Ratings based on 440 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgetown, SC

A New Discovery

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Home 2 Suites (by Hilton) was unknown to me prior to this trip to Charleston. We were going to visit the city from our home in a nearby town before dropping a visitor off at the airport. I wanted a suitable hotel close to the airport, and found this one. The room was spacious with a king bed and a sofa sleeper. A curtain can be drawn between the sofa and the bed. There is a small, full-sized refrigerator as well as a microwave, dishwasher, and garbage disposal. A cooktop and skillet can be obtained from the front desk. It is well-equipped with all the needed utensils. The staff is very pleasant. Check-in was quick and efficient, as was check-out. It took me 5 minutes to arrive at the airport. Breakfast had many options, including 'make your own' waffles and microwaveable scrambled eggs (pretty good) and breakfast sandwiches. It was ver clean throughout with plenty of parking. Though we didn't use it, the outdoor pool looked very inviting. It will be a nice location for exploring Charleston on long weekends, as downtown was only about 16 minutes away (to the aquarium and Fort Sumter museum).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nc

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I chose this hotel because staying in downtown Charleston was close to $400 a night. This hotel was a 15 minute drive to downtown which was not bad. The overall condition of the hotel was good, however it could have been a bit cleaner. For example, upon entering our room I used the restroom and instantly saw hair on the bathroom floor which led me to believe that they did not do the best job cleaning. In addition, our room had an odd almost musty smell to it which did not bother my boyfriend but did bother me. The breakfast was Ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa bay

The staff makes this hotel as great as it is!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Fled hurricane Irma from Tampa bay area. Upon first greeting I thought the staff couldn't be any more friendly, I was wrong. They went above and beyond the entire stay. We didn't really get a chance to see the sites of Charleston but we will be going back. Not because of the city, because of this staff. Love you all and thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I was an excellent room very happy with the service and the overall stay was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chalreston

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Cleaners pay attention to every detail and are very thorough. Lobby staff made me feel welcomed and at home every day and they always had a smile on their face.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central PA

Close to stores and Mall.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
I was initially concerned in the parking lot when we greeted by a pan handler, asking for money for his sick wife and child. Of course, my husband gave him money. We then hurried to our suite. At first glance, the suite appeared to be spacious and well furnished. On closer inspection, light fixtures hadn't been dusted in awhile, the floor was filthy, the comforter was stained, and the tub needed a good scrubbing. I had to go to the lobby to get a fresh blanket and sheet. The bed was comfortable and the room was fairly quiet. Only some brief dog barking and outdoor noise. I thought it odd that a cleaning bottle had been left on the floor of the kitchen area. Kitchen supplies such as table ware were limited and cheap. The sofa and chair cushions were very worn. The lobby area was very well decorated and fairly spacious. The breakfast selection was good and the coffee was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, OH

like concept and design

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Convenient location- so close to the airport and the outlet mall. The layout of the room was great- plenty of plugs for any sleeper in our room, curtain to divide room is a nice touch, proximity to lobby was easy for breakfast and swimming, overall well-designed room and hotel. I have stayed at many mid-range hotels and enjoyed the taller ceilings, the extra storage (if we stayed longer, would really come in handy) and extra bedding being cleaned and actually of decent quality. The kids ended up forgetting toothbrushes at the condo we stayed at, so the free toothbrushes provided were a nice touch. Also, we enjoyed Nutella in our free breakfast- maybe Nutella is the reason for 5 stars?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Average Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Hotel is conviently located and close to great things to do in Charleston. Room was very clean and overall conditions were pretty good. Cons: Staff confusion at check-in which ultimately resulted in negative customer service upon arrival. No night parking so make sure your back to the hotel by 8pm to get a parking spot and hotel walls/facility lacking durability and sound proofing. Overall it's an average hotel, but would most likely look for other options before staying here again next time I'm in Charleston.
5 out of 5
by Antony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The room was small but clean. The staff was excellent.
Cons: More food for breakfast so there's enough food until at least 10 am. Not everyone wants to eat breakfast at 7 am.
Location: Good location and centrally located for many activities. Nearby restaurants were quite good. Near the airport, too.
The hotel was across the street from the Center for which we had tickets for a body building show. The staff was terrific, friendly and very helpful. My only complaint was that the breakfast was so early that by 10 am all the food was gone. I would stay at this hotel again.