Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Smaller quiet hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Smaller, quiet, atmosphere. Food was excellent. Service friendly and prompt. Breakfast was awesome.
Location: Excellent beach for children and adults. Very safe for swimming in the ocean. Plenty of nearby restaurants and bars with very good food choices.
Excellent friendly staff with good English. Helpful with any tours taxis etc. The sailing club next door was excellent with rentals for boogie boards, sail boats, paddle boards. Monkeys passing through regularly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very nice family oriented hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Location & Location , beauty of the beach, breakfast, room, hotel landscaping.
Cons: nice to have more towels hangers in the bathroom
Location: Very nice restaurants around: Castello, Smokin Pig and other, didn't have enough time to visit all of them... Sailing club next to the Hotel.
Two of us stayed one week on March 2017. Very nice located small hotel very good to relax and forget about urban life and work. Beach is right away and very nice, clean and not crowded. Very smooth sand and very good to swim. Hotel landscaping is amazing and personal works really hard to keep it clean and nice. Hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and had variety of choices , fresh fruits local every morning. Many complained about poor WiFi service, but we had no problem, not in the room or on the beach either. There are few nice local restaurants in walking distance around with various menu and delicious food. Booked trip to Arenal volcano with help of front desk stuff, the trip was longer as expected, but was very well organized, spent very nice time. Parking lot very well maintained and secured. Our room was on the back side w/out ocean view, but very calm, clean and has modern spacious design, very comfortable. Wish our vacation will be longer. Definitely will recommend this hotel to our friends and will come back if will have a chance..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Quiet and peaceful stay on a lovely beach

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Beach front happy hour and the staff!!
Cons: Improve nightlife
THE STAFF IS WONDERFUL! They answered all my questions; made sure I was taken care of. Our flight left earlier than the opening time for breakfast so they packed us breakfast to go. Everyone there is sweet. They made sure I got around safely. They even started to recognize us nearing the end of our trip. Breakfast is good. Happy Sunset (Hour) is good as well. They will serve you right on the beach. Lovely room and scenery. Local bars, restaurants, and supermarket close by. walking distance of another beach. My only complaint is there is not much of a nightlife so don't expect to hang out at night! Love love love this place. I feel so well rested after my trip. I miss the hotel staff already!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Small hotel. beach front. Quiet. Good restaurant

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Awesome caring Staff. Small size. Natural flowers and trees. Good restaurant.
Cons: can't think of anything
Location: very quiet secluded beach.
Excellent. What a great surprise. Hotel has just 35 rooms but very high employee/room ratio. I can't believe we almost went to one of the big chains instead. Comfortable. Modern convenience. Staff became friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Great hotel but needs more chaise lounges and umbr

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Super nice hotel right on portrero beach. My wife and I stayed here for six nights and loved it. The hotel is situated directly on the beach and is in close proximity to other beaches including flamingo, conchal and others. The superior delux rooms are spacious, well appointed and romantic with a large soaking tub and huge separate glass walled shower. The stafff is wonderful and even changed a flat tire in rental. The only small negative is one MUST get up early to secure chaise lounges and umbrellas as there does not appear to be enough when hotel is at maximum occupancy. Go and have a great tome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Hotel, beach, staff are great. Food, not so much.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Everything from check in to check out was wonderful except food. The beach is the "backyard" of the resort. Less than 2 minutes stroll from being in the ocean to being in the shower in my room. If I hurried it could be done in 1 minute. We had breakfast included. Eggs benedict - runny eggs and hollandaise was similar to lemon custard. Eggs over easy with bacon and toast - Sunny side up, except bottoms of eggs were cooked hard, dry toast, hard bacon. Bagel with cream cheese, avocado and salmon - avocado was good, cream cheese was almost nonexistent, salmon was thick and raw, not smoked or seasoned. Dinner for 2 (steak, octopus, shrimp, vegetable and 3 sauces) - steak and octopus were cooked perfectly although it was very octopus heavy and steak light, potatoes and sauces were delicious but shrimp were cooked too long so they were chewy like gum. I would certainly stay here again but eat elsewhere. I do recommend the Italian Soda a couple miles away, not only was their pizza fire grilled but the atmosphere is totally beach funky and the staff were fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NB canada

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Located near restaurants and a few bars. Pool and pool bar lovely. Staff friendly. Only had breakfast at the restaurant....eggs benedict and it was tasty. We stayed in the deluxe room... gorgeous but no view or outdoor seating. Very spacious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beach hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Great location near restaurants and food stores.
Cons: The grounds were maintained, but there were not nearly enough pads for the lounge furniture. Also, the mixed drinks at the bar were not worth he money
Location: Located near the sailing school, which was also a restaurant and bar with great drinks and fun atmosphere. Great beach
This is a boutique hotel close to restaurants and food stores. It is also located on the beach with a nice black sand beach. Our breakfast was included with a nice choice of breakfast foods.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Boutique Hotel On Playa Protrero

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The hotel staff far exceeded our expectations for service. Friendly, knowledgeable about local restaurants, beaches and activities. Felt we'd made friends by the end of our stay .... hugs and all .... we didn't want to leave!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Bahia del Sol Hotel, Hotel Management
You definetely have to come back. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice boutique hotel off the beaten path by the oce

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: I really like that this hotel is off the beaten path. It's very relaxing & low key but a very nice hotel. The staff is very helpful & friendly too.
Location: It's right by the beach or you can go to Playa Flamingo or Playa Conchal which are a 10 minute drive away. Lots of markets, restaurants nearby too.
This is our second stay at this hotel. We first stayed here for a week in Sept. 2015 & loved it! This trip it was only for 2 nights but we really enjoyed it as well. We had a nice, modern room this time which was very comfy & clean. The king bed was quite comfortable after many nights of sleeping on pretty hard beds this trip. I've got a bad back so a Comfortable bed is a must for me. I find this property to be really well maintained & the staff is very friendly & helpful. It's pretty quiet here & has wonderful lush grounds with lots of tropical flowers. The breakfasts are really good & included in the price. You can also eat lunch or dinner here & they have a bar on sight as well right by the pool. This place is relaxing & has easy access to Flamingo Beach & Playa Conchal among others beaches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by Bahia del Sol Hotel, Hotel Management
Hi Nancee, than you for your nice comments. It is a pleasure for us to make our guest feel comfortable and enjoy the stay with us. We hope to see you again!