Ratings based on 721 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

overrated not a resort

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: the view
Location: in the mountains, too far from Las Vegas
the room was very dark and beat up furniture. some lights not working
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wedding Venue :(

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: the view
Cons: maintenance - lots of it!
Two days here for wedding and reception. The view for the wedding was breathtaking. The hotel however is sorely in need of attention. There are seventy ducks hanging out and pooping everywhere - including in the middle of the cocktail hour before the reception. The carpet has been repaired with duck tape in dozens of locations. The restrooms off the lobby never appeared to be serviced. The internet was down for two days, there were two telephones in the bridal suite - neither worked and there is no cell service - so there was no way for the bridal party to communicate other than run around dodging ducks yelling for each other. The staff was friendly, but overwhelmed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warren, MI

Nice quiet stay

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The view, quiet environment
Cons: The facility. The restaurant food was ok. For the price I was expecting more.
Location: Nothing is in this area. You can enjoy the bar, arcade or restaurant located in the hotel.
Well you know the saying you can't judge a book by it's cover. I didn't know what to expect from the pictures I had seen online. This hotel was a little more run down than what I had imagined. However, the staff was very nice and the room was comfortable. If you are looking for a nice quiet get away, I would recommend this resort. Keep in mind that you are miles from anything, so be sure to stop where you need on your way in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Terrace, BC, Canada

Another side of southern Nevada

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Set near Mt Charleston in the Spring Mtns Recreation Area, just 30 minutes from the Vegas Strip, this lodge is an economical base from which to explore (cooler!) mountain trails and see wild burros. Designed around a traditional lodge decor -- fireplace, high ceiling, and stuffed animal heads - the place has apparently seen better days. There are some threadbare carpets, dated bathroom fixtures. But our room was clean, and the staff very helpful. The most disconcerting aspect of our stay, however, is that the duck pond and associated duck population are out of control! The pond-side lounge area was completely taken over by ducks, duck food and their mess; even the main entrance to the lobby had duck droppings that one had to navigate around. I think someone's hobby - once a cute feature -- has simply got out of hand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in the mountain

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: it is away from all the major roads...
Cons: I didn't have any service on my cell phone....
Location: didn't really have the time to explore the location
peaceful place to rest....nice rooms...lots of fresh air
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas Nevada

Old "Resort" next to no much

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I have been to many Resorts but this was the least attractive. The pictures on the internet must be very old pictures. The "Resort" is old dark and musty smelling. The rooms are the same. No elevator to the other floors from the first floor so parents with small children will have to carry there luggage and strollers up a flight of stairs. This means making more trips then needed just to get to your room. The employees were not rude just very uninterested in the guests. Nothing much to do at the Resort you will need to drive a good hour or so to get to anything fun. I live in Las Vegas so wanted to get away. So going back down for entertainment was not an option. So very glad I didn't drive there from another State.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Overall the experience was neat. Getting away from the city was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas NV

Best hotel visitors to Vegas you got to stay here

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Best clean hotel hidden gem 35 min from the strip, close to the trails. I gave low ratings to keep pricing low. Seems when high rate the experience the pricing goes up, but you have to get a room before you stay at the strip........ excellent stay with kids hotel has a TV and table games with arcade games........
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas Nevada

Enjoy the weather nice

Posted Aug 21, 2017
It was pleasant food was good the bartender Albert was friendly and professional Front desk were also friendly and professional Staff was overall helpful friendly and professional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

convenient for hiking in the area

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: The balcony with a south-facing view. Proximity to hiking trails.
Cons: Coffee maker in room
Location: hiking
We booked Mt Charleston because of its proximity to the hiking trails. And for that we weren't disappointed. That said, the facility is a bit run down, but it served its purpose for us. Next time I will bring my own coffee pot (no coffee maker in the room). Advantage: by booking a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony, and requesting a south-facing room when we checked in, we were able to set up our camera to capture a nice night sky time lapse sequence of the Milky Way over the mountains.