Ratings based on 1,497 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, service a little slow.

Posted Apr 23, 2018
The location of the hotel is fab. We walked everywhere over the weekend. The hotel was being refurbished on the upper levels which credit to them didn’t affect our stay at all. My only criticism was the waiting staff in the restaurant. We had breakfast there twice and lunch on our first day. For each of these meals we always had to chase for service, to take our order, for a drink, a menu etc. They were not very attentive even when the restaurant wasn’t that busy. Slightly disappointed and not a good first impression. They often forgot orders or requests and we again had to chase things up. A slight same and taint of experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alice Springs, Australia

Best central location.

Posted Mar 25, 2018
Within walking distance of all attractions, museums and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2018 by Klara , Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you so much for your review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

On the Winter Waterfront

Posted Mar 17, 2018
The Strand is appropriately named and located. Facing on a bay in Stockholm, the hotel is within walking distance of major attractions, Iincluding the charming old town Gamla Stan, great restaurants and the must-see Vasa Museum. Good breakfast buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2018 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are more than happy that you liked our hotel. We hope to see you soon again and until then take care! Kind regards, Front Desk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Good, comfortable business hotel near the harbour

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Pros: The room quality was excellent
Cons: the breakfast. (i.e. more range)
Location: Great for walking to the Vasa or Gamla Stan
Excellent, comfortable rooms. Location is perfect for sightseeing. For an international hotel, would have been nice to have a wider choice of TV channels. Overall the restaurant / bar menu was a little bit poor, (very greasy, salty food). The breakfast could have also been improved with an egg, pancake, omelette cook to order bar. Although overall the hotel was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Klara, Hotel Management
Hi Phil, Thank you very much for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay. I will pass the information regarding the restaurant to my manager for immediate action. I hope we can welcome you back to us soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location in Stockholm

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: It's location
Cons: Nothing but be wary of the type of room you get and if you need a bigger bathroom make sure you ask!
Location: Ideally located for central Stockholm
I booked through Expedia and our room was "adequate" but with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel of this star rating in Europe! I filled in the Expedia questionnaire on the first morning and within an hour I had received an email from the hotel asking if I wanted to change rooms. Ordinarily I wouldn't have bothered but as my wife has serious arthritis I took advantage of the offer for the second night. We were upgraded to a business suite which was excellent. My concern is that many of the rooms will have tiny (and I mean tiny) bathrooms (the reception staff said that they were aware of the problem). What I was impressed with was the reaction of Expedia and the action of the Hotel on receipt of my comments. Well done both! The only down side (and I'm being a bit picky) is that our new room was opposite a night club/disco. Luckily we had ear plugs.......
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2018 by Klara, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Alain, We appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your stay was overall enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
5 out of 5
by Sara

Posted Jan 4, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Klara , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
by holly

Great choice

Posted Jan 3, 2018 on Hotels
An historic hotel with good modernization and with a great harbor view. It was within walkable distance to many museums. The breakfast was very Scandinavian but other meals had a variety of choices. I would stay there again if I went to Stockholm even though the bathroom was microscopic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Klara , Hotel Management
Dear Holly, Dear , Thank you so much for staying with us at the Strand Hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again. As always, thank you for your business and we see you next time your travels bring you back to Stockholm. All the best, Klara Al Jaouni Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Great hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2017
The room is big and clean. Great view from my room window. Staff is helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Renoar, Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for your positive review about our hotel. We hope to see you again in 2018! Kind regards, Front Desk
5 out of 5
by David

Very nice hotel, very conveniently located.

Posted Dec 15, 2017 on Hotels
This is a very nice hotel, very conveniently located right in the center of town, just behind the Grand Hotel and within walking distance of all points of interest: 5mins to Gamla Stan, 25mins to Skansen, 20mins to City Hall, 25mins to Sodermalm and Fotografiska, 20mins to the shopping district of Normalm, all pleasant walks through the city and along the water. We stayed in a larger room for 2, with a roll away bed. It was a bit cramped for three people, but still livable. Great shower! Nespresso machine in the room :-). The room was overlooking the street with a club, so a bit noisy but not too much. Very professional staff, friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar are open late, the restaurant is quite good, fabulous breakfast buffet 6:30-10:30am (11am on WE). The hotel is currently undergoing some renovation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for your positive review about our hotel. We are so happy that you had a good stay with us. We hope to welcome you here again in 2018! Kind regards, Renoar | Front Desk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Posted Dec 8, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel a couple times now for business and I will stay at it again in the future. The staff are incredibly welcoming and helpful and the location is truly ideal. The reason for a slightly lower rating on my most recent stay was the room size (much smaller than my last stay) as well as an odour in the room. I must have been upgraded on my first stay so my expectations on the room size had been altered. During my second stay I had an opportunity to dine at the restaurant connected to the lobby, The Strand, which was a wonderful experience. The service was incredible and only outdone by the quality of the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Klara , Hotel Management
Dear Brandon, Thank you so much for staying with us at the Strand Hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again. We will try to allocate you one of our best renovated rooms so you can have another wonderful stay with us! :) As always, thank you for your business and we see you next time your travels bring you back to Stockholm. All the best, Klara Al Jaouni Service Manager