Ratings based on 490 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Urine Odor

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Manager and staff were very pleasant and helpful
Cons: STOP PERMITING DOGS INTO YOUR HOTEL, UNLESS BLIND PERSON. OR ONLY HAVE A CERTAIN NUMBER OD ROOMS FOR DOGS, NOT THE ENTIRE HOTEL/ROOMS
Location: Shopping, dinning were within walking distance
My complaint regards urine odor in room, odor has penetrated carpet in room, manager granted a refund for 1st night stay in room July 21, 2017, manger moved me to another room which was better. I am waited for a credit to my credit card. Dogs should not be permitted in hotels, customer should not be subjected to unpleasant conditions. Urine odor can not be removed, regardless of shampooing carpet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and service
Cons: Newer beds, mine was creaking
Location: Limited dining options within walking distance
Friendly staff and good service. Hotel amenities were basic, the rooms were spacious and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The floor in front of the coffee machine, near the breakfast bar was sticky. I thought someone must have spilled something that morning. But it was the same every morning. It seemed no one ever mopped that portion of the floor. It reflects on the entire hotel experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Schaumburg

Normally nice, but...

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Floors hard surfaces were sticky. Headboard was dirty. Had food stuck to headboard behind pillow. Beds were terribly uncomfortable. Large body imprint and lumpy. Entry door had a large gap at the top.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent for the area/price

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The location is convenient to downtown Milwaukee and the street-side room was clean and comfortable. the hotel attracts a budget traveler. The lobby is spartan, not clean, and has signage cautioning against loud parties. Don't get a room on the pool-side of the hotel; the rooms are humid and smell of chlorine. Next time I'm in the area I will look for something a little nicer but will not rule this out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings Ne

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Good place to stay! Needs a lounge though. Pool opens and closes too late and early. Other than that, very good. Would stay there again for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Nathan G., Hotel Management
Hi Larry, Thank you for the feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, but it looks like we have a few things to improve on. We can't wait to see you again to show you how hard we are working to make the guest experience great. Nathan G. Assistant General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

none party policy

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everthing
Location: n/a
I wanted to have my daughter a little sleep over with a few of her girl friends and we could not bring her cake or cupcakes in so it sat in the truck and got messed up waited my money and you cant swim without bracelets what a bummer never again will I ever go here and I'm telling all my people to not go here either
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Nathan G., Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, I am sorry you did not know about our party policy prior to arrival. We take this policy very seriously and don't allow parties in the hotel to insure the continued enjoyment for all of our guests. We have the wristband policy in place for the same reason. Nathan G Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Our room did not have a microwave or refrigerator in it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Nathan G Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please let me know which room you were in because all of our rooms are suppose to have a refrigerator and a microwave. In some of the rooms they are inside of cabinets. I am sorry you did not get to use all the amenities we offer. I hope to see you again soon so we can show you we are working hard to make improvements.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room and staff

Posted May 23, 2017
My room was dirty and the front desk staff was rude and lazy... The guy working at check in was nice and he did tell us about the pool after but they had just found out it was dirty so I understood but the room and the girl telling me that was housekeeping instead of fixing it and rude when ask if we can have towel because it was only one in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Nathan G Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It sounds like we dropped the ball on meeting your expectations, and I apologize for that. I have shared your comments with my team to help them understand everything we do has an impact on our guests; negative or positive. I hope to see you again soon so we can show you we are working hard to make improvements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Ghhhhhhhhhjjjjjjnjnmmmmkl the same as the same as the same as the same as the same as the same
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Nathan G, Hotel Management
We appreciate the review. We hope the next time you travel you will visit us again.