Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautifully maintained, one block from promenade.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Wonderful B&B that is convenient to beach and promenade. Clean and comfortable place to stay. Outside gas fire pit added to the ambiance. The breakfast was served buffet style and was adequate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Beautiful old house close to beach and downtown.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
We enjoyed everything about the Gilbert Inn, "except"... Terrible loud creaking floors. I sleep with a sound machine, and it still woke me up. The bed was also small and uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idyllwild, CA & Lake Havasu, AZ

Close to the beach but in a busy area

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The grounds where nice.
Location: Seaside is a lot like Newport Beach California. Crowded, lots of tattoo parlors and arcades.
A nice historic building but right across the street from a big multi story condo development. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. Our room had a small sitting room but it as mostly useless since the lamp in it only worked sporadically (once I got it to work I just unplugged it so I could use it again without playing around with it) plus the most accessible outlet in the room didn't work. Room was small but that was expected since it's an old victorian style home. Bed was OK for me but the wife said it was hard. There wasn't any dresser or anywhere with drawers to put clothes so we just left everything in our luggage. The shower valve was plumbed backwards so it had to be turned right instead of left to get hot water.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hood River, Oregon

Histlrical, beautiful, and quiet

Posted Sep 12, 2016
We stayed over a weekend and found the services consistently friendly and gracious, the room and bathroom were spotless!. Of course the grand old home was built in the 1890s so it was kind of like visiting an old relative if we sat in the lobby (living room)! Peaceful and well worth the experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2016
I don't have time to reply at greater length! Dealing with medical issues.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland

So friendly & helpful.....

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
REALLY late check in & they made it SOOOOOO easy for us. Mahalos for such great accommodations & hospitality. Definitely be coming back next yr if you guys have a room avail for us again! :-)
4 out of 5
by Charmaine from Lethbridge

Pocket of Perfection

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great unique victorian home turned hotel with a B&B feel. 11 rooms, each with a private bath. Sitting areas, beautiful well lit breakfast room. They serve a slightly above average breakfast. Outdoor fire pit and seating area. One block off the beach and two blocks from restaurant & shopping areas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Check the size of room you are getting. We were assigned the smallest one and I'm not sure why. Maybe because we booked through Expedia. They did not replenish amenities during the two night stay and we had to ask for some things. But overall it was a good experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The Gilbert Inn is a very pleasant place to stay. The staff were friendly and the grounds are beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location, free parking
Cons: Lighting was really dim in the bathroom. Also, the bathtub was raised and might be difficult for older guests.
One block to the beach. Cozy and comfortable room.