Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Beautiful old house close to beach and downtown.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
We enjoyed everything about the Gilbert Inn, "except"... Terrible loud creaking floors. I sleep with a sound machine, and it still woke me up. The bed was also small and uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idyllwild, CA & Lake Havasu, AZ

Close to the beach but in a busy area

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The grounds where nice.
Location: Seaside is a lot like Newport Beach California. Crowded, lots of tattoo parlors and arcades.
A nice historic building but right across the street from a big multi story condo development. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. Our room had a small sitting room but it as mostly useless since the lamp in it only worked sporadically (once I got it to work I just unplugged it so I could use it again without playing around with it) plus the most accessible outlet in the room didn't work. Room was small but that was expected since it's an old victorian style home. Bed was OK for me but the wife said it was hard. There wasn't any dresser or anywhere with drawers to put clothes so we just left everything in our luggage. The shower valve was plumbed backwards so it had to be turned right instead of left to get hot water.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hood River, Oregon

Histlrical, beautiful, and quiet

Posted Sep 12, 2016
We stayed over a weekend and found the services consistently friendly and gracious, the room and bathroom were spotless!. Of course the grand old home was built in the 1890s so it was kind of like visiting an old relative if we sat in the lobby (living room)! Peaceful and well worth the experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2016
I don't have time to reply at greater length! Dealing with medical issues.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Check the size of room you are getting. We were assigned the smallest one and I'm not sure why. Maybe because we booked through Expedia. They did not replenish amenities during the two night stay and we had to ask for some things. But overall it was a good experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The Gilbert Inn is a very pleasant place to stay. The staff were friendly and the grounds are beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location, free parking
Cons: Lighting was really dim in the bathroom. Also, the bathtub was raised and might be difficult for older guests.
One block to the beach. Cozy and comfortable room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice Hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: comfortable clean and close to the beach.
Cons: the breakfast.
Location: close to the beach.
We had to wait a few minutes before anyone noticed that we were at the desk to check in. I always like to think that a Bed and Breakfast place is somewhere that the host / owners welcomes you. There seemed to be different people around all the time and no one seemed interested to interact with the guests. The breakfast was disappointing. It was a help yourself and more like continental breakfast. The egg dishes were disappointing and not marked as to exactly what they were.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Great service and clean room. We had a view of the ocean from our room...quick access to the beach. The only drawback was low water pressure for the shower in our bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels