Ratings based on 522 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orpington

Short break

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Old and pleasant hotel, excellent staff very helpful. Room could have been a bit warmer as there was a draft through damaged seals around window. Hotel did supply electric heater without hesitation . We would certainly stay there again..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and shops

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We stayed 8.9.17 for an overnight stay. The hotel was pleasant enough however I feel for the price we paid the room it would have been a little better cared for as was in need of decorating and updating. I also feel the £5.00 charge to park the car onsite should be included in the price. Breakfast was lovely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located historic hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Grand old hotel, room was noisy and located near bottle banks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Good

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel.. The rubes could do with a bit of updating as the carpets were a bit old and some floorboards were loose also the windows where a bit old the view was not clear overall it was a very nice hotel to stay with
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Excellent location to the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2017
We picked this hotel for its location which didn't disappoint, 10 mins walk from Fistral Bay beach and 5 mins from the centre of Newquay town. The hotel and room decor was dated and tired, in need of a refresh, the 3 star rating was accurate. No aircon in the room which made the drunken noisy revellers walking home at night annoying when the windows needed to be left open. We didn't use the restaurant as we are vegan and there were no suitable options but the menu looked good for meat eaters. Parking cost £5 a night which I feel should be included in the hotel room rate. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Overall a great but basic base for Newquay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Ok so yes it needs updating to bring it into the modern world. But when u walk in the extravagance can be seen.....no doubt price will change when refurbed. That said the hotel was very clean, hotel staff friendly. We had no problems and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Perhaps more for kids to do on rainy day as only had pool table and table tennis. Would visit again tho
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Not very appealing from outside,

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Hot water you wait agesstaff look dis organised, funny smell entering building
3 out of 5
by Rui Eduardo

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
i arrived 10pm and checkout 9am, Impossible says anything
3 out of 5
by Michael

Faulty Towers in Cornwall.

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent staff doing their best to operate a very tired hotel.
4 out of 5
by David

Birthday week

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Stopped for a week in June, hotel fantastic position great service excellent rooms cleaned and serviced everyday, pool spa and sauna excellent definitely use it again