Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jason

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017
Hola Jason, thank you for your review.
2 out of 5
by Karla

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel didn't have my reservation I waited over 3 hours to get a room had to contact hotels.com for them to help
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017
Hola Karla, please receive an apology for this inconvenience in your reservation. We will reinforce communication with our business partners to avoid these inconvenience in the future. Gracias.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017
Thank you for your review, We really appreciate your preference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carpinteria

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Making your stay memorable is their top priority. From the moment we stepped on the property, we noticed the level of service and sincere hospitality was unprecedented. We are definitely coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Ricardo Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017
It's priced in the ball park it looks like there doing renos witch is nice to see. People were friendly that work there. Wifi sucks
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salmon Arm, B.C. Canada

Very Communication

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The hotel offered many amenities, beautiful grounds and pools. Great location!
Cons: Communication regarding translating was a problem, together with their push to purchase a discount card which really was a time share sell.
Location: The hotel was very central to shopping, restaurants and a beautiful new Laisla Mall complete with cinema and restaurants.
Overall we found this resort to meet all our needs, very clean, beautiful grounds, pools and beach activities. Our main complaint was addressing a problem with our room. There are not enough English speaking staff to communicate concerns. We were told everything would be taken care of, time scheduled to solve the problem but no one showed. This was taking time from our vacation. Upon inquiry no one knew what we were talking about. Also, another issue that we didn't realize right away was a 15 percent gratuity had been I ncluded in the total bill at hotel restaurants....so we not knowingly added another 15 percent tip .....read your bill! We were not all inclusive. The food however was excellent and beautifully presented. The Italian restaurant however was all fluff and no food!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Dennis & Sue We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
Dear Guest Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Second time staying here for a 6 day trip to PV..

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Can't say enough good things about this place. sure the room is dated but we used it to sleep. Hotel is in a good area and can get to the malecón in less than 15 minutes. Beach is nice too. Would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
3 out of 5
by Janette

Pressure from the start! The check in was way to l

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Way to much pressure to buy time share. Way to long to check in. Noisy in building near street. Took forever to check out. Very cheap asked for a coffee and it was a big deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
Dear Janette We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Good location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Cons: During the 17 days of our stay the bathroom mirror was not once cleaned. I cleaned it myself several times.
Front desk and concierge staff seem unable to field questions about the hotel, direct you to another person who directs you to another and the question never DID get resolved. Pillows very uncomfortable. Chairs uncomfortable after sitting on for any period of time. Microwave heats VERY unevenly. Nice to see you have upgraded the TV's to flat screens but unable to find ANY English speaking programs. The fan above the bed was not operational and the Air Conditioning was sporadic with the remote being difficult to use. Bathroom lighting very difficult. Impossible to apply makeup. Please consider the installation of a lighted (and preferably magnified) mirror. In prior years - we had Olga as our housekeeper. She was absolutely wonderful. Can't even tell you the name of the one this year. We asked her repeatedly to please NOT Put the duvet on the bed as it was too heavy and too hot especially given the inefficiency of the AC. Toiletries not replenished unless we caught up to her and asked for them. We usually give very generous tips to our housekeeping staff but this year we didn't feel the service was worth giving anything at all. We are VERY clean people - the way the floors are cleaned is archaic. All they do is push a wet DIRTY mop around the floor so it is never actually cleaned. On one day - I wore my socks around the room and I am STILL unable to get them clean - they were disgustingly BLACK. The hallway mirror dirty and uncleaned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta