Ratings based on 1,844 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Room was great, desk staff when we checked in seemed disinterested and honestly like they judged us by our appearance like I have tattoos I shouldn’t be there, maybe I was just tired from the drive but that’s the way it felt , lady took one look at me then it was like she was reading the screen , it wasn’t pleasant, no smiles. The room was the best part and that’s all that mattered to me for the trip, but we won’t be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us. While I'm happy to hear that the room was good, I apologize for the experience you had with our front desk team member. We strive to provide the best in service to all of our guests and I'm terribly sorry that wasn't the case with your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south carolina

Nice location but

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Nice location overall but they didn't finish cleaning the room before I came also when checking in they couldn't find my reservation even though I reserved the room a day prior they had a blower sitting in the floor upon arrival to my room and the room wasn't cleaned fully dirty rags in the sink and the bed looked as if it was slept on prior
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us. We are terribly sorry to hear that your room was not clean when you arrived and there was a mix up with your reservation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilmongton,NC

I will never use Expedia again

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: NOTHING!
Location: Great location!
The hotel was nothing as explained to me by the Expedia Rep. Room was NOT waterfront, the balcony was 2x4 facing another building that was about 8 feet away & it smelled musty. Walls needed painting, bathroom was dirty. I explained to the manager these items & demanded a refund. She explained to me that only Expedia could give me my money back. I left & had to get another hotel room which was another expense. First time I have used Expedia & the last time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
We are terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the condition of your room as well as the lack of an oceanfront location. Your feedback has been shared with our team. Again, we apologize.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver , Nc

Studio rooms

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Very clean , felt safe,pool area clean , breakfast Buffett very good and priced fairly .the studio rooms should be identified by oven view or no view .you would be happier with an oven front than a studio room . Overall experience , good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay, found your room clean and the breakfast buffet very good and affordable. We appreciate your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Water issues

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Ocean front with multiple pools.
Cons: Better communication. Get the hot water issues fixed.
Upon arrival, the front desk clerk seemed more in a hurry since they were by themselves. Once I got in the room, it smelled off fresh pot, the toilet exhaust got rid of that after a few hours. Tuesday we lost water , no fault of the hotels but after water was restored I did not have hot water. The staff was notified at 830 and didn't seem to care. Again at 11pm and they were more concerned but there was never a follow up and only had warm water at 1130pm. The next morning had no hot water again, glad I was leaving. So my last day and a half went with a luke warm shower after a day on the beach. Very disappointing. The indoor lazy river was closed for maintenance, of which I wasn't told upon check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are terribly sorry to hear that you had issues with lost water and our staff members were not empathetic. We are also sorry to hear that you were not informed about the indoor lazy river closure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Ocen view

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach and pools.
Cons: People should be able to use carts to move luggage at check-in and check-out without using a valet.
Location: Alot of restaurants, golfing and shopping nearby. Myrtle Beach is also nearby
Enjoyed waking up everyday and looking at the sunrise and listening to the waves. Alot of pools to use although was wondering why so many kids were there this time of the year. Friendly staff at the bar. The room was comfortable and the cleaning staff did a great job. Was looking for someone to discuss golf reservations with when checking in but ended up talking to a time share person (not what I wanted) that the person at the front desk referred to as concierge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your room clean and comfortable and our staff friendly. We're sorry that our policy about luggage cart usage proved to be inconvenient and you were unable to speak with someone about golf.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach,Florida

Not as good as I thought it would be!

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Hotel was convenient to everything very centrally located.
Cons: Attitudes of some employees would be a good start!
Location: Plenty of excellent restaurants. Close to many attractions like Barefoot Landing, Alabama Theatre, and a few minute drive to Broadway at The Beach.
Locked out of our room 5 times. Some desk staff ok but most had an attitude and seemed totally unconcerned with our problems. They kept telling us it was our fault we were getting locked out because we were keeping the keys near our phone or near other credit cards. We were not however if the keys are that sensitive they shoul put them on a lanyard so you can wear it aroun your neck. The maid was having the same problem the lock needed a battery. 2 days later we stood outside the room 20 minutes because a worker deadlocked the door and they had to find a key. No apology very unconcerned. We went out one day when we came back to get ready for dinner there was no hot water because the county was working on the street. Taking a cold shower listening to my wife yelling was no fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you encountered problems with your key and our staff members were not as helpful as they should have been. Your feedback has been shared with our team and we will work on fixing these issues. Again, we apologize.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2017
It was everything I was looking for very convenient and comfortable with a wonderful view of the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our convenient location and wonderful views of the beach. We appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Staff was extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful. Outdoor pools were nice, bar was cheap, and restaurants had decent food. Overall amazing experience celebrating my sisters bachelorette party! Would highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are happy you chose to spend your sister's bachelorette party with us and appreciate the fact that you will recommend us to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
This was our third time staying at this property, and it was great like always. The kids love the pools and spas. We love the oceanfront balcony and private beach access. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for being a loyal guest of Bay Watch Resort. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy your stays with us and find our staff members friendly and helpful. We look forward to having you back soon.