Ratings based on 1,931 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brampton ON

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The staff and the entrance were good. The location was good.
Cons: Please pay more attention to cleanliness
Location: Good location
While the staff was nice, the room smell bad (in the bathroom area). Air condition in the hallway were dripping so the place was wet and look disgusting....
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Marc. Front Desk manager , Hotel Management
We would first like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are truly disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel, it is not in our habits, nor in our wishes to provide an experience as you describe it to our guests. We are sorry to read that your room and our establishment did not meet your expectations. We have very high standards of cleanliness and the comfort and satisfaction of our guests are truly important for us, so we duly take note of your comments and will address the issues immediately. We are sorry for any inconvenience encountered during your stay and we hope that you can give our establishment a second chance, we would like to show you the real Universal Palms experience, one that is really appreciated by our visitors.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great pics but not the same as pics

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The pics are great from the website. But does not reflect the actual place. It's needs to be updated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has Potential

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The staff is very polite and helpful
Cons: Cleanness
The hotel management needs to put more attention in the staff that cleans the rooms, the noises of the air conditioning and the smoking guests that smoke in the hallways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Marc. Front Desk manager, Hotel Management
We would first like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are truly disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel, it is not in our habits, nor in our wishes to provide an experience as you describe it to our guests. We are sorry to read that your room and our establishment did not meet your expectations. We have very high standards of cleanliness and the comfort and satisfaction of our guests are truly important for us, so we duly take note of your comments and will address the issues immediately. We are sorry for any inconvenience encountered during your stay and we hope that you can give our establishment a second chance, we would like to show you the real Universal Palms experience, one that is really appreciated by our visitors. . Hoping to see you back for your next trip to Fort Lauderdale,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Tha staff and all very very nice nice, the only thing so they not have any food
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Marc. Front Desk manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor, it is always a pleasure to know you enjoyed your experience with us. Our employees are always there to improve your stay, we are glad to know they fulfilled your needs. Your good words will be transmitted to the designed person! Hoping to see you soon, thank you and have a great day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

REQUIRED MAINTENANCE

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Price. Location. Grounds. Free Parking. Proximity to the highway. Staff.
Cons: Scheduled maintenance location not being next to an occupying room and prior completion of maintenance prior to room occupation. Provide bath soap.
Location: Location to food places and proximity to the highway is great.
I visit Florida every 2 years and this was my 3rd stay in the past 6 years. Usually, I stay in their Deluxe 2 Room Suite Courtyard - Pool View, but this time I booked their Traditional Courtyard - Pool View. There were a few required maintenance issues that remained unresolved during my stay. (1) The shower head backing had detached from the wall. (2) The telephone did not work. (3) Only one ice machine was in service on the 1st floor and I was on the 5th floor. Furthermore, there was an issue with being supplied with a face towel and bath mat towel each day of my stay. Next, they don't provide bath bar soap and the shampoo and conditioners dispensers in the shower don't work that well. Lastly, maintenance had been scheduled for the room right next to mine so around 8:50 a.m. for 3 days straight I was awakened to hammering, drilling, salsa music and singing. My favorite amenity of this hotel is their 8ft deep swimming pool, unfortunately, my schedule did not allow me time to indulge on this trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Marc. Front Desk manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. We do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay The hotel is actually under renovation, that might cause some inconvenience as our current priority is to work on the renovation of the rooms We are disappointed to see that the room we assigned you did not please you. Let us assure you the type of room you describe is not what we offer usually to our customers. We take your comments very seriously as they help us know what we do wrong and what we could improve. We are sorry for the inconveniences you lived while you were staying at our hotel. next time ask for me at the front desk i will do my best to accommodate you in order not to leave you with a negative experience
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago IL

Pool was nice easy access from the room.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Wifi sucked !! Booked my room for 5 and when I called for towels they brought a set of 2 I called again for more towels for the other people that was in the room they had an attitude never brought more. Stayed 7 days they didn't change the sheets or fix the beds the following day I had to call a lot to get the room cleaned and sheets changed. Their was sand in my sheets still when we returned but the bed was made what sense does that make ? Won't return their.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Marc. Front Desk manager, Hotel Management
This is certainly not the kind of review we want for our hotel, that' s why we are taking them very seriously and i agree with you that what you experienced is not acceptable. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, I've already gave directions to the housekeeper manager to take care of the situation and to avoid any further issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Great location.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Was perfect for what we needed. A reasonably price hotel that was clean and comfortable. Felt safe there. Was a nice room. No real problems other than someone playing obscene music at the pool. The staff was quick to correct the situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Marc. Front Desk manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. See you again soon!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Cheap hotel with major issues

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Found 2 Baby roaches hanging out in the room, there is train track and small airport closeby next to the hotel so you will hear a LOT of noise especially with the train all day and NIGHT long. So unless you are not a light sleeper this place would be an issue for you. Other than these issues the property is pretty decent. And since the rates are relatively cheap, the clientele it attracts is also accordingly the same.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Marc. Front Desk manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback Some of our rooms are located near the road track and we can’t definitely change this situation. Our front desk team is available 24 hours a day to reaccommodate you if you need it. regarding the roaches we are constantly treating the rooms , and i feel terribly sorry about this situation We really hope that you that you will appreciate your stay on your next visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Terrible don't go

Posted Jul 17, 2017
My experience at this hotel was completely a hotel mess. The housekeeper didn't clean our room like she was supposed to. Everyday an night the train goes by and honks the horn which makes it hard to go to sleep. I could tell that they are still trying to make that hotel better but it's like a ghetto motel 6. Never go there again. How they get you is how they did the website cause when you go there it doesn't look nothing like how it is in person. Was very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Marc. Front Desk manager, Hotel Management
We do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. we are constantly working to improve our customer experience and we are working hard to improve our quality , we sincerely hope that you will see the change if we have the privilege to welcome you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Off-season it becomes a motel experience

Posted Jul 15, 2017
How this hotel got 3 stars is beyond me!!! First, $2 a night mandatory safe charge added on check in. Who cares, right? Just add it in to the price!!! No smoking signs everywhere, yet people smoking everywhere. Property strewn with cigarette butts and stinky. Manager says no smoking just in the rooms. I left 5 bucks for housekeeping. She made bed, took money, and left. Maybe if I left 10 she would have replenished coffee supplies? Now the most memorable part of the trip is at 4am some crazy yelling at the top of his lungs outside my room in the covered walkway "Where the elevator at?" I recognized the voice as that of a man that I met early on the elevator who reminded me of Grady from Sanford and Son. As he was standing in front of the floor selection panel, I asked "Five, please," to which he replied, "Five what?" I reached in front of him and pressed the 5th floor selection button, to which he replied "Oh, I thought you was talking about something else." Additionally, the mattress squeaks louder than an old Chevy truck on a dirt road. Leslie, the hotel looks nothing like the pictures and the description. On checkout, the gentlemen identifying himself as the desk manager asked me if everything was OK. I told him I did not know how this hotel rated three stars, but it is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. I told him about the gentleman in the walkway at four in the morning, and the only thing the manager offered me was an explanation that in the off-season rates
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Marc. Front Desk manager, Hotel Management
This is certainly not the kind of review we want for our hotel, that' s why we are taking them very seriously and i agree with you that what you experienced is not acceptable. Even it s difficult to control the "behaviour"of our guest, we will work on providing another customer experience.