Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leon, Gto Mexico

Great place

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Great experience! Nice japanesse style bedroom with amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Ryokan in a convenient location

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Near the subway, and not too far from the Eastern Temples. Comfortable and clean. Close to a number of cafes where breakfast can be bought.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ryokan

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Wonderul ryokan experience. Clean, comfortable, easy ro get ariund Kyoto. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Jenny

Great place to stay in Kyoto

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
We had a very relaxing stay. The ryokan is convenient to shopping and the sights in Higashiyama
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great rooms and reasonable location

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Size and condition of the rooms is exceptional: beautifully appointed with plenty of closet space for luggage. The reason to stay here: the rooms.
Location: It's near bus routes and easy to get taxis. There are some restaurants, but it's not a great area for eating. You have to travel a bit.
Really beautiful and exceptionally large rooms. Very friendly staff. Proprietor speaks English well which can be helptul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh UK

A delightful ryokan full of pleasing touches.

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Its adherence to Japanese tradition whilst offering free wifi and remarkable Panasonic loos
Cons: Apart from finding the futon a little firm and the breakfast a little expensive, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
Location: The hotel is well placed for train and bus services. If like me you are a keen swimmer, the 50m pool at Aquarena is worth a visit.
Keen to have an intense cultural experience during my first trip to Japan, I was not disappointed by this ryokan. From the moment you take off your shoes at the door you realise this is no ordinary hotel. As you sit on a wooden stool soaping and rinsing yourself before entering the public bath you are immersing yourself in tradition as well as hot water. And when you sit at floor level tucking into an array of breakfast delicacies, you are literally tasting the results of centuries of culinary refinement.
5 out of 5
by nathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Orbitz
We had a lovely ryokan (traditional Japanese inn ) experience at Sawaya Honten. It was especially nice to experience the spacious rooms after the cramped quarters of Tokyo! As with many hotels outside of Tokyo, the front desk staff was not always fluent in English, but their professional desire for excellent customer service always prevailed.
5 out of 5
by Alice

A Charming Ryokan at great location

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
We love everything at Sawaya Honten. It's a quaint Ryokan at reasonable price, friendly and helpful host (operated by family). The room is spacious and well equipped, the traditional breakfast is healthy and delicious! It's located at the fringe of city with train station and bus stops within 5 minutes of walk. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful traditional experience!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
What a gorgeous and gracious experience. Clean, simple, and beautiful. My husband and I enjoyed staying here very much! Rooms were spacious and had basic amenities. Be sure to research bus routes ahead of time for improved travel experience.