Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Little paradise

Posted Jul 24, 2014
It was a paradise for us, from the arrival to departure, we didn't wanted to go back home. The staff and management is brilliant. We can say this because we work in hotel industry as well.
5 out of 5
by travelhappy from NY

The best value for money

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent staff, infinity pool, reef (swam with sharks everyday), affordable drinks/room/food/diving, sunsets, everything! GORGEOUS. not at all as luxurious as the big resorts but we didnt want that anyway. Rooms are very basic so if you want the pinterest version (overwater bungalows, jacuzzi in room, flower petals) then this isn't the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amir from New York

Great resort with beautiful water

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Nice staff, especially our waiter, and relaxing calm atmosphere
Cons: The food and drinks could be cheaper and the cleaning guy could smile some more.
Location: sit, relax, enjoy the sun, the ocean life, the company and enjoy your time.
Great resort with nice people, great excursions, beautiful water, sharks, crabs and other wildlife that is truly something to admire. The food options aren't much but the food is good, drinks are expensive but if you go on the local island excursion early you can stock up. Would recommend to anyone on a budget that wants an experience of a life time.
2 out of 5
by Abdulaziz from Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Quiet Resort

Posted Feb 22, 2014
The resort to relax, good experience for 15 minute seaplaneby flight, the resort manager himself greeted us and was very nice guest relations. You need to buy everything like bottle of water its cost 5$. The local restaurant staff were average, as was the food. Most people tread the island barefoot
2 out of 5
by Thomas from Hong Kong

Not Worth it at ALL

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels
I certainly made a mistake in choosing Helengeli. Paid a handsome price, got a tired worn down room with "bad smell" and an air-conditioner with dark and brown MOLDS on every inch of it. Tried to ask to change room and got punished: We went to ask for changing room at 2 p.m., was told bluntly (showing irritation on the face) to come back at 3 as the man claimed himself not in a position to do it. Went back at 3 and told to come back at 4:30 p.m. Then went back at 4:30 p.m. and was given a key to room which was untouched and not cleaned from previous occupant. Went back to tell them the case and was asked to wait for another hour!!!! My wife got angry and tried to ask for the manager. The Assistant Manager came and started "scolding" us as he said that it was Sunday and the hotel was busy! What on earth is this??? Service???? Was it our fault??? We came to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the whole afternoon was wasted waiting to change room!!! Furthermore, don't be misled by the description of the room - Bungalow, that is too beautiful a description for a room like that - It's just a brick room with dead trees standing in front of the room like a haunted house. What you get is the tired furniture especially the toilet door which any hotel on earth would have dumped it away and above all, the smelly air-conditioner, the giant ants(about an inch long)!!! Actually, the whole vacation was spoilt!!!
2 out of 5
by Uzo from Lagos

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels
Helengeli is a good place if you enjoy snorkeling and diving. There are really no activities for young people and no media entertainment in the rooms. Moreover there is no wifi in the rooms - only at the bar and quite expensive rates.
3 out of 5
by SH from USA

Fine, but overpriced... not best value for your $$

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels
If you're hoping for a luxury resort you will be disappointed, but you will pay an arm and a leg here, plus tax. It was fine, but really should have been a little less per night to get the most value for your money. Also, the cost of getting to the island is additional and it is pricey. My room was fine, I liked the outdoor bathroom concept, but the bed was only somewhat comfortable. The food is average. There are some things they do well, and some they don't. I was told by one staff member that it's better than it used to be. The spa was very reasonably priced. Service overall at the resort is fine, but when I checked out I paid part of my balance in dollars and the local currency. They didn't know how to calculate the local currency into US dollars. Yikes. I had to do the basic multiplication for them. I would go back to the Maldives but I would stay somewhere else. For the amount of money I paid per night and the cost to get there and back, I expect more.
5 out of 5
by Sun from Sydney

Very satisfied

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels
Very romantic place for honeymoon, less crowded, friendly staff and beautiful view ;)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arlene from Canada

Quiet island paradise

Posted Oct 26, 2013
We had a beautiful stay - the island is small and quiet with the turquoise waters and gorgeous white sand you expect in the Maldives. It is a low key place - no TVs, no jet skis, no fancy shops or formal restaurants - just one restaurant and one bar with sandy floors so you never have to wear shoes - lovely! We had an excellent experience with the dive shop and instructors, and the house reef has great snorkelling. Rooms are simple and clean, very pleasant. They offer several boat trips from the island, for snorkelling or to see a local island, etc. Mainly German speaking tourists as it is a Swiss owned resort. The snack menu in the bar is so-so... sandwiches and pastas and burgers from $10-15. The restaurant only serves buffet, and most people are on full or half-board. Prices are high - $33+ for the dinner buffet, $20+ for lunch. Food is pretty good but not fantastic. Helengeli was described to us as a "good value" resort - so no lobster at the buffets, but service, cleanliness, and the incredible beaches are all top notch.
4 out of 5
by Ken from Vancouver

Attractive Quiet Smaller Resort with Delicious Foo

Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels
This is my 10th Maldivian resort. I enjoyed the island 's Peace and quiet of nature. Fragrant trees. No TV or phones. Simple comfortable rooms. Excellent island ambience. Nicely separated cottages. Well landscaped. Pleasant friendly staff. Good spa. Well priced. Value for money. Extensive white sand beaches. Short, 15 minute air transfer from Male. Good reef with interesting shells. Despite wind excellent clarity. Big fellows there- white/ black tip reef sharks, spotted eagle rays, turtle, big morays, napoleaon wrasses, etc. the largest schools of red-toothed trigger fish I've ever seen. The food was far above Maldives average. The weather in June was still wonderful. Warm air and seas with 1 monsoon day with heavy rain. Recommended.