Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by HOU YIN PETER

Remarkable Experience and Top-quality Service

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
It was truly an amazing experience for the 2 of us and our 7-year old kid. This mansion used to be the home of a prince and was mentioned in one of the documentary books of Kyoto. It should be one of those top-serviced Ryokens in town. We were assigned for literally a "house" with 40 years of history and own front garden and gate, spacious living of about 2,000 sq. feet of room, comfortable trad. Japanese futon style, all necessary amenities (even come with iron & ironing board and kimono dressing). A special gratitude to all the smiling staff & their hospitality at the mansion, especially Tomoko, who explained everything well to us. At breakfast time, we were treated a private room and a full set delicious trad. Japanese style breakfast, and Japanese times daily newspaper, which was supplemented with complimentary coffee/tea in their relaxing tea shop, caused us certain delay in activity schedule because it was just so luring to stay a little longer in the mansion for the good mood and ambiance.... There are parking space as well in case you drive. The only thing you need to be aware is that since the surrounding is nature, you just can't avoid the chance of having "special" visitors such as the naughty spider which was attracted by our room lights and came visiting on the first night of arrival.... therefore my kid's comment would be different from us because he would opt for no insects in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

unique experience in a traditional ryokan

Posted Jun 2, 2017
we spent two nights here. Found the staff incredibly kind and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure everything went smoothly for us. One of them wrote out for us in Japanese all of the sights we wanted to go to so that we could show taxi drivers the Japanese names of the locations. It turned out to be incredibly helpful and made our brief stay very smooth. We also had the traditional Japanese dinner one of our nights at the ryokan. it was amazing. We had never had anything like it. The owner was lovely and introduced herself during our dinner. The room was very comfortable, decorated in the traditional Japanese style. We had big windows that opened up to a lovely garden view with the hills in the distance. We would highly recommend. It was a wonderful experience all around.
5 out of 5
by Chris Piazza from New York

A gem in Kyoto

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
If you are in Kyoto this is a must. The staff is friendly, the grounds are immaculate and the food is wonderful. The best accomidation in Kyoto by far!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Japanese Cultural Experience

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: The authenticity. No nails were used in the building. The traditional design was like stepping back in time.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: There was a temple next door we did not visit and many others within walking distance, but w concentrated on the main sites.
We felt like guests in a bygone era. The food was authentic. Staff were very friendly. Sleeping on the futon bed was quite comfortable and the tub was welcome after a day of touring. It's in a quiet residential area a bit out of town. Taxis were called and arrived after a short wait.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic old Japanese style hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The gardens were lovely
Cons: Rattling windows, a few tired carpets and the furniture needed a wax and polish to retain its age.
Location: Lovely quiet place, near some temples. No shops nearby
I loved staying here. Having breakfast in a private room overlooking the lovely gardens was great. It was a little run down in places partly I assume to retain its older character. The staff were friendly but only one spoke much English. You will not have a private bathroom and toilet and must share. The windows of our room rattled when the wind blew and kept waking us up. When there you always feel the need to be quiet as the walls are thin. But all in all a lovely place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the best hotel/inn experiences ever.

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
I have always wanted to stay in a Ryokan, and the experience exceeded my expectations. Hosts were warm, welcoming, and very helpful.
5 out of 5
by yu mei from New Jersey , USA

To experience the traditional Japanese Life style

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Accommodations are traditional but perhaps could be updated. We stayed in the hanare, which is a separate building from the main house. The food was terrific and the people were wonderful. You are made to feel like either visiting family or royalty. The Japanese gardens are beautiful. The surrounding neighborhood is quiet. The property itself is serene.
5 out of 5
by Neha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Samantha from Chicago

Great Ryokan Experience!

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the Yoshida-Sanso for one night after spending 3 nights at the Westin in Kyoto. Obviously a very different experience from a Western hotel, but very happy we did it and highly recommend to others. We arrived in the evening around 6pm and immediately went to enjoy our multi-course dinner that was included in the price of our hotel room. My friend is a vegan and they were able to accommodate her with a delicious meal as well since we gave them advanced notice. Our room was spacious, and we shared a bathroom with another room that was on the same floor. It was not an issue at all, as we never seemed to need to use the bathroom at the same time. Breakfast the next morning was just as elaborate and delicious as dinner the night before. After breakfast we walked a short 10 minutes to the Philosopher’s Path and enjoyed the beautiful cherry blossoms that were blooming. We made a quick stop at the Silver Pavilion. The staff spoke relatively good English and one woman was almost fluent as she spent a few years in NYC. All were very attentive and helpful. Overall, the Yoshida-sanso was a great, unique experience and I would highly recommend for anyone who is looking to change up the traditional Western hotel stay.
5 out of 5
by Quentin from New Jersey

Historic Ryokan

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great opportunity to stay in a historically important and beautiful house/ryokan. The house is full of interesting original architectural details and the garden is excellent. The neighborhood is quiet but there are bus routes nearby and subway lines are also a (longish) walk away. They're happy to call taxis for you as well. We were the only guests there at the time and received great, attentive service.