Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, Ontario

Doesn't live up to the Howard Johnson brand.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: The fact that I only had to spend one night there. Ouch.
Cons: Maybe a new paint job? Maybe actually *clean* the rooms, instead of just pretending that they're clean?
I suppose that the hotel itself can't be blamed for the fact that a vacuum truck started up at the place across the street before 7 a.m.-- but that's about the only thing that was beyond their control. That was *not* a queen-sized bed; it was a double at best. The furniture and fixtures looked the same as they did when this was the Ascot back in the 1970s, and time has not been kind to them. Finding several long black hairs in the bathtub which obviously belonged to neither of us made me suspect that the cleaning was... sporadic at best. Paint peeling everywhere, and I didn't pull out the couch because the smell led me to believe that I *really* wouldn't like what I would find there. The street noise all night long made it difficult to sleep, as well. For a one-way street, MacIntyre certainly seems to be about as busy as any major road in the GTA! I only booked us in there out of curiosity--I thought that the place *had* to have improved since the days of the Ascot, or else it surely would have gone out of business. It still has the seedy feel of a no-tell motel, alas. In two words? Don't. Bother.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in North Bay

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: The price and location were great. Staff was kind and helpful even though I arrived very late in the night.
Location: There are many things to do in North Bay and this hotel is well located, however, on this trip it was simply a stop over on my way farther north.
The hotel was safe, clean, comfortable, well priced and well located. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a reasonable start to the day, with good coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

North Bay Outing

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Good price for room. Air conditioning didn't give off enough cool air and the breakfast was not very appealing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orangeville

Terrible hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I was so surprised to see that this hotel was a complete dive! I had thought that Howard Johnson was a good name in hotels but this is not the case in North Bay! Very sketchy area with very questionable people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Quick check in, changed to ground floor to accommodate elderly mother.....very friendly managers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Old hotel, too expensive for what you get. Would not book there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale CA

Friendly and caring staff

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Around 11 pm I made sofa bed for my son and I noticed that sheets are washed but stained. I asked receptionist to bring another sheet and he came fast with a new one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Not a bad place to stay in would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Economical Hotel Centrally Located

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Reasonably priced, centrally located
Cons: Couch pillows look a bit old and dirty.
A basic hotel in a central location. About a $20 cab ride from the airport and the hotel can arrange a cab for you. This hotel is nothing fancy, but perfectly adequate. The rooms are spacious and clean with a mini fridge and microwave. My room had a couch which made eating take-out and watching TV very easy. There are restaurants and shops around the corner and the waterfront is close by. The man at the desk was very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Howard Johnson North Bay

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Beds were comfortable and room size was pretty good.
Cons: Cleanliness. Breakfast.
Location: Quiet area on a week night.
Although the employee was accommodating we were disappointed in the room. The bath towel had a hole in it & the conduit holding the wires near the headboard was absolutely filthy. The bed appeared to be clean and was moderately comfortable. Breakfast was only baked goods (bread/bagels/english muffin) and a banana or apple......unfortunately my daughter is celiac so only fruit to choose from A more hearty breakfast would have been appreciated although we often run into this when travelling. Next time we will stay elsewhere in a place we already know is clean and has a good breakfast. Guess that's what happens when you look for a 'budget' motel.