Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Very nice hotel - but recommend checking where roo

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The staff were excellent - and the service was very good. The food (both in restaurant and bar) gets a 9/10, only let down by a starter.
Cons: Inform guests when booking of building works in progress and make guests aware of the location of the room.
Location: Barnstaple is a lovely large town with so much to see and the riverside walk is a gentle easy walk into the town (7 minutes).
Our room was in separate building across car park. Not a problem in itself - however other room(s) in this area were being renovated and the daytime noise was dreadful (one of our party's was recovering from illness and needed short rests before dinner) and the external door was banging constantly. not helped by a female member of staff walking along the corridor talking on the phone about how she was now in construction....
3 out of 5
by Annette

Don't stay in the annex.

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Don't stay in the annex, small beds, small bathrooms, anaglypta wallpaper everywhere. My room had bits of insulation tape stuck on various parts of the wallpaper, I think is was to indicate what needing patching up for the decoraters a bit like Scott and Amy Yancey on Flipping Vegas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Lovely refurbishment

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Decor and food.
Cons: The receptionist was not as personable as other members of staff that we encountered.
Location: Opp park, easy walk into town, theatre
Stayed at this hotel for one night for a family birthday get-together. We had stayed here before, about 10 years ago and the hotel has gone through a fantastic refurbishment programme, and was totally unrecognisable. Very modern decor in the public areas, good outside seating area overlooking park. We were originally assigned a room in an outside building (carriage house) this room had not been upgraded and had a hole in the ceiling which was plugged up with paper and stains on the carpet. When we pointed this out to the receptionist, she assigned us a refurbished room, which was lovely - king sized bed (super comfortable) and modern bathroom. We were very well looked after during our meal and the food was very tasty. The service at breakfast was not so good, very very slow (and the coffee machine broke, so coffee had to be brought from the other side of the hotel) however, when breakfast arrived, it was piping hot and had been cooked beaufifully. The hotel is ideally placed opposite the park (hence the name) and is easy walking distance into the town. We would definitely stay again, but only in a refurbished room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
The room and bathroom were a great size. My bed was comfortable. The view to the park and river were beautiful. However, i could hear the adjacent rooms flicking on their light switches & the doors slamming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
We were in Barnstaple for a wedding. We were given a room in the back building across parking lot from main building. Turned out to be an UNrenovated room. The bed was supposed to be a king & was two twin beds. It took the hotel nearly a day to convert to king. The bathroom was old & the toilet sluggish. There was also a construction/demo project going on in our building that was quite noisy throughout the day. Bottom line--confirm that you are going to get one of their newly reno'd rooms in main building.
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

Lovely

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Food was amazing ! Service was second to none ! The only thing would be to put a mirror near the dressing table as was awkward getting ready, but appart from that very good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Midlands

Nice hotel overlooking Rock Park

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The position for the town and surrounding attractions, parking is good, the view is probably really good if you have a park facing room.
Cons: The garden rooms.
Location: Shopping in Barnstaple, easy access to North Devon beaches.
The hotel has been renovated and most of it is very up to date and modern now. We were put into a garden room which was very small and had sloping ceilings. You had to be a contortionist in the shower if you are over about 5ft 4ins. There are still old brass door handles on the cupboard and bathroom door and the bathroom still has a 1970's avocado suite. It's as if it hadn't been finished so that may be the case.
4 out of 5
by Doz from Henley-on-thames

half way house

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
good... but get the breakfast order right
5 out of 5
by R

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Steph

One night only

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel, shame it was only for one night.