Ratings based on 878 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from altamonte florida

Horrible

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Something smelled like it died. I had t I ask for a coffee maker and utensils. The mgs made it clear no coffee came with the coffee maker. The bathtub leaked and after my shower, I could not turn off watee. A repair man came up and shut off. The next day I could not even take a shower because the water would not turn on. I notified the front desk and they advised of never hearing of repair guy. I asked for the manager to give a call. No call going on a week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize for the service and maintenance issues you encountered and the inconvenience they caused. I have shared your concerns with the respective teams so that they can fix the issues as soon as possible. I hope you will give us another opportunity so that we can make it up to you. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester Ny

5 day get away

Posted Aug 18, 2017
It was okay the water in the tub was stopped up and I had a old AC unit Besides that the stay was nice great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your overall stay with us, but I truly regret the inconvenience caused due to maintenance issues in your room. I have shared your concern with the respective team to ensure happy guests is our number one priority. We hope you will choose us again the next time you are in this area. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to hwy large parking for uhaul

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Easy check in and out. Plenty of parking. Close to all restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great comments. We are glad that you liked our front-desk service and parking facility. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Altamonte Springs

Needed quiet night away from home

Posted Jul 4, 2017
I only stayed one night and it was clean and quiet. Just what I asked for. The kitchenette was adorable. Will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the terrific review of your stay at Extended Stay America - Orlando - Altamonte Springs. We are delighted to read you rested well and loved the kitchen in your room. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Nice hotel in Altamonte spring down town

Posted Jun 28, 2017
My experience in the hotel was great, I enjoyed my stay , except some of the people lodging in the hotel were playing sound very Loud and this was very uncomfortable .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for letting us know that you enjoyed your time with us. On rare occasions we have guests who do not adhere to the property rules concerning noise, resulting in disrupted sleep and annoyance for all those in the immediate vicinity. We regret the inconvenience caused and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eh

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Room was clean, staff was fine. A/C. wifi & tv didn't work. Unfortunate
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We are sorry you had a poor experience at our hotel. Our team strives to make sure each guest has a pleasant stay, so we apologize for missing the mark. We appreciate you for sharing the details, so we can take steps to prevent these issues in future. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better hospitality. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CHICAGO

Stay here 3 days a week!

Posted May 26, 2017
Always clean! Staff very friendly! Convenient location. .....................................
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Gary, we are delighted you chose to stay at Extended Stay America - Orlando - Altamonte Springs. It’s our pleasure knowing you loved all the aspects of your trip, especially your spotless room and our excellent service. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by John

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was awesome they made our stay comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
John, thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Extended Stay America - Orlando - Altamonte Springs. Our team is dedicated to providing outstanding service to our guests and we're delighted to know we made such a good impression. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

What a disappointment!

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: It was clean and near church where our sister had funeral service.
Cons: Think about it! I guess the investors are thinking minimal. If guest needs something, just ask. Ridiculous when nobody on staff after 11pm.
Location: How would I know when there is no phone book or internet service. Thank goodness I had my android phone. Guests must ask hotel clerk to print out.
We were told "no maid or cleaning service unless you stay 8 days." Ridiculous! The breakfast was self serve coffee and hot water for tea or oatmeal. There was no milk or yogurt for oatmeal. No coffee pot, cups, nothing in the room. Guests could get a towel or 2 if necessary. No extra toilet paper, no hangers. The check in lady was nice and found us a few hangers and gave us an extra toilet paper roll. Uber driver couldn't find Extended Stay Altamonte Springs, FL after 1 1/2 hour search. No pool, no benches, tables---nothing for guests to be outside. Why bother! We will never stay at Extended Stay again. It's nothing, nowhere, stupid economy!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. Although you liked the service provided by our staff, we are sorry we missed meeting your expectations in regard to your stay and regret the inconvenience it caused. I have shared your concerns with my management team in an effort to improve our service and facilities moving forward. Please know, our housekeeping service is conducted on a weekly basis, although we are always happy to provide housekeeping at your request for a minimal fee. Kitchenware for your suite is also available and kept at the front desk to ensure cleanliness, and our team gladly delivers these items to your suite. We hope we have another opportunity to host you again and provide you with the service you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by Mariel

Room service

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
No housekeeping service
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Mariel, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We want to let you know that to provide a more home-like experience for our guests, we provide housekeeping services on a weekly basis. However, this service is available upon request for a nominal fee. I am sorry, if you were not informed about this at the time of check-in. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager