Ratings based on 1,487 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great Beach Resort, good food, clean

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Near beach, pools, all inlcusive option, service, free wifi, staff, response to complaints were prompt.
Cons: rooms could be cleaned better. Maybe with a brush to areas that are hard to get to. free wifi in rooms as well.
Location: Remote location. You have to rent a car or take taxis to get to town or tour. Plenty of tour companies at the lobby so they can arrange tours.
This was our 3rd Riu and first Riu Hotel in Costa Rica. Great place to stay. Good Food. The Furama restaurant was great. Staff works very hard and so even if it is All Inclusive, a little tip goes a long way. Please and Thank you and treating the workers with respect goes a long way. When we checked in, there was a guest that was yelling at the Manager at the reception desk cuz he asked for 4 towels early in the morning and didn't get it. He was yelling and using foul language. I believe that if he was courteous, his request would have been met. We got in very early in the morning and they let us check in 4 hours earlier once the room was ready. We tipped the servers and maids every day; you don't have to, but we liked doing that. Service was great. There are mosquitoes so take appropriate insect repellants. We did get bitten. This is a humid area with lots of greenery, so insects everywhere, but they clean and sweep and keep things clean as much as possible. Beach does have volcanic dark sand, small rocks, pebbles, so water shoes are good to have. The ocean was a little rough so be careful. Rained almost every afternoon we were there. Almost. So we enjoyed the beach and pool in the morning. We don't drink a lot so will not comment on that one way or another. We enjoyed the drinks. Free WiFi in lobby area, restaurants. Check in and check out was great. Rooms were clean but could use a little more fine cleanning. The resort is remote
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from corpus christi Texas

Riu

Posted May 16, 2017
Hotel was nice, beach was black sand and visibitly of water was cloudy most days. Playa de coco is a tourist trap and beach is not very nice. Staff was great and friendly. We did have a few clothing items disappear that were hanging in the closet so we then left all clothes locked in luggage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted May 16, 2017
The grounds are beautiful and maintained very well. Lobby area is very spacious and beautiful. Very clean and spacious rooms. The food could be better but that is the only downer I had. Pools are large and they have plenty of shade and lounge chairs. Great drinks and very generous with the liquor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted May 15, 2017
SUPER CLEAN!!! Close to beach, pool was very clean and rooms were always clean and smelled nice. All around great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful resort nestled in the perfect spot!

Posted May 15, 2017
The hotel is gorgeous, the staff is accommodating and friendly, the food is delicious and the rooms are very nice. If you're going to Guanacaste, it's the place to be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traverse City, Michigan

Specialty restaurants not very good

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Great staff. The activity staff were very friendly and provided enjoyable entertainment. The buffet offered a wide variety of food and was pretty good
Cons: The specialty restaurants turned people away (long waits). The Tucan was extremely poor. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Location: We went on a very fun excursion to zip line, water slide, horseback ride and hike. Mostly need to drive for anything outside the resort.
the staff were fantastic and very hospitable. There were two areas that could be improved. The specialty restaurants had long lines and often turn guests away. The Tucan, which offered seafood was extremely slow and the food was not what we expected based on the menu. I would not recommend it to anyone. The other area was the advertisement of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. We had 3 adults staying in our room and they only permitted 2 devices to connect. I had no connection for the entire stay. They pool was very nice and it was a short wall to the beach. All in all, a very nice experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This was the worst food we have ever tasted.

Posted May 12, 2017
Every restaurant was poor quality and no taste. Horrible. I can't say enough about the disappointment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only bad thing is that the food is not good.

Posted May 11, 2017
Although the staff and facilities were excellent, the food quality was poor. Most of the restaurants are buffet style. Only 2 restaurants offer ala carte but you can't make reservations so you have to wait in line. They close one restaurant a day but don't inform guests which one will be closed. The hotel is also in a remote location so there is nothing to do once the sun goes down unless you want to go to the onsite casino or disco that only opens at 11pm. It was a good vacation in terms of getting away and getting some sun but as someone who really enjoys food, the all-inclusive was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Very nice property

Posted May 9, 2017
Property is very nice. Rooms are nice too. Couple of things to keep in mind if you're American, 1, only 3 English speaking channels, 2, no wifi in room only the lobby. But I didn't come to sit in a room all day either. Overall awesome experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best vacation ever

Posted May 8, 2017
I loved this hotel, everything was so beautiful and nature is all around you, if you want to get away from the city this is definitely the place to go.