Ratings based on 1,603 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Staff were very helpful
Cons: Hotel desperately needs renovation and they should not rent the terrible room on the third floor with the stairs inside the room.
Very helpful staff but terrible room, was like staying in a tiny attic, with seven stairs in the room and nowhere to put luggage. Worst hotel room I have ever stayed in,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT Guy

A terrific location - fantastic staff!

Posted May 26, 2017
Great location in central Stockholm. Rooms are clean and wonderful. Fun lobby - great coffee 24/7 .... have stayed here many times. Always a perfect experience! Thank you
5 out of 5
by John S

Highly recommend Hellsten. Perfect in every way.

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was perfect in every way. Room was very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was excellent. Really liked the lounge for evening relaxing. Staff was very helpful and very nice. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Good location, don't book superior room

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Staff friendly, good breakfast, good location to walk into centre. Bed very comfortable.
Cons: Increase number of seats in lounge. They must improve the creaking. Also Could block top of shower room in to help diffuse the noise of the lift.
Location: Good location 20 mins from old town, closer to shops and restaurants.
Floor exceedingly creeky so kept waking partner, also when other guests were near the door. Next to lift which was also noisy. Shower room very small. No plug facility for sink. Also hubby hit head on beams on ceiling. Should have asked to change rooms really. Didn't have safe deposit box but they did put some valuables and passports in their safe. As a top floor room it had a fire door, which was very heavy to open.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Overrated

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was nice and rich.
Cons: Amenities are poor. No cotton for removing makeup, no ear cotton.
Location: Location was nice. 20 minutes walking to old town.
I stayed at their smallest room for 3 days. Once the breakfast ready, you can smell it from your room. There was no safe and wardrobe in the room. There was 4 clothe hangers. The good thing is you can find coffee or tea in the lobby 24/7.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun place to stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Fun place to stay, we had a private sauna in our junior suite! Breakfast is good quality although the room is small, so tables run out fast later in the morning. Location is good if you're using the metro, although it's a bit of a walk to the 'touristy' parts of the city if not. Beds are very comfy and the place is nice and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great value choice for 2-3 nights in Stockholm.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly reception staff. Nice ambience. Overall good stay different to other hotels. Better in some ways.
Cons: Bed mattresses need more support.
Location: 2 subway stops from Stockholm T central station made easy to sightsee and get to Arkansas Ecoress train to airport on departure.
A hotel with character, ambiance and friendly reception staff. 2 subway stops from Centra, Stockholm made it easy to see many sights in and around Stockholm with 72 hour travel pass. Hotel Hellsten is different in a nice way. Friendly and quirky..comfortable and relaxed. Good local restaurant recommendations including Swedish and Middle Eastern food but close by Sushi and many other cuisines. Bathroom small but Modern. Beds could offer more support but slept well. Breakfast area light filled with communal tables. Good buffet. Newspapers. PC and printer helpful printing boarding passes for next flights. Overall glad we booked at Hotel Hellsten. For couples or singles who want to save money and happy to catch bus or train into town.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Great for what we needed

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Room was a bit basic but was fine for what we needed. Facilities and food were great and the staff were always helpful and friendly. In a great area with easy access to transport and city centre. There are some very good restaurants just off the main road which are worth the walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The only pleasant experience was from the night host, who was so excellent that even made me a sandwich and brought me a glass of water, as everything around the area was closed. I checked in on Saturday morning around 1 am.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location but rooms aren't as advertised

Posted Mar 9, 2017
The staff was awesome very friendly, helpful and quick check in. But the room did not look as advertised. The walls were stark and cold hardwood floor. No central air and heat and the hallways were a mess. The hallways floor red carpet walking to the room were extremely dirty and things left in the hallway like mattress and huge water jug and cleaning supplies. It was not a good look. On the positive side the breakfast was delightful and great location.