Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Graham

Great value with central location

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
The location was very convenient to shopping, downtown Charleston and the beaches. We were travelling with dogs and they were very understanding and accommodating.
4 out of 5
by Randi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Angel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by ALICIA

Reasonable and would consider a repeat visit

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
The staff at the hotel were outstanding - friendly, personable and very responsive. The hotel is a little dated and could use a face lift but would consider staying here again. The hotel appears to be maintained well, just not brand new. The only issue I would deal with differently would be the beds. My husband and I have a difficult time fitting in a full size bed. Queen beds would have been nice to have since we needed 2 beds in our room.
3 out of 5
by Bobbi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Krystal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Natasha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Joseph

Excellent

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
This was a very pleasant stay: I read reviews they should take them down. Some kid gets on line and just ruins it for the hotel maybe he got thrown or she out : I travel a lot and would highly recommend Candle wood: No I'm not a employee
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota

Overpriced and uncomfortable

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing. Overpriced, no courtesy breakfast for $145 per nite (before dog uncharge), argumentative hostile treatment from employee, poor manager.
Cons: Train/replace poor performers, understand what your competitors offer, update the terrible TV system with something from the 1980's.
Location: Terrible location -- close enuf to Charleston SC to charge exorbitant rates to those who are unfamiliar with the area.
Very snarly front desk clerk tried to charge us $50 extra for our dog -- absolutely no empathy and a very bad attitude. We were informed that the hotel was under new ownership and that the rates on Orbitz The manager sat 10 feet behind her and did not turn around or get up from his chair to get involved. Other clerk working the free Wednesday nite buffet was extremely helpful and friendly, really an asset to the property. Other than the treatment we received this clerk, we did not feel like a customers.