Ratings based on 1,472 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Big hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The hotel is very big. It was a long walk from the beach to the hotel. What I didn't like is that the beach did not have a bar so you had to walk to the pool and no staff was at the beach getting drink orders. The beach is nice and seems like a private beach. It is a little rocky when you're getting in the water, but if you go by the Palace Resort beach it's much better and they have no rocks there. The staff was overall OK, not great or anything. One big thing I didn't like is that they cut off your phone service and 3G ability so you have to buy their wifi if you want to use your phone. There is wifi only in the lobby, buffet and beach. No signal in the room. For dinner you had to go by the restaurant before 6:15 to reserve a spot on first come first serve basis,but the buffet has all the food the restaurants have. Overall OK experience but not great at this particular resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, ca

Nice hotel, fun to stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Food, pools, night shows, the nicely built green areas in the hotel, friendly staff and the animals in the hotel.
Cons: The room's floor is tile and very slippery. We fell a few times and my kids could have been seriously hurt.
Location: We travelled far towards the Arenal and Palo Verde where the main adventure is.
We had lots of fun during our stay at this hotel. They have a variety of food and restaurants to enjoy: Italian, Chinese, Mexican, Mediterranean, and of course American! The food is in a decent quality and none of us (4 adults and 4 kids of 6 and younger) got sick. The breakfast is AMAZING with their freshly cut tropical fruits and their juice bar. We loved their coffee so much I brought 6 bags of it with me! We went on two tours outside the hotel and we loved them: Palo Verde River and Arenal (which included the rain forest and hanging bridges tour and the hot spring). We got the tours in the lobby of the hotel. They all have competitive prices compared to the online agencies and most of their fees are very much set. We bargained for an hour and half and all we could save was perhaps $10! They won't come down on the price! As a total, our experience was very positive and the kids had loads of fun. A few tips: Make sure you check out the iguanas on the beach and if you are lucky you may see howler monkeys on the trees north east side of the hotel when it cools off. If you are going to the beach, walk a little further away south of the main beach to avoid the rough rocky beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange Park, florida

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Design, grounds, pool, very pleasant staff.
Cons: Have a person clean with a net the pool each area. I noticed stuff in the pool near the bar.
Location: Location felt remote and there was really nothing said about the town for activity. We did a tour of the town and there was nothing to it. We enjoyed
This is a very nice hotel. Excellent staff! I found the grounds to be beautifully kept. The food was good and I have no complaints. The beach is no big deal but is good for a walk. The ocean was rough so I did not go in to it. The pool is very large and is obviously where most folks hung out. You need to have someone with a net cleaning every hour as people do drop stuff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Worst hotel ever should be a 1star

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We have stayed at other Riu resorts and this by far was the worst resort we have ever stayed at. I would never go back to this resort or recommend it to anyone. We loved Costa Rica so much that we can't wait to go back, but we will NEVER stay at another Riu resort ever again. We would rather rent a condo and make our own food than stay at this resort again. The staff was rude, the rooms smelled of mold and when we asked to switch rooms they did not accommodate us. When we finally got them to give us a new room 3 days later they put us in the back of the hotel not even close to our friends or to anything close to where we wanted to be. The walk was so long from the hotel to the beach that every time I forgot something in my room I dreaded the walk back. My friends and I are planning on going back to Costa Rica, but as far as all inclusive at the the Riu that would be. HELL NO! Oh and also the beach was awful way too rocky and unsafe for children to swim in because of the tides.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Beautiful all inclusive by the beech!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We had a wonderful experience with this hotel and staff! You can relax at the pool, enjoy food and drinks all day long, and enjoyable entertainment at night. We also enjoyed a few adventures from this hotel on the water and in the jungle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent all-inclusive resort

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Food is terrible, no option to eat after 9:30. Nearest town is about 40 KM .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We had a great time. The stuff is very friendly. The Hotel has nice pools and a great beach. The room was always clean and stocked up. We enjoyed every minute. The only sad point was leaving...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

The hotel was nice but place would've been better

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The service wasn't what i thought it would be. Most of the time we found our own table got our own drinks and no one came around to ask us. The mini bar was stock ever other day with 3 beers and one of each kind of pop. When we asked to get more pop was told no. 2 towels on the bathroom they were really rough. Soap dispenser was empty O was yhere 7 days. The rest of the hotel was clean there was someone always cleaning somewhere. Next time i will pay the extra money and stay at the palace
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Ocean view room is a must to have!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Very friendly staff, close to the beach and zip lining. The only problem we had was very early dinner seating at 6 pm. If you would get to restaurants at 6:20, had to wait an hour & half for the next seating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa FL

Can't go wrong with Riu Hotels

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Absolutely loved the hotel, their staff, their shows and activities!! Is a real all inclusive! Highly recommend to try all the different restaurants inside the hotel. Free wifi in common areas but not in the rooms; their staff are very polite. They sell tours at the lobby at very reasonable prices. Don't forget to checkout their smal mall between the two hotel; as well as the night club and casino. If you are traveling with children this hotel is family friendly. My only regret is not asking for ocean view.