Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding service!

Posted May 23, 2017
My guest and I absolutely loved this hotel! It was so quiet and relaxing. The food and the drinks were incredible. The service by absolutely everyone who worked there was outstanding. I have never stayed at a hotel that had exceptional service such as Cala Luna's... the yoga, the spa, the sunset drinks, the hotel cats and the overall experience were all truly amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely come back. I loved this place!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Cala Luna, Hotel Management
Dear Christina and S, Thank you for your comments about our services! Our goal is to make all our guests feel at home. We hope to see you again in a near future. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Wonderful hotel in LaFortuna

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and right there when you needed something.
We both enjoyed this hotel. We went the first week of May and not super busy. The staff were very attentive (front desk, dining and bar area). Enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Cala Luna, Hotel Management
Dear Jodi, Greetings from Cala Luna in Playa Tamarindo! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review, we really appreciate it. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel close to Tamarindo but still quiet!

Posted May 17, 2017
We stayed there for our honeymoon and it was amazing! The staff was great at arranging all of our tours! The room was beautiful and the wildlife at the hotel is amazing! Breakfast is included & delicious and a sunset cocktail is offered nightly on the beach! We can not thank the staff enough for making our honeymoon amazing! Hotel is a 10-15 min walk to Tamarindo or the hotel provides free bike rentals! Only a 5 min bike ride or a $5 taxi! 5 stars!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Cala Luna, Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review, we really appreciate it. I hope you vist Cala Luna again to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Wonderful hotel on the beach, very friendly and helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Cala Luna, Hotel Management
Greetings from Cala Luna! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review, we really appreciate it. Our goal is to make all our guests feel at home Warm Regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Wonderful staff

Posted Apr 30, 2017
We had a wonderful stay. If you are looking for relaxation and intimate setting this is the place. Staff was so accommodating and friendly. Rooms were clean and pool was great. Best breakfast and coffee ever. We met such great people from all over the world as well. Hotel taxi drivers were also great. We didn't have to do a rainforest tour because saw monkeys and wild life every day. Fun surfing lesson too. Would def return!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Cala Luna, Hotel Management
Dear Ohio, Greetings from Playa Langosta! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review. All rooms and villas are surrounded by native trees and plants, it invites different animals such as birds, butterflies, birds, lizards and monkeys. I hope you can visit us in a near future. Regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Staff were exceptional - always accommodating and friendly. Amazing warm pool. Monkeys around the resort were fun to watch.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Cala Luna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review, we really appreciate it. Warm Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allendale, Michigan

Treated like royalty

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: We felt like we were in the rain forest, with the beach less than a 2 minute walk from our room. Hotel is small enough that you are important.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: All water activities, hiking, night life and dining in Tamarindo, All sorts of different day trips or tours are available.
From the moment we arrived until the moment that we left, we were treated like royalty. The entire experience was wonderful. The monkeys in the trees were an extra bonus. Close enough to Tamarindo to walk or catch a $5. cab ride. Carlos at the front desk is a great resource for activities and tours. He, and the entire staff were simply awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Cala Luna, Hotel Management
Dear Dale, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review, we really appreciate it. I hope you can visit Cala Luna in a near future. Pura Vida!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Exceptional!!! Love EVERYTHING about it!!!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Everyone was so friendly and genuinely interested in making the stay comfortable and memorable. The proximity to the beautiful secluded beach amazing!
Cons: Nothing. It was perfect!
Location: The Tamarindo area has wonderful shops, beaches, restaurants and an array of activities to do by the ocean or nearby.
This was our first trip to Costa Rica and it felt like we had arrived "home". We were pleasantly greeted by Gregory who graciously took care of us and we started our vacation with a lovely fruit drink after a long flight from California. The room was beautiful and arriving to a sweetly folded "animal towel" with fresh flowers on our bed made our 12 year old smile big!! The beach was a short stroll from the hotel. The hammocks overlooking breathtaking views made if feel like paradise. The drinks served at 5:00 pm every evening made it a perfect spot to catch a magnificent sunset. All the staff were AMAZING -- Christina, Gregory Carlos, Gabriel, Liberty, Milania...too many to name...but EVERYONE there was warm, welcoming and lovely. We learned the essence of Pura Vida here and can't wait to return!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Cala Luna, Hotel Management
Dear WC, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review, we really appreciate it. Our goal is to make all our guests feel at home. See you again in a near future! Pura Vida!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Staff was amazing! Made us feel at home. Great location .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Cala Luna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our goal is to make all our guests feel at home. Cala Luna is located around 1 hour away from the Liberia International Airport on the outskirts of the Tamarindo beach town. It offers real tranquility as it is located on the secluded Langosta Beach, 10 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Tamarindo. We hope that you'll visit us again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sunset beach. Excellent staff!

Posted Mar 31, 2017
The staff at Cala Luna were great! Everybody seemed to know you and what you had planned each day. So friendly! The beach access has the perfect sunset view with a complimentary cocktail! Short walks to Tamarindo by road or beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Cala Luna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy to know you had a nice stay in our hotel. Our goal is to make all our guests feel at home. Beach is a 2-minute walk along the hotels jungle path through the vegetable gardens. A complimentary afternoon cocktail is served on the beach to watch the spectacular sunsets. We hope that you'll visit us again in the near future.