Ratings based on 1,441 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
My experience was very good the staff and pool were nice . The beach I didn't like because the sand was dark brown and the water wasn't as clean or blue as I had hoped . Overall it was a nice experience except for the liquor that was served it was sub par . I am not a big drinker if I was it would have been a deal breaker but the 2 drinks I drank per day were not very good .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

You get what you pay for

Posted Feb 14, 2017
This is a reasonably priced mediocre hotel. If you don't travel much you may find it fine, but I found it a bit outdated. If you are set on this area choose the Riu Palace instead.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Great pool close to the beach

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Food ok. Bring your own hairdryer. Probably would Try another place next time
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from at best

Just ok

Posted Feb 1, 2017
The best part about this RIU is the pool. Clean, warm, plenty of chairs. The food is good. It's impossible to swim at the beach. The staff at the buffet weren't friendly at all. I would not go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Excellent resort

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Nearly everything!! Very user friendly set up as far as location of bars & restaurants. Maintenance does excellent job of grounds keeping.
Cons: Bigger pillows on the bed! Would like to see resort ban the constant barrage of vendors on the beach. Very annoying!
Location: Unable to utilize boat taxi's or boat to Tamarindo for the first 3 days due to wind. All water activities cancelled. That cut down on the options.
Couldn't have asked for a better resort. Top notch! Everyone very friendly and accommodating for the most part. Had a couple issues with the desk staff not responding to what we asked for but, overall no major complaints. It helped to have Nexus, tour companies etc on site. Room was great, and it's definitely worth the additional cost to upgrade to ocean view. Excellent food and excellent variety of restaurants. Really appreciated having a bathroom with a door, which is not the case in some of the other Riu's we have stayed at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moab, Utah

Great resort for end of 2-week vacation

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: We were there for 3 nights and 2 days and had a good time.
Cons: We were driving a rental car and weren't sure how to get to the Riu. One more sign east of Sardinal would have been very helpful.
Location: The 2 Rius are in an isolated location. All our activities were in the resort and the small bay where they are located.
After visiting rain forests and hiking near volcanoes, the Riu was a great place to relax before coming home. This is the second Riu resort that we have visited and we are very impressed by the quality of the resorts. The food is great both in the main dining room and the specialty restaurants, the rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the nightly entertainment is good. We especially liked the Michael Jackson show that they had one of the nights we were there. We had planned to take out a kayak but didn't as they would only let us take them out for one hour at a time and only outside the swimming area (100 to 200 meters from the beach). We did pay to take out a jet boat for half an hour and had a wonderful time. Several people we met told us about the Monkey Bar. We were told that we could see capuchin monkeys there. It is a very short walk on the beach from the Riu. The Monkey Bar is a small restaurant and between it and the beach there were a couple of trees with 8 to 10 capuchin monkeys. We hadn't seen them before so it was a real treat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, food average near beach.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Attractive and clean facility. People were great.
Cons: Food and location
Location: Expense to get to town to eat. Long drive.
Expense to travel to local restaurants or town. Stuck at hotel if you didn't want to spend big $ for transportation. Food average for Rui Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Loved everything about this all-inclusive resort! Our only complaint would be the beach area was quite rocky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Is very nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Is our experience with Riu Hotel second time, is large hotel, but is very easy to walk around to find everything.i would recommend to anyone this Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Granbury, TX

Nice resort on the beach!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, food & weather
Cons: A better system for dinner reservations for specialty restaurants, rather than standing in line for 35-45 minutes each time
Location: Next door there is zip lining available. We also did ATV riding that was fairly close by.
We stayed 1 week & really enjoyed our stay. The staff was super friendly & really tried to please you. We were actually there for Christmas & they did a wonderful special Christmas Eve dinner very nice!! The grounds are beautifully manicured & they are always cleaning, painting, etc on the resort itself. It is truly on the beach, lots of chairs. Very nice pool area!