Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The best vacation ever, nothing to complain, would definitely go there again. They are building more over the water suite, I think I will try those suite next time I go there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great Overwater Villa

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We we're initially booked in to stay in one of the over water suites but had to be transferred to one of the over water villas instead ( due to renovations) we we're upgraded to have an all inclusive stay (please read the fine print if you do take the all inclusive, the equipment for water activities are not included). In exchange, we do get unlimited premium drinks from the bar, full board (3 meals) and free champagne. The villa was kept clean, very comfortable, newly renovated with WIFI. Its definitely a plus being over the water, but its a long walk to the bar, and restaurant. Overall it was a good experience, and the service and friendliness of staff was top notch
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from all ambassadors of Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives!We are humbled by this overwhelming review,thank you very much for sharing your experience on Expedia website.You are correct, our service and staff's hospitality is one of the best thing we can be proud of. Indeed pleased to hear that you enjoyed our offerings.Hopefully we would be able to see you once again perhaps to experience the newly renovated Over Water suites some time in future. We wish you a fantastic day ahead!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from İstanbul/ Turkey

Posted Aug 10, 2017
it was amazing. I do strongly suggest this place as a honeymoon. The food the service and the rooms was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives! Thank you for spending time sharing your 5 star rating.We are extremely happy to read that you've enjoyed everything that we offer from the food,services and not to mention the wonderful room. This shall be pass on to the team. We look forward to have an opportunity in welcoming you back on your future Maldivian Holiday.
5 out of 5
by Pearlina

Paradise place

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
A relaxing place with good food and accommodation. Given free upgeaded to beach bungalow. A huge room. My grandniece said the place is cool. Can see colourful fishes. My grandniece managed to spot an eel during snorkelling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017
Dear Ms pearlina Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives! We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful and relaxing stay with us! It is truly heartwarming that everything went well and worthwhile whilst your stay. Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives team assured you that we will continue to enhance our standards as well as service so that your next visit will be another pleasant and enjoyable one. once again thank you for your stay and 5* review, We await the pleasure of welcoming you soon again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very Misleading!! Very Disappointing!!!

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: The wildlife was amazing (reef sharks, sting rays, eels, turtles, tons of fish, hermit crabs, chameleons etc)! Beautiful Island! Amazing Snorkeling!
Expedia advertises a "Premium All Inclusive" Package --> NOT what you get when you purchase the "All Inclusive" option! We did NOT get all of the perks & amenities listed & we bought the most expensive package/room type. When we arrived, we were told that it was Expedia's error for advertising the wrong info! TERMITE INFESTATION in our overwater bungalow! Exposed wood beams on ceiling was infested! Large amounts of termite poop constantly falling from ceiling all over US, the bed, floor & furniture! Beach bungalow has OUTDOOR BATHROOM that was visibly dirty also filled with lizards & mosquitoes! Resort has a serious pest issue! Visible rodent traps everywhere! Huge gaps under the doors, open vents/drains, housekeepers kept doors open while cleaning rooms which let in pests etc. HUGE COCKROACHES (at the bar, outside on the deck at night & in the bathroom of our overwater bungalow) "Open walls" style restaurant led to flies swarming the buffet & covering our food while eating! WE HAD TO CHANGE ROOMS 3 TIMES in a 7 day vacation! "Half Day Island Hopping" excursion was 2.5 hours & included a visit to an impoverished, dilapidated island with very pushy shop owners begging us to buy stuff. Resort has NO entertainment/activities! Night parties were dismal. No daytime activities except for excursions. On rainy days, we stayed inside doing nothing! Overall upkeep is poor (exposed wiring, broken street lamps, peeling laminate flooring etc) NOT A LUXURY RESORT IN MY OPINION!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives Managment , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. It is thoughtful feedback like yours that allows us to improve the guest experience for everyone. We are thrilled to hear that you were impressed with our ambassador’s hospitality, we are certainly fully dedicated to ensure a wonderfull stay for all our guest and we do enjoy it! We are pleased that this shows and makes such a positive impact on our guests' experiences! We deeply regret however the frustrations and disappointment you had mentioned. Please know that comments provided are very much valued. First, may we take this opportunity to apologize for the late response, our team members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try every day, to provide that quality of hospitality that our guests come to expect. It is unfortunate to learn this unfavorable occurrence and we are most saddened that you have felt this way. Please allow us to extend our most sincere apologies for the negative impact it had caused on your stay. Know that safety of our guest is our uttermost priority, circumstances like this is an isolated event. We ensures security around the island with security personnel’s that are assigned in a designated post and had a roving personnel who will patrol around the area for the length of time they are on shift. Without going into details of all points mentioned you may rest assured that we have seriously taken note and corrective measures are taken where ever possible in order to better our service and avoid any re-occurrence in the future. Your experience isn't an indication of how we usually do business, and we are truly sorry that we were not able to meet your expectation in the service recovery. Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives Management and team continually work towards achieving goals to en
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Excellent resort near to Male airport

Posted Jun 7, 2017
We spend 4 days 3 nights at this resort staying in water bungalow with all inclusive package. Enjoy the stay at this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Cinnamon Dhonveli , Hotel Management
Dear Mr/Ms Yong, Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives! Thank you for your stay and taking the time sharing your review we are pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and marks a remarkable time whilst your holiday. We look forward to extending our warm hospitality to you again. Until then, we wish you all the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AUS

Fantastic Maldvies Experience

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The room was fantastic, this hotel was so affordable but you felt a million bucks in those bungalows
Cons: I would maybe promote the water sports a bit more we didn't realise there was kayaks and paddle boarding until our last day.
Location: quiet location but ideal - we did a dolphin cruise and the hotel offer a number of day trips
We stayed in the overwater bungalow with the all-inclusive package and loved every minute. Beyond impressed with the condition of the room and the resort in general, I had read some reviews of TripAdvisor that made me question if i had chosen the right place but everything negative i read was not true. The staff were all so accomodating, our room was great we enjoyed the food and all the variety and were happy with our drinks selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok, Thailand

Reasonable price with reasonable atmosphere.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The staffs.
Location: You can find sea turtle, small sharks and many other fish without going out. Snorkeling here, Kani island is a great experience.
The food here is very good, many kinds are provided with the good taste.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Cinnamon Dhonveli , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives! Many thanks for taking the time sharing this review on TripAdvisor. It’s a delight to read such great feedback We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed every moment of your stay from the food, beach, accommodation and the service. Your compliments are truly appreciated, and will definitely be shared with the team as it is comments like yours that motivate us to continuously deliver delightful Cinnamon moments to all our valued guest. Thank you once again, for your kind words and recommendation. We all look forward to warmly welcoming you back for yet another fantastic experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
The best highlight of my stay there was the food being served at the restaurants. Both the Maakana and Koimala served different kinds of cuisines everyday which makes me and my wife look forward to every meal time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Cinnamon Dhonveli , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives! Thank you so much for sharing such lovely review. Thank you for the wonderful compliments on the excellent service and food, We will certainly share your generous words with the team for their exceptional service and expertise. Again, it was a great pleasure having you with us. We look forward to seeing you on your return to the Resort for a much longer stay.
5 out of 5
by Antoine

perfect for relaxing :)

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
i stayed for 4 nights in a water bungalow with a premium all inclusive offer, it was perfect, a really superb getaway with a professional staff. the spa was very nice, took the excursion to a nearby island, 5 min in the speed boat, lovely scenery, u have to bargain and bargain and bargain for the items prices, but overall it was a nice experience. I recommend this resort if u want to have some relaxing time and some pretty scenery.