Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Stuart

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant stay, friendly staff comfortable but could do with a bit of updating
1 out of 5
by Anne

PROBABLY WORST PLACE I'VE STAYED IN

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
I got there and there a bunch a very loud drunken people swearing and made the first impression very uneasy. I was not expecting a communal bath - it mentioned on the site that it was shared, but i interpreted it as shared amounts us as guests not other guests. I had to go and ask for the wifi number as it was not provided in the room and was connected with great ease - UNTIL I got back to my room - it said limited service. I was not happy about that either as this was not mentioned on the website when I booked in. I found the staff a little abrupt and caught her talking about us when i walked back into the bar for further assistance. We did not bother eating as we were so disappointing, so I can't comment on the food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

central for our needs!

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Convenience of location.
Cons: Generally,a little TLC wouldn't go amiss
Location: Central and within easy reach of Clovelly / Boscastle / Bideford / Ilfracombe and other tourist resorts!
We enjoyed our stay and the hotel was ideal for our visit and suitably situated in Hartland. Staff were pleasant and very helpful. Food was good. Having stayed here before, disappointingly the hotel could do with a little TLC to bring it back to its former glory, otherwise we did enjoy our stay!!
5 out of 5
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was adequate
3 out of 5
by Ruth

Too dear too little

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
The pub was closed due to a town bereavement but thr pub was still not cleaned from the previous night and the breakfast was not up to the usual standards of establiments that charge almost half of what this place charges I would certainly not recommend it to my friends
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Was met by a very unfriendly landlady. Then told that i did not have breakfast although i had paid for it when I booked. The rooms were old and smelt of damp.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on the main road

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Landlady wasn't very hospitable at all very rude in fact . We are glad we never booked breakfast because the person that had it didn't look like £6.50 . Would not stay again
1 out of 5
by Geoffrey

Worst ever

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Mouldy musty / uncomfortable bed /shower needs deep clean,didn't use/tv didn't work /no wifi /electric heater in room no heating to bathroom /worst place ever stayed in will not use again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I've stayed in better for half the price.

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Warm welcome, lovely staff. Tired room in need of a little TLC. Rot in the wall panels in bathroom. Comfy bed but found two used tissues under pillow - eww. Nice to have a kettle in the room, shame there was no tea, coffee, cups, sugar etc. Could be a fantastic place but needs modernisation to bring it up to standard. I think the new owner is trying hard, but really it's a tired old locals pub with some rooms on top of it. Saying that would stay again as I think it will only get better with constructive feedback. Grub sounded nice but had previous booking with friends elsewhere.