Ratings based on 898 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
It was okay but the first night the air conditioner was not working and the parking lot was full. This hotel need to invest in a bigger parking lot. The room service is not available on the weekends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. Although you were overall satisfied with your stay, we are sorry we missed meeting some of your expectations. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it will help us to improve our facilities and service levels moving forward. It was good to have you here, and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a much better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great price

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Friendly staff, front door locked for security purposes at night. Nice kitchen, not stocked but hotel will provide when asked. Spacious room and great firm bed. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Candice, thank you for sharing your kind review of Extended Stay America. It’s nice to know you enjoyed your comfortable room and were impressed with our helpful associates. We appreciate you sharing your nice comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted Aug 25, 2017
This is my hotel for my weekly business it works perfectly for my needs and always satisfied
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know you were satisfied with your stay as well as with all our offerings. It was good to have you here, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from altamonte florida

Horrible

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Something smelled like it died. I had t I ask for a coffee maker and utensils. The mgs made it clear no coffee came with the coffee maker. The bathtub leaked and after my shower, I could not turn off watee. A repair man came up and shut off. The next day I could not even take a shower because the water would not turn on. I notified the front desk and they advised of never hearing of repair guy. I asked for the manager to give a call. No call going on a week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize for the service and maintenance issues you encountered and the inconvenience they caused. I have shared your concerns with the respective teams so that they can fix the issues as soon as possible. I hope you will give us another opportunity so that we can make it up to you. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester Ny

5 day get away

Posted Aug 18, 2017
It was okay the water in the tub was stopped up and I had a old AC unit Besides that the stay was nice great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your overall stay with us, but I truly regret the inconvenience caused due to maintenance issues in your room. I have shared your concern with the respective team to ensure happy guests is our number one priority. We hope you will choose us again the next time you are in this area. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to hwy large parking for uhaul

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Easy check in and out. Plenty of parking. Close to all restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great comments. We are glad that you liked our front-desk service and parking facility. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Altamonte Springs

Needed quiet night away from home

Posted Jul 4, 2017
I only stayed one night and it was clean and quiet. Just what I asked for. The kitchenette was adorable. Will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the terrific review of your stay at Extended Stay America - Orlando - Altamonte Springs. We are delighted to read you rested well and loved the kitchen in your room. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Nice hotel in Altamonte spring down town

Posted Jun 28, 2017
My experience in the hotel was great, I enjoyed my stay , except some of the people lodging in the hotel were playing sound very Loud and this was very uncomfortable .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for letting us know that you enjoyed your time with us. On rare occasions we have guests who do not adhere to the property rules concerning noise, resulting in disrupted sleep and annoyance for all those in the immediate vicinity. We regret the inconvenience caused and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by Sonia

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Sonia, thank you for your candid evaluation. We strive to deliver a good experience to all our guests, so I apologize that yours was not perfect and regret any inconvenience caused. We truly hope you will consider giving us a second chance so we can prove this is not typical of our service. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eh

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Room was clean, staff was fine. A/C. wifi & tv didn't work. Unfortunate
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We are sorry you had a poor experience at our hotel. Our team strives to make sure each guest has a pleasant stay, so we apologize for missing the mark. We appreciate you for sharing the details, so we can take steps to prevent these issues in future. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better hospitality. Sincerely, General Manager