Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Paulette from Pasadena, CA

Convenient Location and Comfortable Room

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
This Inn came through for us in providing a room for three nights in a row in the face of concerts and other events in the area. I couldn't find a room elsewhere. The location was very convenient, being right off the 35E, which was the route to the other places we needed to visit while in town. We went to Duluth, Gooseberry Falls, Twin Harbors, Quamba for a wedding, Pine City for the reception, and back to North Branch for dinner. Budget Host Inn and Suites was the perfect location for all of our activities and the room was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by suzy

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
enjoyable and comfortab;e
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Hotel ok

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Pros: Quiet, nice shower, nice man at front desk.
Cons: The breakfast!!!!
Location: Great location, everything you need near by. Great outlet mall!!
The hotel above was ok, could use a coffee pot in room. Also continental breakfast was terrible. Toast, tiny muffins, and little rolls less than 2 inches wide. The room was ok, good shower and quiet. Nice man at front desk.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer from St. Paul

Good solid budget hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed there because of it's proximity to our event site. It was blocks away and perfect location for getting back and forth quickly. Definitely a Budget Hotel,it was clean and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Truly no frills, but a small continental breakfast and a nice pool.
4 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
For the price it could have been cleaner and the breakfast nicer
2 out of 5
by richard from mount dora, fl.

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was poor, Not much of a selection.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty and neglected

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: The beds and sheets at least looked clean. maybe they concentrate on this aspect and nothing else
Cons: Everything! . It does look very old land neglected, I think the owners live there, when we called, they came out of a back room. I'm disappointed.
Location: It is in a good location, restaurants within walking distance. We were there visiting family, so we didn't do too much touristy stuff.
I don't usually write a bad review, but... We booked 2 rooms at this hotel for 4 nights each. We checked out after 3 nights. I have a list of problems with this hotel. Front desk: no one was ever there, we had to call them to come out and help us. front door unlocked at all times, unsafe for guests? Hallways and stairs: dirty and carpet was very old and outdated, didn't look like it had been vacuumed in a while. Room: door didn't shut, I had to make sure it shut. Smelled like too much air freshener was used to mask dirty room. Fridge sounded like it was going to blow up, I unplugged it. Carpet was old, dirty, and wrinkled, I wore shoes the entire time. chairs were dirty and threadbare. floor lamp was broken, some plug ins didn't work. no note pad or pen. no tv guide, and the batteries in remote were old, I had to stand an inch away to change channels, and there are 2 of every channel. layer of dust on the pictures and headboards. Bathroom: floor was sticky, floor was curling up and black moldy stuff was visible, toilet seat was loose, shower head was dirty, mold on the shower curtain, Housekeeping: they didn't empty my trash, they didn't replace the plastic bag for the ice bucket. Other stuff: The ice tasted funny, when was the last time they cleaned the ice machine? The pool looked green and slimy, we didn't use it. The breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, oatmeal, and cereal. The containers were dirty. The windows in the entire hotel were very dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MInnesota

Don't bother.

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Bed was comfortable.
Cons: Total upgrade is required and staff should be at the front desk at high volume times like mornings
I don't mind a budget hotel on trips where no frills are necessary. But in this case, the facilities were substandard and the staff were nonexistent. The smell in the whole place is weird and I couldn't tell if it was the cleaning chemicals they use or just funky oldness but the room especially had an oder and if I was sensitive to fragrances at all, it would have put me in the E.R. Worst was in the bathroom where I discovered significant mildew on the bottom hem of the shower curtain. I felt compelled to check the bed for signs of bedbugs but didn't see them. To use lamps in room, I had to find the outlets and plug them in. TV was fine and bed was actually quite comfortable. Also a quiet place. But each time I hoped to find the front desk staff to complain about the shower curtain, no one was there. THis was also true when I checked out and discovered that overnight, someone had stolen the blades off my windshield wipers. Definitely not going back to this hotel. Ever.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
I could see where they didn't clean around the edges of the walls and floors. They had left a used towel hanging in the bathroom. The hotel lobby and halls smelled of cigarette smoke.