Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel walking distance from the beach!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The owner is an amazing person. Very personable and kind. I stayed here on my first night in Samara with my children. We had a 3 month itinerary planned. We loved being here so much we cancelled our future hotel plans and returned to Hotel Mirador for the remainder of our trip. We loved relaxing by the pool and seeing the monkeys in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Max, Hotel Management
thank you...Max
3 out of 5
by Judy from Pennsylvania

Room with a view...but not much else

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
The room was one of 4 that might be called hotel rooms. There was no cleaning or other services provided, so we had to get our luggage up a steep hillside on rather crumbling and mostly unlit steps. The room was clean for our arrival, very neat and airy, no air-conditioning/no need. It felt like a campsite with a really good roof and private setting right next to the town and beach....everything an easy walk. Perfect location. But if you needed anything there was no one to help but a girl & a dog.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from king, Ontario

Walk to beach and restaurants

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Check in went ok. Nice ocean view from the balcony of room. If you do not like steps, this is not for you. Hotel sits high up on side of a hill, and reception is at the bottom.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to beach but shabby with poor service

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Service and Cleanliness
There is no front desk, once you show up, there is no-one there.. looks pretty abandoned. Once called, the host showed up (apparently live in one of the units). Good size room, but no service or regular cleaning. Had to go get towels and soaps for the next day by calling back again. Not clean, just there near the beach. Its probably 1 star hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrific Nightmare

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
HORRIFIC!!! Never ever ever stay here! Don't even look at it! ALL the locals warned us as well before we arrived but we didn't try and believe what other people say.. They were right, everything about this hotel is a nightmare starting from the owner who is never around and will steal your money!!. The reception has bats and insects everywhere, the rooms don't even let me begin, I cannot even describe this nightmare of a place in words just please do not even look at it. When we left the first night (with no refund at all or any understanding of how it looks very different online) we called a taxi to pick us up, a local taxi came and said lmore guests running away?" That was enough for me to understand how well everyone in town knows about this place.. Stay Away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

5 min from the Beach

Posted Jan 21, 2016
I had a great stay at Hotel Mirador de Samara recently. I had accidentally put 1 person on my reservation although there was 2 of us and the hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate us for the first night (hotel was full, they provided an extra bed) and moved us to a much larger room on the second night without us asking. I arrived after hours and there was a personalized note left for me on where to go next and everything was smooth from that point. Samara is a surf town, and not a high-luxury location at all. Not having A/C is common in the smaller towns (unfortunately) but there were plenty of fans provided for us. I would stay at this hotel again, the staff were amazing and the location was close walking distance to anything in Samara you could want to do.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, dirty hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Location of hotel was good on a hill overlooking Samara with a view of the ocean from the balcony. The room however was a disappointment, no A/C, no screen over sliding door to balcony. Screens over other windows not fixed tightly enough to prevent bugs from getting in. Door stood above floor enough to allow lizards entrance, but at least they ate the bugs. Some renovating going on in another wing could be quite loud at times. Oh and I almost forgot, NOV hot water.
1 out of 5
by Cynthia M from Los Angeles, CA

Paid for 2 nights but couldn't pay me to stay

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
The is an apart-hotel not a real hotel. The owner called me while in route to the hotel for his own personal reasons and didn't have anyone with whom to leave my room key. The view was blocked by many trees. There was a mosquito infestation. Beds were uncomfortable. The pool was dirty. No air conditioning available at all. No restaurant/food available within the hotel. After the first of a two-night stay, room service made the beds and there was an insect carcass on the bed. No customer service. Family and I only stayed one night and left early.
3 out of 5
by steven from Escazu

Decent night's sleep

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
Quiet nights sleep, but not a very well-maintained hotel. There was no one around to ask for extra towels, etc. Overpriced for the lack of quality.