Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great hotel with wonderful staff.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Our hosts (Cedric and Charlotte). Ability to meet your neighbors. Quaint.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Restaurants and beach very close. Private location. Rodeo, volcanoes, and river tour. Educational and fun
The town of Tamorindo has a vibe that is energizing. We rented a car and saw the volcano and had a nice nature walk. We also took a river tour and was quite a bit of wildlife.The beach is nice and the water temp was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Wonderful!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Hotel Mahayana saved us! They took us in last minute when our last hotel was completely unnaceptable. They made sure we had everything we needed and when something in our room didn't work they replaced it right away. They let us stay and kept our luggage safe past checkout the next day while we waited for our bus and helped us communicate and arrange our very stressful return to the city through bus. Overall completely lovely and extremely helpful staff, they really went above and beyond to make our stay better. I would reccomend hotel Mahayana to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Hotel close to beach, downtown and restaurants.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Cedric was very accommodating. The hotel was clean and had air conditioning! Very nice for the hot days. The amenities were good - comfortable bed, TV, fan and a good shower. The hotel was close to the beach, town and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Cynthia from Anaheim

Great stay in small and intimate hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
Karen, the hotel owner, is very sweet and accommodating. She warmly welcomed us and checked on us periodically to ensure our comfort. The room was spacious, clean and well-decorated.the hotel is close to the downtown area yet far enough to be quiet when you want it so. The small pool is clean and refreshing. Karen takes pride in caring for her small 6-room hotel and loves what she does. It shows as you move about the grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Solid landing spot for a couple days

Posted Jul 19, 2015
5 minutes from Main Street and the beach means it is close to the so-called action, but far enough. Small hotel with about 8 units. Clean. The owner lives onsite and she is way cool. Communal kitchen, complimentary use of beach towels. 2nd time in Tamarindo and I would have no issue staying here again.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Jacksonville,Fl

up the road on the left

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Nice well run small hotel . A step up from hostels.every thing you need on a small scale.Good A/C ,good bed ,good water pressure and hot. Would recommend to solo or seasoned couples.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Small hotel off the main strip of Tamarindo

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Quiet, communal kitchen.
Location: It's about 15 minutes from the beach and only a few minutes from the main strip. A couple good place near by: La Botega,The Dragonfly and Green Papaya
Spent 3 nights at Hotel Mahayana. It's a very small hotel, only a few rooms surrounding a small pool and has an outdoor communal kitchen. The hotel is on a dirt road-off the main strip of hotels, bars and restaurants; which makes it very quiet. I Didn't see much of the owner, Cecile, only the day I arrived and one early morning when she makes coffee for everyone. I believe she's usually up by reception during the day if you have any questions or want to book an excursion. The room is very basic, just a bed, mini fridge, small tv and small bathroom attached. The outdoor kitchen was very cute, although I didn't really use it- but was useful for making myself some cereal in the morning. I would really recommend this place for couples who are looking for some peace and quiet. I wouldn't really recommend it for people travelling alone, because it can feel isolating- although I prefer it to staying in a loud hostel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

First Time Travel to Costa Rica & Hotel Mahayana

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Air conditioning, refrigerator in the room, comfortable bed, warm water, hammock, pool & outdoor kitchen. Very clean. Nice outside sitting area.
Cons: Everything was fine.
Location: Within walking distance to grocery stores, restaurants, bars, gift shops & the beach.
This was out first trip to Costa Rica & we had a fabulous time. Once we found our airfare, I read reviews about various hotels & we chose Hotel Mahayana based on the feedback. We were not disappointed & would definitely stay there again. Since it was our first trip to Costa Rica, we had a few questions prior to arriving &Cecil replied to our emails in a timely, detailed manner. She was very gracious & fun to work with. She assisted us in arranging a taxi to meet us at the airport & bring us to Tamarindo which was very helpful. Our driver was funny & conscientious. We also booked a horseback riding/snorkeling trip through Cecil & were very satisfied with our experience & cost. The shared outdoor kitchen near our pool was a fun meeting spot for guests in the hotel at various times of the day. We enjoyed meeting the people who were also staying there & went on excursions/adventures/happy hour with them. Our total experience was relaxing & enjoyable & we felt totally safe in the environment. We were only a short walk to restaurants, bars, beach, shops, etc but had a peaceful spot to relax out of the hub bub when we chose to. I would highly recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Good value for the money

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Super staff.
Location: Surf
A bit out of the way and not fancy. Rooms are small but do the trick. And the staff is friendly and helpful in every way. Courtyard was great for meeting and chatting with other travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Very nice experience , Cecile the owner is what makes it special