it was awesome. Even special diets well catered for. Just all in all a great base if you're visiting Stockholm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

Pleasant stay

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Safe area and nice facility
Cons: Service in the dining room was fair to poor. Ate there twice because I didn't know the area well enough to go out. Had to ask several times for bill
Location: Nice area to walk around.
Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was worth the extra money. Nice location, which was off the main drag, but within easy walking distance of shops. Nice and spacious lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in a great central location

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Close to subway or easy to walk anywhere in the central Stockholm or the water.
Location: Really central, we walked a lot and there is a subway stop 5 minutes walk away. The excellent restaurant Rolfs Kök (Rolf's Kitchen) is 15 min away
From the first member of staff to the last the service was friendly and efficient. It's a big hotel but designed to feel smaller and more boutique-y. Clean, comfortable beds, great bathroom and shower. Breakfast was a great selection of classic 'full English' plus fruit, cheese, meats, cereals more than enough to fuel you for the day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely hotel, friendly with nice staff

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Excellent breakfast, very nice staff. Good wifi.
Cons: The shower could be improved.
No issues at all, staff friendly, room comfy & quiet and would stay again. Fairly close to T metro.