Ratings based on 1,248 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convient and affordable

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Lots of noise from inside and outside the building. Liquor bottles we left in the parking lot. Rooms we definitely dated but it was obvious they made an attempt to update.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Accommodations for a business trip

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: See notes above
The room was a big disappointment. Upon check in I realized that all the rooms were accessible from the outside and that the only way to reach the 2nd floor was with stairs. I told the desk I would not be able to carry my bag up stairs and no alternatives were given. Just a comment that this is LaQuinta. I brought tea bags with me and used the coffee pot. There were black dirt specs that came out of the coffee maker and no amount of running water through there cleaned it out. I finally would run the water and transfer the hot water from one cup to another to remove the sediment from my drink. The carpets were dirty and the furniture was damaged. Our room was not cleaned daily either. I will not be staying at this or any other LaQuinta facility again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Pay attention to detail

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: comfortable for one night stay
Cons: If staying for an extended period of time some details need to be changed. Noisy fan, grill cover for AC fan needs mor regular cleaning.
Hotel is generally good. Lots of parking. Staff is helpful. The door of our room on the second floor (241) is not fitted properly and thus bugs and roaches can easily get into the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Janae M., Hotel Management
Garry, Thank you for letting us know how your stay went. We are currently in the process of refitting the doors and putting new weather stripping around the doors to ensure they close properly to reduce bugs and air escaping. We are happy you were able to have a clean and comfortable stay while you were with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort lauderdale, fl

Decent place

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Value for money is ok, but the property needs major renovation. I encountered few roaches and bed bugs. The cleaning service is ok except I had an issue with some type of debris in shower everyday. They definitely need to update the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Janae M., Hotel Management
Mohamad, we apologize about our older building, as we have not received a renovation yet. We are hoping to be put on this list as soon as possible to give the hotel an updated look and correct any issues that may occur. We hope you may come back to visit if you travel this way again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2017
The check in was very comfortable and the room was in very good condition. Excellent alternative to stay with the dogs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Janae M., Hotel Management
We are very happy to hear you had an excellent stay with us during your travels. We hope to see you and your dog again in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

OKay but not very nice

Posted Dec 17, 2017
I wasn't expecting a five star but this hotel is not great. The sink is so low it made for a kid. The room smelled a bit and the hotel itself was noisy. It's like a motor inn and our room was in the back but we heard all kinds of arguing and yelling from a woman and her significant other. Had we only stayed one night. Best to pick another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Janae M., Hotel Management
Rose, we are very sorry to hear you didn't have the best experience with us. Unfortunately other guests in the hotel think they are the only ones here, and are inconsiderate of other people. I will review your comments with our staff to make sure everyone has a perfect stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nassau, Bahamas

Stay away

Posted Dec 13, 2017
The hotel is located in an unsavory neighborhood at night. I was only aware of that when the hotel refused to take cash. The rooms have an outside entrance. There’s no elevators. The room was supposed to non smoking but it was filled with smoke. The staff was rude and unpleasant. I don’t want to ever stay in another La Quinta brand hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Janae M., Hotel Management
Lashanta, thank you so much for leaving a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear we dropped the ball on your expectations and your stay. I will share your comments with my team to ensure we are able to correct some of these matters to ensure it doesn't happen again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shady and smelled like smoke

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Booked the room online. Showed up that evening and they said they only have smoking rooms. It was disgusting. Our neighbors were up all night yelling. The breakfast was terrible. Even the coffee was bad. Do yourself a favor and do not book here
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Janae M., Hotel Management
We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. We strive to give each guest a clean and comfortable stay and it seems we dropped the ball for you. We did get a new coffee machine with different coffee all across our brand. We hope you find a LaQuinta in your travels that better fits your needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Check in was rather smooth, overall its good. Room didn’t have refrigerator, disappointed, staffs were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Janae M., Hotel Management
We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay and our staff was here to help you with any needs! We apologize for the lack of refrigerators in the rooms, we do have them in our king rooms for extra cost than our standard rooms. We hope to see you again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location close to shops & resturants

Posted Nov 17, 2017
The room was clean but a bit dated & had the room had a musty scent. The shower was great & the bed very comfortable. The staff was great at the front desk. Good stay, great location, alot of shops & restaurants in the area. I'd recommend to friends only for a short stay nothing over 3 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Janae M., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay went. We are happy that we are in the perfect location for all your travel needs. I'll share your comments with our staff to improve the experience for all. See you soon!