Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
. Beautiful location. Great stuff. Wonderful property Great breakfast. Had a problem with Wi-Fi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Small, friendly country house in beautiful setting

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: We loved the relaxed and friendly atmosphere, just what we wanted!
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Lots to do in North Devon, we could have filled 2 weeks! We went to Clovelly, Hartland Abbey and Quay, Lynton & Lynmouth, and walked the Coast Path.
We were made welcome by our hosts John and Ylona from the moment we arrived. The hotel is in a lovely setting, with its own gardens, and views over the river estuary. It is possible to walk along the Coast Path, towards either Bideford or Appledore, starting from a gate at the bottom of the garden. It didn't take long for the place to feel like home. We hadn't realised when making the booking that the hotel has no restaurant for an evening meal, but we needn't have worried, there were lots of places to eat within 5-10 minutes' drive. We liked the Royal Plaice in Appledore, the Taj Mahal in Bideford, and the Pig on the Hill in Westward Ho!, and the hotel provides an extensive list of places to suit all tastes, based on guests' feedback. We usually finished the evening back in the hotel bar, sharing a relaxing drink and chatting with our hosts and our fellow guests. Next morning, we would get up to an excellent breakfast. Our room was very quiet, comfortable and well-equipped, with a good-sized bath and shower.
5 out of 5
by Andrea

Fantastic hotel in spectacular setting.

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous stay. Immaculate accommodation. Beautiful position. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. We loved the garden and the view of the river from the hotel. Breakfast was very good. Nothing to fault. Very relaxing and will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wokingham

A really good hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The location, the staff, the rooms, everything
Cons: Not a lot
Location: Ideal for exploring north devon and the north devon coast
The hotel is really excellent, easy to get to, set in beautiful grounds and the location is stunning. The service is fantastic from the moment you arrive until you check and out and puts larger hotels to shame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely gem of a hotel !

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Ilona and John are fantastic hosts and go out of their way to make your stay just top notch. We will definitely stay with them again. The view from our room was absolutely lovely as tho photo of sunrise over the Torridge shows. Many thanks, Karen and Bill Lang.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful outlook over River Torridge

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Unfortunately the weather was extremely hot (30C plus) so it was impossible to be comfortable. Room fans might have helped in the absence of air con.
Location: RHS Rosemoor is nearby at Torrington, as is Dartington glass. Beaches at Westward Ho! and Instow are excellent. Clovelly is an interesting old village
Beautiful location and hotel for couples. Great place for a 'long weekend'. As well as outlook, gardens are lovely and area offers plenty of interest.
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful setting for stay! The house has lovely views in nice gardens. No kids and plenty of parking. Very friendly staff and a very good breakfast. No complaints from our stay. Thanks for a great service 5+++
5 out of 5
by ANTHONY

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Splendid location, excellent hosts and breakfasts. Could not fault anything
5 out of 5
by Tracey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by John

A gorgeous place to stay.

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
This was a lovely and special place to stay. The owners and staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Ilona who gave our dog a sausage every morning and a surprise treat for us on our anniversary. Thanks also to John who looked after us in the bar until late every night. They really could not have made us and our dog feel more welcome. The room was fabulous too. We really can't praise it too highly.