Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Only negative was the bed was to hard for my comfort other than that it was great !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, Florida

An Enjoyable Stay

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel is small and welcoming.
Location: Tamarindo is a small town that has nice beaches, lots of restaurants and activities all within easy walking distance from the Arco Iris Hotel.
I enjoyed the warm and friendly ambiance. The continental breakfast and Mediterranean Gourmet Restaurant were excellent. The owner and staff made me feel welcome. My room was pleasant and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Absolutely fantastic don't miss out on iris!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Had an absolutely lovely, truly wonderful experience at arco iris, the staff was fantastic super friendly helpful and knowledgeable. I had the pleasure of meeting the owner Richard who was a delight. The restaurant was phenomenal, its close to the grocery store and right in the heart of town. Safe, beautifully maintained grounds with resident iguanas. I was lucky and was upgraded to a larger room at the same price so that I wouldn't have to switch rooms for my last night. I will recommend the hotel to anyone coming to Costa Rica
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel just a short walk from the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Each room was its own little bungalow so you don't share a wall with any neighbors. the hammock is an added bonus and all the iguanas roaming around.
Location: plenty of bars, food, and shopping in the area. the beach is right down the street with a coconut waiting for you.
This hotel is in a great location and the staff was extremely helpful. It's right off the main strip of restaurants, bars, and shopping, and its just a couple minute walk to the beach. The owner, richard, was very helpful with anything we needed including seamlessly arranging airport transportation and any excursions we wanted to go on. Complementary breakfast and a dip in the pool was a nice way to start out the day every morning. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
We loved it how small it was the owner Richard was great breakfast was great
2 out of 5
by Benjamin

Look elsewhere

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
First night dirty sheets, loud until 11:30pm, no replacement soap/shampoo/conditioner for 3 days, room temperature refrigerator at lowest temp, some electric outlets not functioning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
My name is Richard and I am the owner of the hotel. Our staff is here to provide our guests with an exceptional stay. That is what we strive for with all guests. We are disappointed when we receive a negative review, which fortunately happens very infrequently. I remember this guest. He asked me if we changed the sheets when he arrived. I was surprised to be asked such a question. We not only change the sheets but do a heavy cleaning after guests check-out. Our ratings for room cleanliness are the highest of all our ratings. I asked our cleaning staff to check what happened and change the sheet. They told me that sometimes when washing with bleach the sheets can shed and you gets little balls of cotton. Maybe the guest had some sand on him that he did not realize was on him. I followed up with the guest and he said the sheets were fine. His wife was in another bed with their daughter and said the sheets were fine in her bed. The guests in the room next to them liked to sit on the balcony at night. I asked these guests to talk softly and after 11:00 to please move to the pool area, which they did. The replacement shampoo was in the closet with the towels. Maybe the frig was turned off inside by the previous guests as some guests do this. There have not been any other complaints about the frig or the power outlets. The TV is on the same outlet so I am sure the power was working. What I would like to stress is that all of these issues were very solvable if the guest would have talked with our staff. He talked about the sheets and was pleased with the sheets the next day. He could see we were very attentive. These were all easy fixes. If the frig was important why not bring it to our attention. We want guests to have a great experience but honestly it is disappointing when a guest does not say anything and then writes a bad review. It seems unfair to rate us badly without giving us a chance to fix the problem. If a guest brings something to our attention and we then do not fix it the the guest has every right to write a negative review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ontario,Canada

Great location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hotel is a short walk to everything you need in Tamarindo. Less than 10minutes to the beach,grocery store,restaurants, and shopping. There is also a fine restaurant on site. Our room was quiet, clean and cozy
5 out of 5
by Larry

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
This is a great little boutique hotel with excellent service. Our room was small but very nice. The owner, Richard, and his staff were extremely helpful with all our activities and questions. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, good location and the owner was always around and really friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Iguana Hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Very personal check-in and escort to our room. Free parking is helpful in this part of Tamarindo. Tiny rooms but very clean and modern. Seasons restaurant is very good. Free breakfast with good coffee, fruit and omelets. Internet in rooms connect but is not always functional. Friendly iguanas are everywhere, and they like bananas and watermelon.