Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Small hotel with great views.

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: The location is fabulous. Quiet and welcoming with a good range of facilities.
Cons: House keeping - hit/miss. Rooms not cleaned and restocked with tea/coffee each day.
Location: surfing and surfboarding National Trust properties fantastic coast walks
The hotel is in a lovely location - the views from the bar / dining room are fabulous. The rooms were large and reasonably comfortable. The bathrooms were good- plenty of hot water. House keeping is a bit hit/miss -although the rooms were ready on arrival, they were rather dusty in places and over our stay, one room had beds, bins and bathroom cleaned but teas/coffees weren't refilled and the other room had no housekeeping at all - not exactly major issues and the lady in the bar was happy to provide a handful of teabags and a jug of milk each day. All the staff seem to multi-task which means that the reception is often unattended but staff can be found easily in the bar area and we found them all really friendly and helpful. Although breakfast is not included in the room rate, we purchased for £10 and had plenty of cereal, fruits and yoghurts, plenty of toast ,which we made ourselves, and a lovely breakfast which was cooked to our individual choices. The morning waitress was particularly attentive and made great suggestions about where to visit and dine. We had the swimming pool to ourselves and found it clean and warm. The gym contained some decent equipment although we didn't use it. Overall, we had a lovely stay and will more than likely return on our next trip to Cornwall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South of England

Beautiful view, but not up to expectations

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Anyone booking this hotel should be aware that in periods of low occupancy the restaurant is closed in the evening and sometimes breakfast has to be pre-booked. This is especially important to know if the guest has mobility problems or lack of transport, as the Hotel is quite a substantial walk into the main area of town were all the other restaurants are. Lots of split levels, stairs and precarious steps from the car park to reception would also be difficult for people with limited mobility This was a shame as we were looking forward to eating once more in the conservatory restaurant which has a stunning view of Porth Beach. (This was the main reason we picked this hotel) The staff were very friendly. The rooms were large and comfortable but in need of a simple re-decorate.
1 out of 5
by john

Appalling attitude

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
The venue itself is o.k and the manchester lady and main receptionist were lovely. The downside was the staff member behind the bar who can only be described as having an appalling attitude but for no clear reason. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Shame really as it was this colleague that caused the animosity not only for me but other members of our familiy.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Ebookers
Very nice hotel - incredible view and location. Recommended to ring ahead when using ebookers as there had been confusion over us needing a twin rather than a double but the staff were really kind and helpful and put in an extra bed for us. Lovely room, very clean and well equipped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Susan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We hope we will see you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel has too many levels Curtain poles rusty

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Fire alarm kept coming on during evening While trying to sleep When we went to reception following fire instructions we were merely told to ignore it as it had been set off by smoke machine in wedding reception taking place downstairs Still needed to check out by 10 am despite poor night sleep!!
5 out of 5
by Deborah

A must visit hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely loved our stay, the view from our room was just beautiful. Will be booking again when I come down. Heavenly place
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by Jay

Worst customer service.

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
It was a really bad experience, hotel was absolutely over rated, the service we received was very rude, we were put into the wrong room and me and my partner ended up sleeping in 2 single beds instead of the double bed we asked for on the our weekend getaway trip which wasn't exactly very romantic and the hotel overall wasn't very clean and the beds were so uncomfortable! When we questioned if we could be moved to a room we asked for the receptionist simply told us "nothing I can do, sorry" and didn't even attempt to help us at all.
4 out of 5
by Marie

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
First trip to Newquay, lovely position overlooking porth beach, but not our room sadly! Cleanliness excellent, furniture a little tired, basic room but adequate for our stay. Staff welcoming and helpful, on the whole good value
4 out of 5
by Marco

Hotel review

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The bed are double and uncomfortable they need to be changed at least the mattress or upgrade for a king size. The rest is just perfect!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Nice clean hotel in a lovely setting. Bar prices were extortionate as was the breakfast price and to be honest the breakfast, although nice, wasn't worth half the price paid. Staff were very happy and helpful. I would stay there again purely for location purposes but next time I will be eating and drinking else where.