Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful traditional experience!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
What a gorgeous and gracious experience. Clean, simple, and beautiful. My husband and I enjoyed staying here very much! Rooms were spacious and had basic amenities. Be sure to research bus routes ahead of time for improved travel experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

conveniently located next to transportation.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The staff were lovely. They arranged for cabs for our early morning departure and were very nice. The amenities were thoughtful, we received two pairs of tabi socks and a gift bag among other things. The room was off a beautiful garden courtyard with a pond. And there were helpful maps showing the restaurants and places of interest in the immediate area. A really solid hotel. However, the futons can be a bit hard for the foreign guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from u

Far enough out to have a great sleep. Close enough

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Walk, train or. Ike into town after an excellent accommodation. SO neat. SO enjoyable. Really good stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Roland

I would recommend this place.

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice place, good food (breakfast), clean and comfortable. The only minor issue was that the internet speed could have been better at times. Other than that I was absolutely happy with everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Ryokan!

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Very nice, quiet, clean Ryokan with wonderful staff. Subway station is just a 5min walk away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shanghai

nice japanese experience

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
room is spacious, clean. owner is very helpful. definitely recommend for Kyoto stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4 Wonderful days in Kyoto

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing Ryokan owners and staff, very accomodating. Squeaky clean property. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Part of the Kyoto experience

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: While located off the main tourist area, this hotel is clean (very clean!), comfy and has wonderful and helpful staff. Four of us shared a room which was incredibly comfortable. It was convenient to get to and busses to most tourist places could be caught near the hotel. We had an attached bathroom but the communal toilets and bath were very well maintained. Definitely recommend for the experience and the friendly staff.
Cons: Don't be fooled by the hotel's distance from the downtown area - it's still very accessible and less hectic, which was nice at the end of a long day of catching the many amazing sights of Kyoto.