Ratings based on 1,568 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel, quiet neighborhood.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: We felt that this hotel provided all the comforts we needed and it was in a location that was convenient for the metro or cabs.
Cons: The only thing that we had difficulty with is using the the shower/ tub combo without getting water everywhere, there needs to an easier way to do it!
Location: Location is off the main avenues but a short walk to the metro or bus stop.It is a 20 minute walk to the main canals and popular restaurants.
The hotel has old world charm and a staff that is always pleasant and very helpful. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast buffet each day that included everything you could possibly want and more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was good.
Cons: The elevator didn't work during our stay and nor did the telephone in our room.
Location: Good location and close to downtown.
The room, including the bathroom, was small and very basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Individual room decor.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Upgraded to a larger room. Colourful decor added character and warmth.
Location: A 30 minute walk to old town and the museums down by the water ways.
We stayed for three nights, enjoyed two different rooms, both had their own charm. Breakfast was very good and the breakfast room facilities are being upgraded which will improve the breakfast experience. Staff very helpful and pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Staff were very helpful
Cons: Hotel desperately needs renovation and they should not rent the terrible room on the third floor with the stairs inside the room.
Very helpful staff but terrible room, was like staying in a tiny attic, with seven stairs in the room and nowhere to put luggage. Worst hotel room I have ever stayed in,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT Guy

A terrific location - fantastic staff!

Posted May 26, 2017
Great location in central Stockholm. Rooms are clean and wonderful. Fun lobby - great coffee 24/7 .... have stayed here many times. Always a perfect experience! Thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Good location, don't book superior room

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Staff friendly, good breakfast, good location to walk into centre. Bed very comfortable.
Cons: Increase number of seats in lounge. They must improve the creaking. Also Could block top of shower room in to help diffuse the noise of the lift.
Location: Good location 20 mins from old town, closer to shops and restaurants.
Floor exceedingly creeky so kept waking partner, also when other guests were near the door. Next to lift which was also noisy. Shower room very small. No plug facility for sink. Also hubby hit head on beams on ceiling. Should have asked to change rooms really. Didn't have safe deposit box but they did put some valuables and passports in their safe. As a top floor room it had a fire door, which was very heavy to open.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Overrated

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was nice and rich.
Cons: Amenities are poor. No cotton for removing makeup, no ear cotton.
Location: Location was nice. 20 minutes walking to old town.
I stayed at their smallest room for 3 days. Once the breakfast ready, you can smell it from your room. There was no safe and wardrobe in the room. There was 4 clothe hangers. The good thing is you can find coffee or tea in the lobby 24/7.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun place to stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Fun place to stay, we had a private sauna in our junior suite! Breakfast is good quality although the room is small, so tables run out fast later in the morning. Location is good if you're using the metro, although it's a bit of a walk to the 'touristy' parts of the city if not. Beds are very comfy and the place is nice and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great value choice for 2-3 nights in Stockholm.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly reception staff. Nice ambience. Overall good stay different to other hotels. Better in some ways.
Cons: Bed mattresses need more support.
Location: 2 subway stops from Stockholm T central station made easy to sightsee and get to Arkansas Ecoress train to airport on departure.
A hotel with character, ambiance and friendly reception staff. 2 subway stops from Centra, Stockholm made it easy to see many sights in and around Stockholm with 72 hour travel pass. Hotel Hellsten is different in a nice way. Friendly and quirky..comfortable and relaxed. Good local restaurant recommendations including Swedish and Middle Eastern food but close by Sushi and many other cuisines. Bathroom small but Modern. Beds could offer more support but slept well. Breakfast area light filled with communal tables. Good buffet. Newspapers. PC and printer helpful printing boarding passes for next flights. Overall glad we booked at Hotel Hellsten. For couples or singles who want to save money and happy to catch bus or train into town.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Great for what we needed

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Room was a bit basic but was fine for what we needed. Facilities and food were great and the staff were always helpful and friendly. In a great area with easy access to transport and city centre. There are some very good restaurants just off the main road which are worth the walk.