Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

A decent facility considering the price. On beach!

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Older clientele made for a quiet stay, apart from some inconsiderate door slamming. Good location, not overly large and directly on the beach Friendly
Cons: Bathroom in our king rm. in dire need of a redo. From floor to the dripping sink & bath/shower. Needs low flow shower head & low consumption toilet.
Location: We found the location to be good. 15 min. walk to the Cruise terminal, 20 min. to Walmart and 30 min. to the Malecon. Also right on the beach.
The staff are very friendly and neither they or the facility make it blatantly obvious that tips are expected despite the fact their website states that tips are included in their package price. Personally I find this encourages me to tip more so than if the tip jar is constantly in your face. The food is quite good although the selection is somewhat limited and repetitious. Too many cream soups, ie. cream corn, cream cauliflower, cream broccoli, cream potato etc.. The cream soups were decent, however, their broth style oriental and lentil/vegetable soups were absolutely delicious. They should reduce the cream soups and expand on the variety of broth style soups. Housekeeping staff are very good but the bathroom floors make it difficult for them to be cleaned properly. We had a need for maintenance during our stay and found them to be prompt and efficient. Although one doesn't go to PV to watch TV it was a pleasant surprise to find we had CNN (channel 18) and 3 more English channels (CBS, NBC and ABC channels 39, 40 & 41). However, on day 11 of our 14 day stay channels 39, 40 & 41 went black. We immediately, and every day thereafter, made them aware of this issue. We were told the tech. from the cable co. would reboot the system the next morning but were without those channels for the remaining 3 day. From a message that came up prior to these channels going black I'm of the impression that this was a none payment issue on the part of the hotel. IMPACTS OUR FUTURE STAYS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were very impressed with the staff & Location

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Congrats on your award for cleanest beach. The ceremony was very nice and we watched from the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old but nice hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, nightly entertainment visible from room balcony, a variety of venues including central atrium, coffee bar, 3 buffets, 3 pools, beach.
Cons: More English TV channels including Fox News. Steak at Frida's. Complete noisy renovations ASAP.
Location: We enjoyed the Grayline old city tour with Tequila tasting and dinner out on a hillside veranda, and a boat tour to Las Caletas.
Staff is indeed friendly. Food was rather average, and steak at Frida's was very fatty. TV had minimum channels, especially in English (except for soccer/football), with only one cable news channel (CNN; no Fox). Rooms, roof and restrooms were being repaired/renovated. Nightly entertainment visible from room balcony was nice. Grayline tour was good, but large buses could barely access hotel entrance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Not good

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Food was very disappointing! Hotel was very outdated and bathrooms were very dirty. At times we did not have running water. When we checked out no one asked how our stay was. Not planning on returning, very dissapointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kamloops BC

Awesome hotel right on the beach!

Posted Dec 11, 2017
We have never stayed at the Friendly but will be booking there again for next years trip! The room was clean, large for two, the bathroom was a little small but the shower was great! The maid service was excellent. The food was plenty and always had a choice of restaurants! We loved the free shows every night and the pools were awesome. The hotel was on the bus route and was easy to get around! Enjoyed every day there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins, CO

Terrific staff and drinks

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Incredible staff
Cons: The hotel does need some work, but we did see some construction in progress, so hotel is working on making improvements.
Location: Great location close to airport and downtown area. Many fun excursions available in the area!
All staff were outstanding! We tried numerous drinks, had no complaints about any of them. Bartenders are very generous with the alcohol and staff are happy to make sure you are well taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Best Vacation Ever

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Enforce the no smoking policy in the hotel and especially on the beach. That ruined the beach experience as smoke was everywhere a lot of the time.
Location: Lots to do nearby. Taxis are cheap, buses are cheaper.
Everything was just easy. The staff were very friendly and knew exactly what you needed to feel comfortable and safe. Food was great and available all the time. Many shopping areas are available close by. Lots to do. Trips to the mountains and down town, fishing, snorkeling, parasailing, horse back riding on the beach. Free shows, water sports and activities. The room and view were fantastic. We are searching to go again next month. For sure again next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Perfect vacation

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: I loved the beautiful beach and pools, good and varied food, shows, and especially the amazing friendly staff, who tried to make everyone feel special
Cons: Bathrooms too old
2 words summarize it: beautiful and friendly. The view was amazing, everywhere I looked. I enjoyed the private beach, with soft sand and gentle waves. The pools and jacuzzis were great. It was great not to have to wake up early to catch a chaise-langue, because hotel staff would just bring one, and an umbrella, wherever you choose. Drinks on the beach... even food, brought by the friendly staff... I felt like royalty every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay!

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Very pleased with our stay at this hotel! The staff very able to provide everything we requested.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

CRAMPED PROPERTY LACKED FEEL OF A TROPICAL RESORT

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Attentive friendly staff. Good food for all inclusive. Nightly entertainment. Sports gear- kayaking paddle boarding, snorkeling.
Cons: White paint splattered on floors, plants, windows, picture frames- everywhere! Booming music at main pool for locals. Concierge spoke no English.
Location: Perfect location just minutes from Malecon and Romantic Zone.
Overall feel lacked the look and experience of a tropical resort. The narrow cramped property contributed to this as did the spotty management that handled food and staff very well while failing to attend to details such as a sliding door that would not lock, electric outlets that did not work, white paint splattered everywhere throughout the hotel and a concierge who did not speak English.