Ratings based on 1,510 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Room had dirty floors, dirty glasses, items in fridge were already opened, upon room check-in we discovered a wet washcloth hanging in the shower. The bed sheets are very uncomfortable and you can hear the nightly shows that go on until 11pm in your room. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained. They have a good variety of restaurants, but most are buffet style. Overall, a nice all-inclusive hotel with all the crowds of people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Had a wonderful time at the Riu. Great staff! Would recommend to anyone!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from costa Rica

Volume tourism

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Same as always for a all inclusive hotel , people that drink to much and get to loud
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel for a family vacation

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: Rooms were spacious, all-inclusive, good for family with 20 year olds too.
We stayed at this hotel the last week of May 2017. The resort is very clean, including the rooms, garden, and pool area. It is slightly secluded from other areas of Costa Rica so either a car or tours is required to get out and about. I vacationed with my husband and 2 kids (20 & 22). We all had a fabulous time. The food was good and my family did not have any complaints. We had 2 rooms which worked perfectly. The doors faced each other and we had a small entry hall that also had a door which locked. We could lock the entry door and leave our other doors open when we were in our rooms (which was not very often, except for sleeping). The beach was nice. The ocean was warm, but not super clear. We did see fish, but it is not pretty blue like the caribbean ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful resort and a beautiful country

Posted Jun 7, 2017
My family and I had a blast at the Riu Resort it was very well kept and the staff was very professional and friendly. When we booked the room online it showed ocean views from our room but when we arrived at our room had none. So we returned to the front desk and the gentleman at the desk was moved us to a room with an ocean view without any trouble. My family and I stayed in Costa Rica for 5 days and tried 3 of the restaurants in the resort, our favorite was the steakhouse but we would have loved if there was a restaurant that served traditional Costa Rican food; because after all that's why we're there for a Costa Rican experience. I hope the suggestion about the food get taken into consideration for all your resorts because this is my second stay at a Riu resort and I had to go out of the resort to find traditional food. I plan to stay at the Riu in Punta Cana next and will pray they will have traditional Dominican food on the resort there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new orleans

Costa Rica Vacation

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Place was beautiful. The food was not good at all. I stayed at a Riu in Cabo that was much better. Location was great near the airport and attractions. Maybe the Riu Palace would have been a better stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: bottled water in room, nice receptionists
Cons: towels should be softer, cleaner
Our stay was OK, but not so comfortable as we used to have in others before. There was no toiletries in that hotel at all - we needed to bring our shampoo, lotions, etc. But too much free alcohol bottles in room - who needs 6 litres every 2 days? But bottles of fresh water were very good and useful. Pillows were terrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 5, 2017
My family and I have stayed at multiple all-inclusive resorts, and this one was the most disappointing. So disappointing that we ended up paying more money to move to Riu Palace next door. The rooms were clean, but hardware in the shower was rusted. There were a ton of flies on the food at the buffets, not to mention the food was cold and dry. The breaking point for us was night time. We didn't mind the noise, but what we did mind was the fact that we felt like we walked into the ghettoes. Drunk, heavyset girls in high heels screaming with guys trying to hook up with these girls (NO THANK YOU). We moved over to Riu Palace and MY GOD, what a difference. The food was MUCH better (theres even lobster at the steak restaurant) with chefs at omlette stations in the morning. Poolside service was also another perk. The employees actually care about you and were always going above and beyond. Definitely wouldnt recommend Riu Guanacaste to ANYONE. Pay the extra $30/night and stay at Riu Palace!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice overall

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The pool area is very tropical and next to the beach (black volcanic sand) nothing you can do about that Lots of entrainment and fun
Cons: If you want better food and drinks then stay at the RIU Palace (next door) I prefer the RIU Guanacaste simply because is more family oriented
Location: I highly recommend this place and will not hesitate to go back This is my third stay with the RIU hotel chain
Very nice and friendly people, always asking if there any thing extra we want.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in the jungle

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Overall great stay! Pool was great, the beach is nice as well. Hotel is beautiful and you are in the middle of no where in the jungle so the views are great. It's not in a town, so there isn't anything to do outside the hotel. There is a water taxi to coco beach which is fun for bars and shopping but small. The only part I wish was better was the food. They have a few restaurants and a bar with food. The general buffet was 50/50, finding things that were really good and other stuff that wasn't great. The Tucan restaurant was delicious but the other restaurants did not have good food. Also they stop serving food at 9:30 with only the sports bar having food between dinner and breakfast and the food there was really not good. Drinks were delicious no matter where you were! Try the Michelada if you like beer.