Ratings based on 682 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Could not find vending machine for after hrs and no eating establishment close by. Other than that it was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by Quality Control, Hotel Management
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

traveler beware !!!

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: oceanfront
Cons: replace management
had trouble with toilet overflowing for no reason...inform hotel...they sent someone up, but, did not attempt repair...when we came back to hotel later in the day toilet overflowed all over again making a huge mess...poor management...made for bad day dealing with mess that could have been avoided if hotel had a management staff on-site...they do not...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Quality Control, Hotel Management
We truly apologize for the issue you encountered during your stay. Our staff member did go up to your unit and thought he had corrected the problem. Unfortunately, when you returned and the 2nd overflow occurred it was discovered there was another issue. We truly apologize and understand that this caused issues for you during your stay which was why we issued a partial credit back on your stay while you were here. Our goal is to provide all guests with relaxing and enjoyable beach vacations and we are disappointed to hear that we did not provide that for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Brush up on a few things

Posted Dec 28, 2017
I'm a self proclaimed germaphobe and would stay here again. With that being said, found hair on a pillow and in the shower -a strand here or there. Glass on balcony looked like it hadn't been cleaned ever. Tables in living room needed wiping down- were dusty and had spots. I don't put anything I bring directly on tabletops and other surfaces so this didn't bother me too much. Beds were uncomfortable - our particular mattress needed to be replaced but seemed like it was a good mattress at some point. View was great and all other amentities were good, no other complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Quality Control, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to address your comments with management. We appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

home for family reunion

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: comfort plus views
Cons: most maxed out because of space
Location: Loris is my hometown but things have changed so much.
not long enough to see all my family nor play golf or go fishing
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Quality Control, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice and accommodating place. Enjoyed the view! Will definitely visit again next time I’m in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Already booking another stay

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic. Staff was amazing as well as the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Jimmy, Hotel Management
Thank you so much! We hope you had a great time. We are looking forward to the next visit!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017
Thank you for the great rating! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2017
We had a great stay. The room was the same as the picture
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Quality Control, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Confusing for this traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Views by daylight.
Cons: This is a condo resort; should not take "one night travelers" on Expedia or other booking sites- not "traveling through" friendly.
Location: We couldn't get out of there quick enough! We did walk the pier, then headed for Hilton Head!
Searched MYRTLE BEACH lodging, decided on the Prince for something new! Never been to the area before. Yep- Garmin took us right to MYRTLE BEACH. Prince is not IN or close to MYRTLE BEACH...it is in NORTH Myrtle Beach....which did not help as the same address is also confirmed as existing IN Myrtle Beach as 3500 N. Ocean Blvd (private residence). Tried calling- got the Expedia phone tree with no options to find out what we doing wrong. NO info numbers how to get to front desk staff for direction- EVERYTHING was circular phone tree! Finally got info from a police officer in Myrtle Beach- and headed to NORTH Myrtle Beach. At front desk of the Prince- THEY gave me printed paper with an INVALID phone number for the front desk (I had to call in our license plate number)- which took us to ANOTHER circular PHONE TREE! They "don't know how that happened". When I told them how goofed up all this was- I was told "happens a lot", I should have checked the zip code, and told I looked really tired. Registration parking area was confusing AND full. Beautiful area by daylight the next morning- but based on my experience- I'd probably be staying away from Expedia in the future, and hesitant to seek out the Prince in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Quality Control, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We truly apologize for any issues you encountered with the details provided through the booking process as well as their contact information. The toll free numbers listed on all forms do go to our reservations office which is located just a couple miles south of the Prince and can assist with any questions and concerns. Unfortunately, since Myrtle Beach and North Myrtle Beach both have North and South Ocean Boulevard addresses, guests will often have issues with GPS systems if they do not enter the complete address. Again, we truly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and we hope that you were able to enjoy your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lillington NC

Enjoyable lodging with potentials

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach; looked like the post picture
Cons: The entrance to registration is congested; condo entrance door needs maintenance
Location: shopping, eating and site seeing
Close to the beach, had many amenities available for customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Quality Control, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again soon.