Ratings based on 517 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from raleigh, n c

Adequate room, but don't count on breakfast.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Breakfast was advertised but all we got was a muffin. Disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sanford, orlando

Affordable hotel 7 miles from the airport

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The staff was friendly. The room was plenty big enough. However, my room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke which for a non-smoker is a pretty bad experience. Other than that I had no complaints about the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Faith, thank you for being our guest. We are happy to read you liked the service provided by our associates and loved your roomy room. With that said, I am sorry if the smell compromised your experience. We will follow up on your concerns to ensure we are doing everything possible to minimize the impact to our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to make your next stay perfect in every respect. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from j

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Some of the hotel staff was decent but others were very loud and would stand in the halls at 8 am talking loud as all hell. Staff members accidentally set off the fire alarm continuously and claimed they didn't know how to properly shut it back off and didn't not think to call rooms and let them know it was not an emergency. The room was not as clean as it should be , especially the bathroom. For a cheap, quick hotel it was decent in that aspect. The location is probably the only good thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being a guest at our hotel. I was disheartened to read that we did not live up to your expectations, and we are truly sorry for the service issues you encountered during your stay. The condition you described is unacceptable and not at all representative of our quality standards. We are meeting with staff members to discuss this situation and reiterate the importance of impeccable customer service and attention to detail. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for work.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
I have stayed here 4 or 5 times now. It's a decent hotel. But this last time the bed had the hardest mattress I have ever slept on. Not the firmest the hardest! The first thing I going to do is check the firmness of the mattress next time I stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us once again. We are glad your overall stay was pleasant, but we apologize for the inconvenience you had with the comfort of your bed. We would have welcomed the opportunity to address this issue while you were still here. Please feel free to reach out to our front desk on your future visit for any issues you may have. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: It was convenient for my needs, and fairly quiet.
Cons: The service, the amenities, the cleaning staff in my opinion.
Location: It's in an industrial park north of Orlando.
Room cleanliness was poor - unflushed toilet when we got there and we found mold in the shower. The kitchen floor was sticky ... I was also disappointed that there were no guest usable printers (for airline boarding passes). The breakfast was sparse, and no pool as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize that we failed to provide you an exceptional stay. We are sorry for the issues you experienced while you were here. Your review will be taken as a tool to ensure that all procedures within our housekeeping and maintenance departments are being followed. We will make a note of your feedback as we plan any changes to our complimentary grab-and-go breakfast. I hope you will give us a chance to impress you on a future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

$30 a night room value for +/-$100 a night price

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: At least the bed was comfortable, and our room was relatively quiet.
Cons: cleaning service staff should be fired. Late night front desk management are ineffective. Bathroom sink drain was very slow (rm 232).
Location: located right off (behind) Interstate 4 at the Lake Mary Blvd exit, but well hidden in an office park area.
First ever stay with Extended Stay America. Terrible experience. Prior to booking, we didn't know that extended stay hotels do not offer daily room cleaning and room make-up service. Fine. We learned that upon returning to our room the 2nd evening of our stay. I requested each evening that our room be serviced the next day with front desk management. Next day....nothing was done to our room. Each evening thereafter I went to the front desk to request our room be serviced the next day. It NEVER happened once during out 5 day, 4 night stay, despite front desk management's promise that it would done the next day. It's a great $30 a night room, but not for around $100 a night price. The "included cold morning breakfast buffet" is a joke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Roger, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered at our hotel. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional stay, and we are sorry this was not your experience. I will share your feedback with my team and use it as a training tool in an effort to improve our service and facilities moving forward. On a positive note, we are glad you liked our location and had a good night's sleep. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the hospitality you expect and deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and pricing close to shops,dining, i4

Posted May 27, 2017
The hotel was very clean and up to date. The room had a small kitchen in it and the pricing was under $100 for the night. A plus. No mold in room, and no hair on floor. The hallways and rooms smelled good and hotel staff named, John, was extremely friendly and helpful. We wold return.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Wow - thanks for the awesome review of Extended Stay America - Orlando - Lake Mary - 1036 Greenwood Blvd. It is a delight to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciated our clean facilities and affordable pricing. John will be thrilled to hear your praises. We value your business and look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Fredrick

Surprise!!

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
When we got there they could not our reservations. We had been changed to a nearby hotel of the same brand. It was confusing and inconvenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered which resulted in a disappointing stay. We have checklists in place to inspect every suite after it has been serviced. Unfortunately we missed something during this process, and for that we sincerely apologize. We are working with our Housekeeping team to reiterate the importance of our daily checklists to make sure this isn't repeated. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a better experience on your next stay. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Lester

Road trip

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was fine. Close to highway
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Lester, thank you for the wonderful feedback about your stay at our hotel. We’re glad you were pleased with everything we have to offer, especially our proximity to the highway. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back at Extended Stay America - Orlando - Lake Mary - 1036 Greenwood Blvd. soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Paul

A great overnighter

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was comfortable, the check in and out was quick and easy. and staff very pleasant and helpful. .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Paul, it was a pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay America - Orlando - Lake Mary - 1036 Greenwood Blvd. We’re glad to know you were pleased with your room and that our staff did a great job assisting you. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and look forward to seeing you again whenever your travels bring you here. Sincerely, General Manager