Ratings based on 480 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kamloops BC

Awesome hotel right on the beach!

Posted Dec 11, 2017
We have never stayed at the Friendly but will be booking there again for next years trip! The room was clean, large for two, the bathroom was a little small but the shower was great! The maid service was excellent. The food was plenty and always had a choice of restaurants! We loved the free shows every night and the pools were awesome. The hotel was on the bus route and was easy to get around! Enjoyed every day there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins, CO

Terrific staff and drinks

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Incredible staff
Cons: The hotel does need some work, but we did see some construction in progress, so hotel is working on making improvements.
Location: Great location close to airport and downtown area. Many fun excursions available in the area!
All staff were outstanding! We tried numerous drinks, had no complaints about any of them. Bartenders are very generous with the alcohol and staff are happy to make sure you are well taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Perfect vacation

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: I loved the beautiful beach and pools, good and varied food, shows, and especially the amazing friendly staff, who tried to make everyone feel special
Cons: Bathrooms too old
2 words summarize it: beautiful and friendly. The view was amazing, everywhere I looked. I enjoyed the private beach, with soft sand and gentle waves. The pools and jacuzzis were great. It was great not to have to wake up early to catch a chaise-langue, because hotel staff would just bring one, and an umbrella, wherever you choose. Drinks on the beach... even food, brought by the friendly staff... I felt like royalty every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay!

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Very pleased with our stay at this hotel! The staff very able to provide everything we requested.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

CRAMPED PROPERTY LACKED FEEL OF A TROPICAL RESORT

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Attentive friendly staff. Good food for all inclusive. Nightly entertainment. Sports gear- kayaking paddle boarding, snorkeling.
Cons: White paint splattered on floors, plants, windows, picture frames- everywhere! Booming music at main pool for locals. Concierge spoke no English.
Location: Perfect location just minutes from Malecon and Romantic Zone.
Overall feel lacked the look and experience of a tropical resort. The narrow cramped property contributed to this as did the spotty management that handled food and staff very well while failing to attend to details such as a sliding door that would not lock, electric outlets that did not work, white paint splattered everywhere throughout the hotel and a concierge who did not speak English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunriver, oregon

Terrific vacation

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: Little upgrading on the room decor, aliterate too white for my taste but large and comfortable beds
Location: On the beach, short bus ride to Malincon and all the downtown area
This is overall the best allinclusive in Puerto Vallarta, the food is fabulous and the service exceptional, the staff is Friendly and will respond to all your questions always there to help make your stay pleasant, great idea to have a Just Adult Pool, spent most of our time there. Will be back next year for sure. Most of the people we met were return customers and had nothing but good experiences to share about the hotel and staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Staff mostly friendly, Some of the older waiters in the restaurant mostly looking for tips. Loved the coffee bar, Brenda was very friendly and hard working, even though 8 months pregnant. Gus the outside manager was also hard working, once worked from 7:00 am one day until 1:00 am the next day with a wedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel with a private beach.

Posted Dec 1, 2017
We had an amazing time. There were music and dancing every night. The hotel had a private beach. The staff was very attentive and would take us drinks everywhere: the pools, the lounge, the beach. All the staff spoke english. I will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly lives up to its NAME!!

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Staff and accommodations were of high quality!! The food was of good quality and nice variety. I was very happy with everything!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value & Location

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Excellent choice for an all inclusive resort in a more central location. I like that this resort is located in the North Hotel zone; very easy to catch buses downtown and within walking distance of the marine terminal for boating trips. The hotel has built a 2nd adults only pool by the beach, and the swimming pools remain open until 9 p.m., which are better hours than what some other resorts have. The hotel also surprised me by actually having its coffee bar fully staffed; during my previous visit a couple of years ago you could get a self-service cup of black coffee there but no one was operating the espresso machine -- this time you get a latte, mocha, machiatto, or whatever you'd like all morning or afternoon. The food is good; true, not gourmet, but for what you pay to stay -- the fact that the food is included and good (if not gourmet) makes it an excellent vacation value. The hotel offered virtually anything that you could want for breakfast. The hotel also had live music on the beach several evenings during my week's stay. I was concerned that my hotel room had a door to an adjoining room, thinking that it might be noisy --- but I didn't have any rowdy neighbors, so it was fine. It may have been different depending on who checked into the adjoining room. When you check in, ask if a room without any adjoining door is available - just as a precaution.