Ratings based on 636 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to Diamente zip lining

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Had a great time at Riu Palace. I've stayed at Riu Cancun last year and loved the experience. Riu Palace is worth the extra cost. Staff is wonderful and incredibly helpful. The restaurants were willing to accommodate for my vegan diet. I just wish the buffet would also indicate vegan or vegetarian option. Like the minestrone soup contained pork. Otherwise absolutely wonderful. Can't wait to come back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Average hotel needs improvement

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The hotel grounds are clean and workers are wonderful. Beach is disappointing. If you are in search of a nice beach I recommend staying on Caribbean side. From what I understand it's a hit and miss with beaches at nearby resorts. Hotel does not discourage locals selling to guests on the beach. Food is mediocre (as can be expected with an all-inclusive). The dinner system is horrible. Two of the three restaurants are open for dinner from 6-8pm which means you line up around 5 to get on the reservation list. Arrive early or end up eating at buffet or steakhouse restaurant. Snack bar open 24h maintained less than warm food often leaving you to question how long it had been there. Rooms are worn down and need upgrading from bedding and curtains to layout. Poor, boring colors throughout hotel. My boyfriend's biggest complaint, no soap holder in shower. My biggest complaint coffee shop in main lobby opens at 10a! Lastly, our luggage arrived late and rather than hotel bringing it to our room when it finally arrived they called us to pick it up in lobby. It's the fine details that make a memorable and satisfying experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

amazing 5 star all inclusive

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: on occasion, the seviche was not made very well
Location: this is a place where you hang out in one place, at the property, for the duration of vacation. It's 14 km away from the nearest road intersection ;)
the best 5 star all inclusive hotel in Costa Rica, by far
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel, But Would Not Go Back

Posted Mar 18, 2017
I left the Riu Palace with mixed feelings. On the one hand the view from our room was beautiful but the layout of our room was odd with a bathtub practically next to the bed. Some staff memebers were friendly and eager to help make your stay enjoyable, a few others were unaccomodating. Food was incredibly underwhelming. The restaurants don't change the menu and while the main dining room (Arenal) has specialty nights you can be sure to find pretty much the same things with the exception of the one station dedicated to whatever specialty night it is. Excursions: my friend and I went on the Buena Vista day trip--this is a good one. You do a little bit of everything (zip lining, horseback riding, water slide, thermal springs, etc.) If you're not too tired after dinner, stick around for the nightly performances. Entertainment staff puts on some great shows!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Beach is horrible

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Mediocre hotel I won't go back Food is ok service is below avg Internet connection super bad You complain and complain But they do nothing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel delicious food

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Very fun so much entertainment.the food was delicious the beds were comfy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Overall a great hotel!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Excellent hotel on the beach. Not the greatest beach such as in other locations but this is due to the country's geography-- Costa Rica is of volcanic formation and therefore the sand is grayish. Friendly staff and many activities nearby. Few downsides: bed was a little too firm for me, making it a little uncomfortable. Also, because there is so much to do and see in CR, I'm not sure if I'd stay in once location for an entire week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean, beautiful resort

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Staff was excellent. Monica at the Arenal, Johan at the group activities, Luigi and Marcos at the pool bar, Alanso at the bbq by the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Beautiful surroundings

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Overall my boyfriend and I had a very pleasant and relaxing stay. I was a little surprised that more staff didn't have a better grasp of the English language. Breakfast at the Arsenal was fantastic along with the salads, pizza, and dressings at the Italian restaurant. The Japanese restaurant's tempura shrimp and veggies were light and tasty. Extremely secluded and a great place to unplug from the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Excellent experience . The food was great . The chef Rodolfo Garcia very friendly and delicious food . The staff always smiling and definitely we are back to Riu Palace in Costa Rica .