Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh

Basic hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
I needed a place to stay in the area while visiting my Dad. I was disappointed to find that the carpet did not look clean and had many large spots. The cover on the light fixture in the bathroom was broken and the furniture was dinged up. I was glad that I only needed a place to sleep and was not spending much time there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay. We apologize for not living up to your expectations, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide specifics about the problems that inconvenienced you. Your valuable feedback will be shared with our team to prevent such mistakes going forward. We hope you will give us another opportunity to prove we can do better on your next trip to this area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mass

Great place for price. large room with kitchen.

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Not happy about Friday night band under our room. Not pleasant. Quiet place if not for that. Will speak to someone in am. Middle of night now here since couldn't sleep with noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. It’s nice to know you found us to be a good value and that you liked your spacious room as well as our fully-equipped kitchen. That being said, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to noise issue. We want you to have a pleasant stay, so please let us know at the front desk if we can change your room and make your visit better. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Good hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Everything was ok. Room is big, confortable bed, clean and good location. Recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Mattos, thank you for staying at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to read you liked your well-appointed room and our convenient location. We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Lauderdale, FL

Posted Oct 28, 2017
It was a good experience. The room was clean they could upgrade to HD TVs but all in all my stay was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Lynn, thank you for being our guest. We are glad to know you had a good time here and were satisfied with all the aspects we offer. We also appreciate your observation and have taken a note of the same. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to your return visit soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
We stayed for 5 days and didn’t have our room cleaned once. Asked for extra pillows and were told that wasn’t an option. The phone in our room didn’t work, advised the front desk, they said they would fix it but never came. The pool was so dirty, we went to swim once and decided not to. Checked daily and was never cleaned. We wouldn’t return or recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Amber, thank you for your review of your stay. We apologize for not living up to your expectations, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide specifics about the problems that inconvenienced you. Your valuable feedback will be shared with our team to prevent such mistakes going forward. We hope you will give us another opportunity to prove we can do better on your next trip to this area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort lauderdale

Convience after hurricane

Posted Oct 9, 2017
My famil didn’t have power for a while after hurricane Irma and the hotel was confortable for my family and close to many fun things to do as well as for me working it’s was less than 5 min from my job house keeping could have been a little more involved with trash in the room but over all it was nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We are glad you stayed with us. It’s a pleasure knowing you loved our property and our location being convenient for your needs. We value your observation in regard to the housekeeping service and have taken a note of it. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A temporary fix

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Good hotel. It’ll get the job done for a couple days if you need a cheap place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased you were satisfied with your stay and that you also liked the good value we offer. We hope you will come and see us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Best stay in 3 weeks and i have been to 20 hotels

Posted Sep 28, 2017
All fully renovated hotel huge.lobby super friendly staff. Breakfast isnt good but you can cook everything so its not necessary. Highly recommended because the place is like new
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay at Extended Stay America. We appreciate you letting fellow travelers know how much you enjoyed your time here. Thanks so much for mentioning our newly remodeled facilities. It's wonderful to know our guests are loving our new look! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you again very soon! Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

One Night Stay

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Cons: Cleanliness and maintenance
Location: The best part about my trip was finding a new restaurant called Burger Freak. Excellent burger and fries!
I booked the hotel because our house was out of power due to Hurricane Irma and there was only 2% of the hotels left in a 50 miles radius. Upon arrival, I immediately noticed the amount of people suspiciously loitering around the property. 3 days post storm the exterior was still littered with garbage and tress. While checking in, the staff was nice but very lackadaisical. Entering the room I was overcome with a stale fast food smell. The room was outdated and lacked maintenance. I was near the door on the first floor and could clearly hear people talking in the hallways and the door slamming with every entry. I sat on the bed on top of the blankets and was itchy within a few minutes. I watched tv for and hour or two when I got the message that my power was restored. The room was so gross that it wasn't even worth staying the night. I left and took the rate I paid as a loss. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone, even in the most dire of circumstances. I have traveled across the country and this is by far one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
We are extremely sorry you encountered so many difficulties during your stay with us. This is not the type of review we are accustomed to receiving, and it is very disappointing to read. Be assured your concerns have been shared with the responsible teams to take necessary steps immediately. We regret the inconvenience caused, and please consider coming back so we can make you next trip pleasant in every respect. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

RUN !!!!!!!!!!! AS FAST AS YOU CAN

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I spent about 3 minutes in the room before going down to the front desk and asking for a refund. The room was HORRENDOUS and smelled like urine. I pulled the comforter and sheets down to check for bed bugs and found the following: blood on the pillowcase (yes blood......or feces, not sure which is worse), a large roach (alive) and a dirty plastic knife. I didn't even bother checking the rest of the room. Even if there wasn't a roach or dirty utensil in the sheets, the blood did it for me. That is just incomprehensible to me. I doubt the sheets had even been changed. I left the hotel and dumped a bottle of sanitizer on my hands and arms, I was so disgusted. The only GOOD thing I can say about the room was that there was no sign of bed bugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post your review. On behalf of our entire staff, we sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced. We have procedures in place so that this does not happen, so we will investigate where we fell short. We only wish that we could have addressed these issues while you were here so that you didn't leave the hotel with a negative impression. We assure you that what you experienced is not the norm and ask that you give us another try whenever you return to the area. We look forward to having you visit again so that we can provide you with a better stay. Sincerely, General Manager