Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Long and Short of it

Posted Apr 24, 2018
It was a great spot, very bright, clean, nicely decorated and furnished but it has to b the smallest room I have ever stayed in and with two suitcases and a man with very broad shoulders we weren’t comfortable moving in it which was a shame, sitting on the loo and your knees being on the door never a good thing. Delicious croissants though and we woke up to the smell of them baking! Yum’
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Pros: The location was within walking distance of numerous sites and restaurants that we wanted to visit.
Cons: The breakfast could have been a little more "special"; it was pretty ordinary.
Location: Walk up to Coit Tower; wander around North Beach; Chinatown (2 blocks away), Financial District (6 blocks away) or Fisherman's Wharf (8 blocks)
We had a genuine San Francisco small neighborhood experience on Washington Square, relishing much of what we remember about the old Italian North Beach section of SF from our childhood.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Basic old hotel in good location.

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Old hotel with very small rooms. Our room had a very musty smell and the bathrooms were dirty. Location and free breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great little place

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Absolutely loved it. We had the cozy room 15 very small but we loved our stay!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location but needs some updates

Posted Jan 22, 2018 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great area and convenient to all the sites in San Francisco. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast included was light and easy, which we like. The rooms are in need of upgrading. Everything is quite dated. For such a great location it deserves a renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel in North Beach

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Proximity to restaurants and shopping
Cons: Outlets, fix fan above bed.
Location: Multiple restaurants right outside the hotel, Washington Square Park, Catholic church, Coit Tower, Shopping.
This is the second time we've stayed here. The hotel is an older hotel with antique furnishings. There is no elevator, but we choose a room that was one flight to the room. There are other rooms which have at least two flights of stairs. They have an agreement with a parking garage on Filbert and Columbus Ave. Since we were going to walk everywhere in North Beach, it was perfect. The room although "deluxe" was on the small side and it lacked sufficient outlets for appliances/iphone. The king size bed was comfortable and the bathroom although small had nice amenities. No view from the windows, but the room was quiet. During the afternoon they have coffee and tea and cookies and in the evening they have wine with cheese, crackers, olives and salami. A nice touch.At breakfast, you order what you want the night before and the time. It is delivered to your room, or you can have it at a communal table in the living room. The staff were friendly and accomodating. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in North Beach!

Posted Dec 30, 2017 on Hotels
Make sure your room has a ensuite bathroom. We had to change rooms (and pay more) to get a bathroom that was in our room (#10). The location is the best feature. They also have breakfast and wine/chees happy hour included.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just Not What It Can Be and Once Was

Posted Dec 23, 2017
I have been staying at the WSI 2-3 times a year for 30 years. The owners need to spend a few nights to assure it does not continue to slide: room was freezing when we arrived; coffee in the morning coffee pot was warm, not hot. the morning desk person left the back door open tending to something, allowing for a blast of cold air to chill the lobby - twice. the phone rand and rand in the lobby in his absence and no one picked it up. twice. the breakfast - which used to be simple but attractive and good quality is now uninspired. The oatmeal was watery. granola mediocre. same for the croissants and the fruit was out of season and not ripe. Nice place, great location, and great potential. bring it back before you bring it further down. its San Francisco, for God's sake.
4 out of 5
by Steve

Washington Square Inn, well located

Posted Dec 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was well located and the staff was great. The lobby was warm and comfortable, with a nice breakfast and Happy Hour included. However, the room itself was extremely small, with very little space to unpack anything. Also, the bathroom was tiny, writhe sink being outside the bathroom, in the bedroom. Very inconvenient for us. However, if you don't mind that, the hotel was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Evening reception was nice, and morning breakfast is nicely put together.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were informed that the private bath listed on the website was 2 doors down the hallway and not attached. The staff eventually worked with us and moved us to a different room. Rooms are small but nice.