Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Moe

Good and so so

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
This is a good hotel if your kids know how to swim. Lots of nice restaurants. Kids club is a shame for such a big resort. And it's not free. $12 US an hour per child or $45 all day. Still, its a very small room. Very disappointing. I don't think that overall it's a kids friendly hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017
Dear Guest We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best of both worlds

Posted Mar 14, 2017
If you like the beach grab a chair at the pool by the beach. If you need peace and quiet get a chair at the other pool. Both are beautiful. Nice to have a choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice older hotel, close to the beach

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The option of the 2 different pool areas as well as the option to grill.
Cons: The rooms we stayed in the past 3 years could be updated with newer televisions and refrigerators.
Location: We enjoyed the new food truck park across the street with the live band.
We have been coming to this hotel for several years now. Although this is an older hotel it is kept up quite nicely. The rooms are just okay. We really like the new addition of the sports bar! The staff is EXCELLENT! Easy check in and easy check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Do NOT book this hotel!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: only good thing was it was close to downtown and beach but on a very busy main street so loud
Cons: Everything could be improved... just a horrible experience.
Where to start. We arrived excited about our stay which quickly turned to disappointment and anger. The check in staff did not act like they had any sense of urgency to get people checked in. We waited a long time to get served. When we got to the front desk finally, THEY HAD NO ROOM FOR US. We had booked and paid for our room 2 months prior through Expedia and all they said to us was "this is just how it goes - Expedia doesn't know what availability we have when you book"!!! WHAT?!? They didn't care and basically shrugged their shoulders. I was not standing for it and asked to speak to Management. Management was nowhere to be found - shocking. I refused to budge until we spoke to someone else. Finally they got someone on the phone and they told them to get us a room. They found one suddenly?? When they took us to it as soon as the door opened it stunk of mold!!! It was terrible. The beds were hard and had springs poking up. I just wanted to cry at that point. He suggested we talk to them about sending us to Neuvo Vallarta instead to their more upscale resort. We had no idea what that meant or how far away it was. We went back to the front desk and I said there was no way we were staying in that room. There were now 3 couples at the desk without rooms! At the end we all got sent to another resort which was very far from downtown which changed our whole trip. I will NEVER book with the Villa Del Mar group again!!! Booker beware....
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Shelley We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bc

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Close to everything
Cons: Internet cost is prohibitive 100:00 US for 14 days, most hotels are free
Great except for internet, cost way out of line Lots to do, close to downtown price is extra good for what you get
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Don Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago Area

You cannot ask for more for the money!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The location and the price.
Cons: Better TV reception and include internet.
Location: Next to the hotel is a new Mall, very beautiful. Across the street is an outdoor food court as well as 4 new restaurants. Town and Marina easy by bus
It is geared for older people, has pool, beach, tennis court, restaurant and exercise room, all within easy walking at the resort. Our room had very poor TV reception and we wish Internet were included in the price. All in all, a very convenient place and very nice for the money paid. We take local bus into town as well as to the Marina for dinners at night. Puerto Vallarta has many good restaurants and has improved immensely in the last 5 years. We have been going off and on for the last 20 years and hope to do so again next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Johanna Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Very nice accommodation. Appeared that all guests were enjoying the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by rcobos, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review. Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
I would have given this place a better rating but the hassle that you receive when you arrive regarding time share purchasing is almost enough to make you want to leave and go somewhere else...we arrived in the morning and had to wait until 3 to check in...no problem at all but we were harassed, lied to and made wait a very long time before we were actual given our room. We said no to the time share tour and because of that we were given the worst room in the resort...but once we complained we were upgraded for a fee...certainly puts a sour taste in your mouth...which is really too bad because the villa del mar is quite lovely, pool is beautiful but busy,sometimes hard to get chairs.. grounds are manicured and resort is very clean..mostly 55 plus but at the Villa Del Palmar there is families with children. Beach is lovely and restaurants are great and lots of choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
As RDM of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, I really appreciate your comments as they assist us in providing the high level of service our guests have come to expect. Be sure that every comment is reviewed and measures are being taken to correct any issues. All Comments are being revised in our Guest Satisfaction Weekly meeting and forward to the involved department (Time share in this case) I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel easy access to many emmenities

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Good would stay again if wifi provided free of chatg
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
As RDM of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, I really appreciate your comments as they assist us in providing the high level of service our guests have come to expect. We will pass your comment to the owners for review. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent staff

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: The seafood restaurant in the neighboring facility, Villa del Palmar, was poor value for the $. Cafe Chapultepec in Los Tules excellent for food/view
Location: The Estuary Salado is a nature preserve maintained by the PV It costs $15 for a tour with a biologist. GREAT! Opposite the Naval hospital.
The staff was excellent in the deli, cleaning (Veronica), and the laundry. We enjoyed the pool very much. The Studio room had every convenience we needed and was quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by rcobos, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we appreciate your feedback that will serve to continuing improving our services. Cordially