Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston, USA

Family trip with adult (20 something) children

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: calm jungle like setting around the rooms and pool.
Cons: Could have used a few more shelves or drawers to empty suit case for longer stays
Location: Beach, restaurants all right there in easy walking distance
Hotel Pasatiempo is an oasis in the surfer town of Tamarindo. After driving through the town to get to the hotel it was wonderful to see the calming complex of rooms, pool and open dinning area with bar. Checking in for three rooms was easy and fast, the rooms were simple, clean and comfortable. We added a refrigerator to one room which was there before we knew it.The bathrooms were excellent, no issues. The breakfasts were delicious. It is a short and lively walk to the beach and it was great to return to the calm of the hotel at the end of the days activities. Highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted May 16, 2017
The hotel was about a 5 minute walk from the beach. Close to restaurants and shops. Very pretty pool area. Bar and restaurant had a cool atmosphere. Diego at the front desk was very nice and helpful with planning tours. Great drinks. Surf boards available to rent for 10 dollars a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice small hotel close to everything

Posted Apr 11, 2017
My wife and I stayed here for a week and had a great time. Breakfast is included, not a large selection, but it is made to order ,and includes fresh fruit, juices ,coffee, etc. The owner and the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The beach and many restaurants and bars are a short walk away. The pool is a little small, but was never crowded, and we were in it every day. They also have live entertainment a couple of nights a week. Very nice stay.
4 out of 5
by Anthony

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Good for hotel, the town itself isn't the greatest. Too Americanized
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheyenne

Best stay in Tamarindo

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Myself and 2 friends found this gem online, it's our first trip to Costa Rica and we really didn't know what to expect. Check in was easy, and the bar and pool area was beautiful! Our room even had 3 beds! It's walking distance from everything and a security guy at the door at all times. He even got us food at 4am. A lot of adventure tours you can book right on site as well. Highly recommend this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Cozy hotel, convenient location

Posted Mar 9, 2017
We were very happy with our stay! Cute cabin like hotel rooms with patios that had hammocks and a bistro table and chairs. Beautiful scenery on the site. We got to see monkeys everyday in the trees just above the our rooms and the monkey la la restaurant. So many restaurants, cafes, shops and excursions walking distance to the hotel. Can't wait to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Love this hotel!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Cried when we walked in! It's in the town but once you enter the grounds it's like a whole new jungle world . The pool is beautiful and the little bar is so cute. You have your own little house and patio.
5 out of 5
by Maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
We got robbed and had our stuff stolen including cell phones wallets money camera etc. hotel staff wouldn't even help translate information for the police or give a ride to the police station or help in anyway really. They did't care. Only good workers were there hotel cooks who had to work really hard to keep up with the breakfast orders.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Helene Owner, Hotel Management
Please Expedia remove this comment. This is a lie and it never happened. If they like they said went to the police and we didn't help, there is a report for it. Please present the proof of the report. What is the police report number? Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Nice, clean hotel and a 15 min walk to the beach

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: quiet, clean, large rooms with comfy beds.
Cons: They need to have the rooms come with mini fridges.
Beautiful hotel, off from the busy congested main strip in Tamarindo. Rooms were very clean and beds very comfy. We enjoyed the relaxing by the pool every day.