Ratings based on 1,639 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Hot Showers, Great Coffee, Super Cozy beds, The coolest staff ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Simple with a great location

Posted Apr 22, 2018
The San Remo is not a typical hotel experience, but that is what makes it special. My room and shared bathroom facilities were small but very clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly. The location is perfect if you like to walk around to explore a new city - and I was able to leave my bag on the day I checked out to pick it up later before my flight, which was so helpful. I would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Old Fashioned

Posted Apr 21, 2018
Very old fashioned hotel. Close to Fisherman's Wharf, transport hubs, supermarket and chemists. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Rooms could be doing with new carpet and lick of paint but decent accommodation. Don't book for people with walking issues, lots of stairs and no elevator. Would stay again no problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Busselton, Australia

Perfect for us!

Posted Apr 20, 2018
Do your research people cos this hotel may not be for everyone but if all you need is a cheap central location and a clean comfy bed to sleep in at night then this place is perfect! Only a two minute walk to the wharf! There are plenty of showers and toilets and we never had to wait once. Plenty of amenities also available including tea/coffee and excellent wifi. There is so much character and charm to this place. Perfect base for San Fran site seeing. If you have trouble with stairs or like an abundance of space this may not be suitable for you. But I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottetown, PE

Close to fisherman's wharf. Safe place

Posted Apr 19, 2018
We stayed here are first night. It a fun spot.it does have shared bathrooms area but that wasn't bad. Never had to wait for toilet or shower. First thing is this is a old hotel! So knowing that you should expect old ha. Our room was tiny which was indicated when Booking no prob. The bed was decent. They have a coffee and candy bar when you check in which is fun. The shower was old and smelt musty.they have disposable Matt's to put down for your feet which I liked. The check in safe wasn't the most clear on parking just said its Sunday there's free street parking. And there's a garage down the street.we should have asked more details about the garage because the wasnt a spot to be found in the couple blocks around us. We parked in the wrong garage so they wouldn't pay for part of that garage the one across the street from it they did though... so we paid 50$ for parking.... when it we stayed in the one across they would reimburse us to only have to pay 20$. Oh well lesson learned, just wish he did have come into more detail about the garage to go to.. We were overall happy with the hotel and room. The .only reason we would not go back is the next morning after we started to get are bags back there was a massive spider on the wall by the headboard...God knows how long its been living , it was similar size to the bite size brownies they were serving. I wouldn't have sleep well if I saw it at check in. We told the staff and they seemed concerned. And apologized
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

San Francisco Unique

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Pros: Location is great for a quick visit to San Francisco.
This is a unique little spot close to all of the action In San Francisco. The price is right, for a quaint, historical vibe. Shared facilities were clean, never too busy. Rooms were quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2018
One of a kind. A wonderful place to stay. Lots of attention to detail.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2018
great location .. beds are squeaky and rather small for couples, no air conditioning. But street is too noisy to open window
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2018 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
We really appreciate that you took the time to send your comments about your stay at our historic San Remo Hotel. Our rooms are equipped with period style furniture to represent the typical turn of the century character of a 1906 Hotel, but we will take a look at your room furniture. Thank you for mentioning our great location. Hope to see you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Gorgeous boutique style hotel right by fishermans

Posted Apr 6, 2018
great wifi, great location, sooo many extras included (coffee, muffins, teas, hot chocolates etc)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So. Utah

Quaint and close to Pier 39

Posted Mar 30, 2018
Great place to stay. Feels like grandma's house. Very quiet. Centrally located to almost everywhere you want to go. Close to all transit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for the lovely photos. We are delighted that you liked our location and Victorian style. Hope you will return.