Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
A nice place to.relax enjoying nature. Volcanic sauna a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Experience the jungle in comfort

Posted May 25, 2017
Borinquen is so off the beaten track that we were worried it didn't actually exist ; it is at the end of a lot of winding dirt roads. But that's part of its charm - deep in the jungle, quiet and beautiful. The individual villas are lovely, true vacation feel. The restaurant is excellent. Not cheap, but worth it. The staff are very friendly. The natural steam hut, mud baths, and hot baths are great, as well as the pool - large, nice chairs, swim up bar. it's a great place for families with teens or young adults. We went horseback riding twice, zip lining (best one around apparently), and exploring nearby Rincon de la Vieja. Many people seem to go up there for a day trip but that would not be long enough to enjoy it all. We stayed 4 days and were never bored - we loved the tranquility, the meals, the service, and access to great activities. Note that since there were 5 of us, it's much cheaper and more convenient to rent a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Elizabeth, ME

14,000 Acres of beauty and adventure!!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
We loved this place!!! So much better than the place we stayed at on the ocean. We loved self guided (or guided if you choose) hiking, the horseback riding, 12 zip lines (one was almost 1000 feet!!!), the amazing meals, the pool, the natural hot water baths, FREE mud treatments and AMAZING WILD LIFE!! My wife just said "I would go back in a heart beat!". The staff were kind, friendly and so interested in you enjoying your stay. A must!! While there go to the local 400 meter water slide. AMAZING PLACE!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Faded glory, but good value

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: -wildlife filled grounds -pool and hot pools -on site activities -good restaurant with friendly staff
Cons: -reception staff could have bee a lot more pleasant and helpful -although not unsafe, the deck of our bungalow was very decrepit.
Location: Stunning mountain location with on site canopy tours, nature trails, spa and horseback riding. Off site you could access the national park.
Beautiful setting with loads of wildlife. We saw lots of birds (including toucans), 3 different types of monkeys (howler, white faced and spider), squirrels, butterflies, agouti and coati. The cabins were well designed but a little bit dated and worn - but the beds were very comfortable. Nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AMAZING PLACE

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Landscape and Staff
Cons: Food is OK, but can be better.
Location: Try all the tours, is a must
Its a real Paradise, and the best place by far in Rincon de la Vieja to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with mineral springs

Posted Apr 17, 2017
My husband and two children (ages 9 & 12) stayed here for two nights during spring break. We all really enjoyed the mud, mineral waters and zip lining. The hotel has pretty landscaping and is close enough to the jungle that there are howler monkeys and tropical birds in the trees. It is also super affordable! The zip lining was a bit scary as it goes so high above the canyon, but nothing we couldn't handle and the kids loved it. The only negatives I would give this resort are that the temperature of the mineral pools wasn't very well regulated and by the end of the day they became waaaaay too hot. (We asked them to please add cold water and they still only added it to one pool). And the service at the restaurant was a bit off. We were told we had to make a reservation each night and come back later even though it was early (6:00 pm) and there wasn't a single table occupied at the time. Overall it was a great spot on our trip though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SJ

The hotel offers a little bit of everything

Posted Apr 16, 2017
I stayed with my family in Borinquen in a recent trip to Rincon de la Vieja. The staff was really welcoming to us during the whole stay and the hotel has lots to offer for a great family vacation. The place is really well kept, lots of green areas and the food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

tranquillity and adventure

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: luxury amidst nature
Cons: allow guests to bring their own beverages to the pool or lower the cost of drinks at the pool bar
We stayed at Borinquen for the first 4 days of our trip before heading to the all inclusive resort on the beach for a week. After 4 days at the all inclusive, we were ready to go back to Borinquen. The resort is peaceful but you can have excitement too. In the morning we would sit on the porch and marvel at the incredible abundance of birds and monkeys while sipping a coffee. Then we'd go and enjoy the traditional breakfast (which was quite good) before heading off to the stables to begin the days adventure. We rode horseback over the hills and through the jungle to the waterfalls which were breathtaking. In the afternoon we would go and chill by the pool. The next day we did the horseback ride to the zip lines. We have done zip lines in Mexico at Explore and in Costa Rica at the nearby Buensa Vista Ranch. Borinquen blows these other 2 away! Incredible heights... high speed... and length... awesome! The food at the restaurant was not high end but very satisfying. It was about on par with the quality we had at the Riu Palace Costa Rica (where we stayed for the week after Borinquen). It was reasonably priced. Each meal was about $80 for the 2 of us (before tip). That included 2 appetisers, a main and 2 drinks. They also allowed us to bring our own bottle of wine and didn't charge a corkage fee... Nice! On the 3rd night we had burgers and fries delivered to the room for about $30. Also very tasty. I wish I was back on that porch.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

This resort is the place to go for relaxation!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Beautiful, peaceful resort. The staff are truly wonderful people. At times we felt as if we were the only people here. The pool, the aauna. The bungalows were beautiful. Wildlife everywhere. We went on the zip line tour. OMG! Wow! The ATV tour with Oscar, he was wonderful. Hector, our bartender. Carlos and Alonzo our servers most nights. We will be back and we will send everyone we know. Thank you, Thank you for making our first trip AMAZING
5 out of 5
by Dolores

Ricon de la vieja experience

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful resort and spa with gorgeous landscape.great for bird watching and wildlife spotting. Hot mud. Thermal baths beautiful pool area. Staff were accommodating in every way. Would have been great if they spoke a bit more English but we managed. Restaurant food was delicious. Only have one choice for restaurant dinner location which is a little fancy. The gravel road up to the resort is a pretty rough 14 km stretch. Overall a great stay though! This is a special place.