Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amersham, Bucks.

Booked for two nights but only stayed for one!

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The room I was shown to by a member of staff on my arrival in the afternoon was situated almost above the beer cellar and the noise from the cooling fan was quite intrusive. I was told that the fan was always turned off at midnight when the bar closed but as I was going to a family birthday celebration and would not be returning until late it I thought it not to be a problem. I returned around midnight and people were still there drinking in the bar so I had a beer and went to bed. I awoke around 2.30 to find that the fan was still running and in the quietness of the night it was so unbearably loud that I found it impossible to go back to sleep. The hotel was in darkness and I could find no way of contacting staff to get the fan turned off. In the morning I complained to the staff and was told that they had forgotten to turn it off. I decided not stay for the second night that I had booked but I still had to pay for the my sleepless one!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, I am very sorry to read this especially after our focused attention to you. We waived your charge for the second night. I am sorry that you felt so disturbed that you felt the need to post this months later. We did everything we could to appease you. There are people who are not disturbed and hear nothing. I am sorry for your experience. I offered to accommodate you for free the second night in a different room. What a shame. Kind regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4 nights stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Great views of Devon. Owner donated some of cost of stay to local charity which we were raising by funds for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired but friendly

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
We booked a room for three and a dog and were given the family bedroom which slept 5. We were met by the friendly Martin who gave us our key and directions to the room. The room was clean and tidy, however we stayed two days and the 'refreshing' of the bedroom consisted of a cup being washed and tidied back in place. The bed hadn't been made and the toiletries weren't replenished, you could feel the springs in the mattress on the double bed and the pillows were lumpy however we had no trouble in sleeping. The gym wasn't enquired about and wasn't volunteered to be shown around. Overall the inn looked tired however ever the staff were excellent and would help in any way possible
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness
We fortunately had only booked one night here. My first impression when we walked in was the smell. Our room also smelled. It was dirty with damp on the walls . The furniture was old and badly marked. The white bedding had either not been ironed or someone had already slept in them. I had only read a few reviews which had been good but I have now read them all and many are of the same opinion as me. We did not eat here so cannot comment on the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Libby. Unfortunately I have been away during your stay. Did you raise these issues with the staff during your stay or did you elect to post pictures without giving them a chance to remedy? I suspect it was the latter. There is a picture that appears to have been behind the radiator? I will refer your comments to housekeeping. I am sorry you felt the need to respond in the manner you have. These are small issues that can be very quickly rectified. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Reasonable hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Fairly nice pub/hotel. Lovely breakfast. Could do with a bit of modernising/decorating and definitely need new mattresses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your views. A very recent AA Inspection where the Inspector stayed in one of the rooms on a surprise visit gave us a 3 Star Rating (Now since 2013.) We will never modernise a 16c original coaching Inn, rather we nurture it. Over 14 years we have spent well over 650K on the ancient building. Eye watering, do you not think? We will never be a modern box of a Travel Lodge or Premier Inn. We aim to preserve our cherished heritage with as much pride as we can. We do not have corporate funding. Would be rather nice, modern chains can afford to add a bit of MDF. One can be forgiving of the character flaws of this beautiful old Inn. Mattresses are routinely replaced and what suits one subjectively may not suit another. We apply a happy medium. I am pleased you liked our food. Best wishes and happy travels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Room 8 did not get wifi, but it worked well in the lounge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEST INN WEST COUNTRY

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
A most enjoyable stay, thank you Laura and i would recommend as a must visit location for all
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Very much appreciated. Kind regards, Laura and the West Country team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value lovely place

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Brilliant Laura was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.Remote location but lovely and peaceful.Great food and very reasonably priced.Will definitely go back asap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We gratefully appreciate your review. Kind regards, Laura and the Team at The West Country Inn
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels