Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
35% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Disappointed

Posted Jan 31, 2018
There was remodeling. The price was to high for the small room. There has a pretty small bathroom. It was really old fashion. There making nusy in the early morning. And i was there to rest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the service you were provided.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando fl fern park

Nasty bed bug invested

Posted Jan 29, 2018
I will never ever ever stay there again. For starters the rooms were not ready for check in. We get out room and its outdated, nasty table and microwave. And items from clothing tag left in the floor so it probably wasn't vacuum. On the first night I woke up itchy and I looked at my arm I was stratching and I had knots on the from and back of my arm and my face. I was bitten by bed bugs. The most miserable feeling ever. Don't stay here! I repeat its worth your money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2018
nice experience only one day stay reception peaple nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2018 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2017
We arrive really late so check in was via window, which made me feel not safe at 1 in the morning by my self with my children in the car. The room was clean yet the tv and the coffee make were broken, not a big deal for us backside we really only need a place to sleep. They could use some upgrading to the entire place. Breakfast was provided which was great. Check out was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review. I understand that checking in from outside seems like it is an unsafe area, but that is actually county law. We are in the midst of renovating and upgrading our property. We would like to see you again, next time you are in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Room and furniture was out dated and dirty.Smelled liked disinfectant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize about the issues you had faced. We are currently in the process of remodeling. We hope to see you again, so that you may see our improved property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando

Not good

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The cancel my reservecion and no notifications the manager was not help the place was not looking nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
The policy for day of arrival is to charge the incoming guest's cards one night room and tax to guarantee the reservation. If the card declines, we try to contact the guest before cancelling any reservation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Told about bugs did nothing

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Communication from front desk to employees.
I was staying 2 nights and the first night I was attacked by bed bugs. I told the night manager in the morning and he said he would let cleaners know. I was there when the girl came to clean and asked her if she got the message from the front desk regarding bugs, she said no. I then told her about them so she started to change the towels and make the bed, no different sheets and just made the bed.I used the other bed the next night and it was the same thing. I should hope that that the next guest did not have to sleep in those same sheets.I asked for the manager and was told he is on vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize about the issues you experienced. Sadly, to dispute your claim, we do not have any bedbugs. We do have pest control coming every week to make sure we never allow a colony to start.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for vacations, is for people that dont have a

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
Not for vacation
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review. I apologize about any issues you may have experienced.
2 out of 5
by james

not like

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
checked in late. late night clerk not welcoming. bed not comfortable. floor seemed wet
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize about the issues you had experienced. Sometimes, due to the condensation in the air, the floors do get damp. I'm surprised the bed was not comfortable, because it is a new bed. Once again, I apologize about the issues experienced while on our property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winter park fl

close to my house

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: close to my house
Cons: all of the above items corrected
Location: some restaurants near by
light in bathroom area hardly worked no working light by bed tv very slow working one tiny bar of soap in bathroom and no tub mat in shower, very dangerous for slipping and law suite