Ratings based on 1,551 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Quiet friendly hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: It was quiet and perfectly located
Cons: Individual safes in rooms rather than handing items over to reception
Location: Close to the main road to walk into the old town. Loads of food places nearby to eat or drink
Our room was upgraded on arrival to a suite so I can't really complain. The hotel is clean and tidy, rooms are warm and comfortable and the free tea and coffee is a welcome relief after walking around all day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Awesome hotel in a great location with great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice European Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet and nicely decorated, and the breakfast had some real food (eggs, bacon) rather than just pastries.
Cons: One of the boards in the wood floor was spongy and sagged.
Location: I didn't have time to do much, but Stockholm has a lot to offer. I had dinner and a nice floating cafe, Mälarpaviljongen http://malarpaviljongen.se/
The Hellsten is a nice, clean, well decorated, hotel, however it is not friendly to mobility impaired - there are stairs before you get to the elevator or even the first floor rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful however. The rooms are typically European tiny and the bathroom, while very nicely done, had a shower that would require contortions even if I weren't oversized. Fortunately, I could leave the little doors open without causing a flood and managed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Great experience.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The interior décor, rustic look, location, staff, breakfast
Cons: Better wine selection Add omelettes to breakfastcq1
Hotel staff were super friendly and helpful. Upgrade to better room due to being an Expedia+ VIP member was unbelievable!! The upgraded room was fantastic. Breakfast was very good with lots of options. We had an amazing time.
4 out of 5
by Kristin

I enjoyed my stay here

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
cute hotel, friendly staff, free breakfast, free wifi. Very small rooms, particularly the bathroom, but otherwise a great place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Less than 2 blocks from subway. Lots of local restaurants nearby. Away from tourists but not too far. Very spacious single room. Being an eye mask if you want to sleep in during the summer.
2 out of 5
by Pétur

Misrepresenting

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms on hotel.com app were extremely misleading to what we ended up getting
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aus

Classic Swedish accomodation but lacking

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Wotif
Great Swedish feel to the stay but uncomfortable bedding and small room with no ventilation at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel, quiet neighborhood.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: We felt that this hotel provided all the comforts we needed and it was in a location that was convenient for the metro or cabs.
Cons: The only thing that we had difficulty with is using the the shower/ tub combo without getting water everywhere, there needs to an easier way to do it!
Location: Location is off the main avenues but a short walk to the metro or bus stop.It is a 20 minute walk to the main canals and popular restaurants.
The hotel has old world charm and a staff that is always pleasant and very helpful. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast buffet each day that included everything you could possibly want and more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
A fabulously-designed hotel with welcoming and helpful staff. Breakfast was a little chaotic at times but they are expanding the breakfast room which will help. The choice of food was very good.