Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
21% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Toilet would not work properly. No shampoo or hair dryer or coffee machine or frig or TV guide . Basically no amenities . Towels rough and thin . People actually live there full time I believe . So outside was not pleasant to look at
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

Disgusting motel

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Dirty place with bugs and lights out. Never again. Luckily I was there by myself. Pay for what you get.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Brand Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe, and we are sorry for the circumstances. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the maintenance issues you experienced. Please accept our apologies that your stay was less than satisfactory. We encourage you to contact Guest Services to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from garden city, michigan

Bad room

Posted Sep 8, 2017
No blanket and only 2 pillows For a king size bed. No shower curtian. Light in bathroom was out and there was a burn in the sheets. There was no remote for The tv and The tv was broken . what a horrible room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Brand Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear William, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

3 rooms and dirty cigarettes-burned sheets

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Took 3 tries to get an uninhabitable room. Management rude when I showed Brent and dirty sheets and requested clean ones.Unsupervised children at pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are terribly sorry about your stay and comeback to enjoy another great stay.
1 out of 5
by David

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
We had two double beds, each had 1 pillow and 2 sheets, no blankets. The toilet seat was broken and the sink was cracked, water ran every where when you turned on the hot water. We checked in late at night and didn't notice till the morning almost half of the windows in the hotel where busted out. Way over priced!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017
Thank you for your review! We are terribly sorry for your horrific stay and do hope you return shortly for a better stay.
2 out of 5
by Atish

Rude receptionist, did not provide enough towels

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
There was no iron/ironing board in the room. Also, even though the reservation was for 4 people, they only gave us 2 towels. At the reception, when we asked for more, the lady said it is our policy to not give more than 2 towels. After some arguing she finally gave 2 more with the attitude that she was doing me a favour. Very rude attitude. One of my friends forgot his watch in the room when we left. Upon going back the same evening, they said no one found anything in the room. All of us had seen the watch before checking out, just that my friend forgot to pick it up when locking the door. Housekeeping staff definitely stole it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017
Thank you for your review! We do hope you have a better stay your next time around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Terrible Experience

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The manager was courteous and helpful. Free WiFi in the room. Airconditioning worked
Cons: Almost everything. It is a dirty place that is run poorly. The sheets may not have been changed we realized too late at night.
Location: Ten minutes away from the Lindner Family Tennis Center.
Dirty carpet. No tissue in the bath room. Had to go and pick it up myself from the front desk. No coffee maker in the room. Hot breakfast meant just coffee. To top it all, after i got home, i realized i had forgotten to pick up my personal laundry bag with my shirt and undershirt i used yesterday in it. I left the hotel yesterday morning at about 10.00 AM. I called them as soon as i got home, certainly before 5pm yesterday. Gave them my name and room number 227. N one had gone to clean the room. As soon as one of the maids did, they assured me they would call me back. They have not called. If they do not and do not offer to send my stuff back to me at no charge, I'll have no good reason to trust Expedia to make my hotel reservations in the future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Here at Motel 6 we want to help our customers out as much as possible and we will be sure to help you out with a better stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amherst, OH

Sort of a train wreck

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Went to take a shower and had to call the desk. They sent someone up to turn on the water, valve was "tricky." While they were there, they also had to show us the "trick" to getting the TV to work. After the shower I was only able to get the valve partially off; it dripped all night! In the AM, the TV again didn't function!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Here at Motel 6 we love to keep our customers happy any way possible, even if it means helping customers out any time of the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
The dial on the AC unit did not work. Just turned in circles. The Tv only showed No signal. The beds only had sheets on them. No blankets or comforters.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you for your review! We are terribly sorry for your stay and do hope you have a more pleasant stay next time around.
1 out of 5
by Amanda

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017
We will deal wit this directly.